We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful,walking distance to parties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hill Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Hill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Asiatravel.com
and 6 more sites!
Blue Hill Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   117/9 Moo 6 | Bantai Bankai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful,walking distance to parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I absolutely loved this place, the views are unbelievable and the pool is gorgeous. I found the rooms clean and comfortable with a mini bar and a nice bathroom. It is quite rustic and if you're expecting serviced luxury you won't be impressed, but it's head and shoulders above than the standard backpacker accomodation in Haad Rin where music is pumping all day. If you can get a good deal it's worth it. The restaurant is very expensive though. The best thing is that you have a secluded beach (we were the only ones using it) to relax on in the day, then you can walk into Haad Rin in the evenings to go out. And you'll be able to get some sleep when you return in the early hours! I would recommend this to anyone who wants something better than backpacker, but who doesn't want to shell out for 5 star. In response to the complaints about the hill, it's so worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    11
    10
    13
See reviews for
3
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Blue Hill with two other couples. Each had our own rooms, the hill made it difficult to meet at the pool let alone up to the road and restaurant. The concept and novelty of the elevator up the hill with what was admittedly pretty amazing view of water and koh samui was just not enough to distract from the impracticality and inconvenience of the layout. The resort is also clearly a bit run down. Rooms are basically fit out and are concrete slabs- literally. Didn't bother me overly but the holes in the bed sheets did. Also supposed to be a restaurant on the beach at base of the resort. Not there and doesn't seem to have been there for a long time.
Now let me temper this by saying that we had good service and enjoyed our stay- eary to get around with reasonably priced taxi at the hotel and the hotel manager was lovely. But I think for what we paid- about $80AUD per night (full moon, peak) I expected a bit more and the inconvenience of getting around the actual resort became a pain after first day or two.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived to the hotel after an overwhelming night in another one so we were very happy finding such a nice place. The stuff was very helpful and nice; the rooms are simple but the view is truly amazing (especially from the pool). They take a good care of the garden and the pool too. We originally planned to stay for only two nights but as we were so satisfied with the complete package we have extended to 4 nights. This hotel completed our holiday:)
I have to add that we had an ant army in the room but OFF (DEET) is apparently good to make them stay away. There is no safety box in the room but there are lockers in the office.
The hotel has a private beach (not as nice as Haad Rin though) but we rented a motor so it was easy to move around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here, we were due to stay for 5 days over New Years Eve, but after travelling to Ko Pagnyan and seeing the hotel we cut short our stay to 1 night!. Dont get me the wrong, the hotel has got breath taking views, but it was really just basic huts set up in the hills. Rooms are very basic and had to share mine with several geckos, ants and whatever else could easily get into the room. The hotel is staggered on many steps over different levels, there is a slow cable lift and that closes at 11pm. There are no safe deposit boxes in the rooms and have to use basically a locker that you can take the key with you from the office at the main reception. You will have to get taxi/tuk tuks everywhere as you are out of it up in the hill, tuk tuk only takes 10 mins to get into Haad Rinn though. The breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired for and the plates and glasses were dirty.

I expected much more from this hotel considering what we paid for it at the time and I think it was my expectations that what let me down. The clientele of the hotel was basically lots of young groups of lads who probably didnt mind living it a "bit rough", but I expected more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Dont even bother with this hotel. Honestly it is one big disappointment. We were booked here to stay her for six nights but after booking and reading other posts on here I decided to book back on koh samui and I am SO glad I did. On the first night we arrived we ordered room service - the day we left the plates were still outside our hotel room where house cleaning had left them and which had been attacked by dogs for the left over food. They only cleaned our room ONE day the whole stay we were there. We had to beg for clean towels and toilet paper. If you want a peaceful hotel it is probably not the best hotel. People coming back from the full moon party etc were rather loud and it echoed waking us at all times through the night. As well as this the house keeping staff were located underneath out room whom were constantly yelling and receiving loud phone calls. The hotel room was filthy. The floors are polished  concrete which shows up a the dirty etc which they would just sweep under the bed. We also found a toe nail in our bedding which did not belong to us (we had painted to nails) and body paint all over the sheets that was not ours. They also would not give us clean glasses nor our free bottles of water each day. All the decking and wood floor around the hotel was rotting and you had to be careful we you stepped as it would just break. Several times I saw staff fixing decks and or not even bothering to fix it. The lift up and down the hill was okay but dreadfully slow the only other option was to walk up really step uneven stairs.  Our TV in our room did not work for the first two days and after many phone calls and going to reception they finally did something about it. One good thing about this hotel was the location to haad rin and other shops but not close enough for walking distance. Over all I would say don't stay here and just spend more money somewhere else. You will regret staying here. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in lots of different hotels throughout Thailand and this was by far the most expensive and definately the most disappointing. We had to stay a minimum 5 nights which we pre-booked and paid for but ended up leaving early and losing our money. While we stayed here there were two couples who had money stolen from their rooms so every time we left we felt the need to leave the tv on loud and lights on. The pool is very small and warm, the views were very nice though. Most of the staff were very nice and friendly, there were a few though that were rude and unhelpful.

The odd thing about this hotel is they say it is a relaxing hotel and therefore ask you not to play loud music in your room so as not to disturb other guests, which is fair enough. However, the resturant plays EXTREMELY loud trance/dance music throughout the whole day that we could hear at our room.

We booked the nicer room and the views from our room were spectacular, but we had no outdoor furniture and when asked if we could get some chairs, we were told there were not any available. We noticed that some of the other rooms had lamps next to the beds and when we asked if we could get one we were told there were none available and when we asked if we could hire a dvd player, we were told there were none available.

This hotel was very disappointing and for the price it really isnt worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location; the view of Koh Samui from the rooms' balconies is stunning and the full, half and black moon parties are all relatively close by. However, that is the only positive that I could possibly draw from our four night stay here. The rooms were fairly clean and basic, pretty average for the price range. The breakfast was slow to arrive, wasn't what we ordered and when we said as much to the man serving us - who later turned out to be the manager - he simply shrugged and walked off.

As for the thefts we found out the hard way that they are extremely frequent at this resort. After having things stolen from by the pool we spoke to other people staying here who had had money stolen from their rooms (some even said that their luggage had obviously been searched through) and another guest who said he had stayed here several times (I am very curious to know why...) said that every time he had stayed there someone had reported a theft to an unsympathetic reception. The hotel manager made no attempt to help us in any way when we reported the theft and patronisingly suggested that we call our parents for money. To top it off when we left the following morning he charged us 400 baht for minibar drinks we had not had and said that he would charge it to my card if we didn't pay on the spot despite the fact that it was the last of our money and we had yet to pay for a transfer to our boat.

When I read the other negative reviews on this site I thought that I could live with unhelpful staff but I would never have dreamed that the hotel's manager could be so utterly impudent and rude. I've never bothered to write a review before, but I feel that others really ought to know the true nature of this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hill Resort

Also Known As:
Blue Hill Hotel Koh Phangan
Blue Hill Hotel
Address: 117/9 Moo 6 | Bantai Bankai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hill Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blue Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.