We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautiful resort, stayed in a Supreme Deluxe at the top of the hill. Room, view and all facilities were first rate. If there are any negatives about the Santhiya they would be the food prices in the restaurant. If they were a little bit more reasonable we would have probably have eaten in the hotel restaurant every day. We actually went across the beach and found some superb beach side restaurants serving great food at very good prices. It was nice to try somewhere different every night.
Hotel itself is beautiful, we would definately come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    216
    79
    44
    21
See reviews for
151
813
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed 6 great nights at the Santhiya in July last. First impressions of this resort begin with the warm greeting at Koh Samui Airport and transfer to the pier for the speedboat journey (however, be sure to double check your flight times and transfer time, we had to wait at the pier for almost two hours for our transfer, not ideal after a long day of travelling)
Approaching by speed boat is a great way to experience the expanse of the resort, nestled away in the hills of the northeastern part of the island of Koh Phangan. The check-in process was very personable with a dedicated staff member to show us to our superior deluxe room. A welcome by the resort manager was also a nice touch. Our room was, to say the least, gorgeous. It was based at one of the highest points of the resort which without the inter resort 'taxi service' would have been a very tough walk to both young and old!! The dark wood interior of the room was a new experience for us, not like any other hotel room I've stayed in. The attention to detail is very impressive, room facilities were second to none. They seemed to think of most things and anything you wanted was only a call to guest services away.
Breakfast each day was most enjoyable. Choice was good and there was a few different additions each morning.
Pool and other leisure facilities were very good also. The beach location of the pool was nice but sun beds there are limited and tended to disappear early so be sure to get down on time! Luckily we had our own pool area at the superior deluxe room part of the hotel.
The resort village itself is a short walk away along the beach and there a number of nice restaurants and bars available but the resort is very much on the quiet side, much the opposite of the main party resort of Haad Rin.
The staff were certainly one of the most memorable parts of our stay at the Santhiya. They were friendly and warm and always greeting us with their traditional bow.
One tiny negative was that I accidentally broke a water glass in our room and was surprised to see a bill for its replacement upon check out!
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Santhiya! Have since mentioned it to friends.

Room Tip: Superior deluxe rooms are worth it although the private villas looked great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in for beauty and location. I read loads of these reviews before we went (were a young couple) and I'm glad, as many genuinely offer great advice.

Without doubt the hotel is amazing. We only stayed in a normal deluxe room, but it was so clean and tidied twice a day. The hotel staff were exceptional 24hours a day, so no more to say really.

Whilst your here you MUST visit the local village, down the beach at the far end. It's by far the best part of the whole place. The prices are a tenth of that in the hotel. We ate and drank out every night after the first night as we spent 3500 bhat, on a meal and a bottle of wine between us(£70)....it was lovely food and view from balcony but such a shame it was overpriced. The price of a two course meal with 4-5 drinks each in the village was about 1000 bhats max (£20) and you get a much more meaningful opinionof Thailand. We tried local restaurants called Muay Thai Restaurant (cheapest and used y all the local people) and the food was amazing! The Luna Restaurant was also amazing for Fish especially and the owner is very polite. The Luna is a little more expensive but far cheaper than the hotel still. All the other restaurants seemed busy as well, and I heard of no-one getting ill in any of them.

We also managed to use the local laundrette who did a full bag of washing for 180bt (£2), which was brilliant as the hotel equivalent bill would have been about 2500bhart (£50), again you get value for money and the clothes were all un damaged upon return.

Overall the holiday was amazing, prices were a bit steep In the hotel, but this is what is happening across Thailand not just here. Highly recommended by us and everyone we met there.

Two must do's.....

1. Speed boat there and back from Koh Samui, it's an amazing experience and a lot quicker I've heard.

2. Massage on the beach by the Thai locals, 300 bhats for 45 mins - pure bliss (2000 in hotel).....

Enjoy....it truely is set in paradise......

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are perfectly adequate for a beautiful holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is exceptional and well worth a visit. The entire experience is seamless from start to finish. Your every need is met with grace and charm and the facilities are fantastic. The transfer by boat from Koh Samui is easy and efficient. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The setting for the resort in amongst the trees is beautiful and you really feel like you are in another world. The food is great and reasonably priced. The waterfall feature in the main swimming pool is quite spectacular. We stayed September - October and the weather was great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came only for 1 night but we really liked the hotel! The only thing i have to say - it's very hard & expensive to get to the hotel by speed boat and going out to hang out in the city. Beside that it is great hotel with beautiful views and we had a great room with the pool access!

Room Tip: The pool access was great with good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon, from the moment we arrived we could not have been made feel more welcome by Mary Jane and the rest of the front of house team.
We were advised upon arrival that we had been double upgraded for 2 nights to room 608, a private 2 storey villa at the highest peak of the mountain with our own private pool, this was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon, we were given a guided tour of the villa where we were presented with a 'happy honeymoon' cake and a complimentary bottle of wine, it's the little touches that make this resort extra special, we were left fruit bowls daily and received complimentary snacks throughout our stay. We did not leave our room for the 2 days and availed of the room service for dinner, the food arrived piping got and of the highest quality.
For the remaining 4 days of our trip we stayed in a room with pool access, this was a private pool for these apartments, there are sunbeds lying in the water and with your room only yards away, everything you could possibly want is at arms reach. Each evening the night team called to turn down your bed and tidy around again. Each morning there was a different animal made out of the towels and rose petals left on the bed, again it's these little touches that make u feel special.
To get you to the main reception/spa or beach, u contacted reception to advise and very quickly a buggy was at your door to drive you there. This service is available 24 hrs. All the staff in the resort were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
The food at the resort was amazing, there was no shortage and you could get anything you wanted, the selection for breakfast changed everyday with something different constantly available, the evening buffet meals were fantastic, again with something different available each evening. The treatments available at the Spa were second to none and you should definitely avail of these, we can highly recommend the massage and should u get some sunburn the aloe Vera massage is definitely the one to go for. We also tried out yoga here for the very first time, it was very enjoyable and there are classes designed for beginners where everything was explained.
We cannot speak highly enough if this resort and would have no hesitation in recommending the resort, The staff are fantastic and with Mary Jane as manager, they constantly strive to please everyone.
If you are looking for luxury then this is the place to stay, it made our last section of our honeymoon most enjoyable and we have memories to last a lifetime. We will definitely be paying a return visit to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had an amazing experience. Our great experience began as we were met a Samui airport to be transferred to the dock for the speedboat. We received refreshments and cold towels smelling deliciously of lemon grass. We were then whisked away to a dock where we had to wait half an hour to board the special speedboat to the resort - we took this because everybody recommended it so much - they were right - TAKE THE SPEEDBOAT.
We arrived and were met by King the wonderful Guest Relation Officer, again served refreshments and checked in. We had ordered a Sea view pool suite and it was worth every cent - really - don't miss out - it is a real "Julia Roberts" moment. Room was superb, as were the pool and the service.
Our pool was cleaned every day. Our bed was made and then turned down for us in the evening.
Happy-hour was fabulous and we had delicious food and cocktails. Granted the prices at the sea view restaurant are a little pricy - but the food was really great.
To conclude, amazing amazing amazing!!!
Thank you so much for the greatest honeymoon!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view pool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.