We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow breathtaking!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wow breathtaking!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

What an amaxing resort. It is absolutely beautiful. It is on it's own private beach very secluded. However if you need to walk on next beach you can where there is 7/11 you can. But there is no need too everything you want is right here. The rooms are out of this world. They are very clean and have breath taking views. The pool is clean and over looks koh phangnan. It's a big resort and can be a bit distance to walk from the top if that's where your room is to the restaurant and that's just fantastic as they pick you up. A bus runs every ten mins to take you to where ever you want. The gym is fantastic. I found the resort to be reasonable price for good and drink. They had so many nights on thai night, Buffett night etc etv. All fantastic. Room service fantastic. Selection of DVDs etc great. Staff are out of this world very friendly and polite will do anything for you. Each and everyone of them were fantastic so hats off to the staff. They are the best staff I have ever come across in ANY resort. The food is out of this world the breakfast, lunch and dinner is amaxing and you have so more selection. My favourite night was the BBQ night wow all fresh fish. I was blown away by this hotel and all the chefs were amazing very single one of them. I honestly can't fault this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone simply five star. Thanks for an amazing stay we will be back and I will be recommending the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Khun Lucy J,

Sawasdee krab……Greetings from a beautiful Sunny Friday at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort!

It is our great pleasure to read your fantastic review about our resort on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much. We really are touched by your heartfelt words; amazing resort, absolute beautiful, secluded private beach, out of this world, clean pool, breath taking view, fantastic gym, great meals, and many more.

Your commendation on our wonderful staff are also appreciated because they're a delightful group of people whose sole aim is to make everyone happy on our beautiful resort.

We wish to say that your comments are important to us in terms of achieving the best possible holiday for people who love a unique Thai style beach resort with Thai hospitality on a beautiful unspoiled island.

We also wish to thank you for a great news that you will come back to visit us, and of course thank you for your kind thoughts to recommend our resort to your family and friends. It is very
much appreciated.

Warm regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    247
    87
    47
    26
See reviews for
172
932
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is breathtaking! We had the pleasure of staying in the sea view pool villa and we were blown away at its beauty! This place is amazing. I didnt read the reviews ahead of time about taking their private sea boat so we ended up taking a ferry then asked the hotel to pick us up. The road to the hotel is under construction so it is very bumpy. The staff is great and very helpful and attentive. The only negative thing I could say is wifi was very choppy in our room. Would definitely stay here again but would ask for a different room. We stayed ina room close to reception and from the siting area we could hear the staff walking by very clearly. Also, in the morning there were some staff workers in the area next to us and we could clearly see them through the fence which lacked a little privacy in the private pool. Would I stay here again? I wouldn't even think twice. This place is literally a small piece of paradise in Thailand!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Khun Aggiegrl82,

Sawasdee krab……Greetings from Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort!

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday destination.

Secondly, please accept our sincerest thanks for writing a great review about us. It is very
much appreciated. We are so glad to hear that you found our resort is “one of the best
hotels we have stayed at”. The team members here at Santhiya Koh Phangan Beach Resort &
Spa appreciate hearing that they helped you with everything you need. They all love looking after our guests so they can enjoy themselves like you

As you mentioned that the road to the resort is under construction, so we always reconfirm our
guests to book our speedboat transfer from/to Koh Samui. The journey is only 30 minutes direct from Koh Samui to the resort or vice versa, and the price is very reasonable.

We take your comment about the signal of free wi-fi in the room to improve it. So for your next
visit we promise that you will find strong wi-fi signal in the resort.

If there is more anything we can do for you, please let us know.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing in a small piece of paradise again…..soon.

Warm regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was amazing!
We had been trekking for 2 weeks previously and needed the pampering.

Staff were really friendly! Jackson at breakfast was a bit of a laugh. The reception, cleaning staff were all so lovely! Couldn't do enough!

The breakfast was great but I would avoid the BBQ at night- a bit overpriced I think.

The setting is like paradise and the rooms were just amazing. So comfortable.

Would 100%recommend this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Khun Marywalsh800,

Sawasdee krab……Greetings from Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort!

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stayed with us. It's great to hear that our value had a great time with us. We proud to say that we are one of the best place for pampering.

We are also glad to hear that you our breakfast, and you found out team members are friendly, lovely and helpful. Our team members are always delighted that our guests enjoyed their company because they all work very hard to help our guests have a wonderful experience in our resort

As for the BBQ Buffet Dinner, we must admit that our price is some higher than local restaurants as we offer varieties and quality products as well as varieties of deserts.

Warm regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed three nights in a sea view pool villa ( payed around 330$ per night, which is amazing value for such room). The villa was amazing, with huge (~30 sqm.) pool overlooking the sea. Truly spectacular.
The sea is a short walk from the room (2 minutes). Note that the hotel beach is average, but a nearby amazing beach is only 2 minutes walk.
The entire hotel and villas are built out of wood, Thai style, and we liked it a lot. The restaurant and spa were also superb.
Bottom line - if you like an amazing and completely private villa overlooking the ocean, go without an hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Khun Avi28,

Thanks to another senior contributor for your wonderful comments on our Seaview Pool Villa Suite.

Yes, some of our private pool villas are just only few minutes walk to the beach. We are glad to hear that you appreciate our traditional and unique Thai style accommodation with wooden decoration located in a secluded location to guarantee your privacy.

We are also delighted that you found our restaurant and spa were superb.

We hope you will be back to visit us again.

Warm regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had an amazing time at this resort. Spent four nights here and it was well worth it.
First of all the views from the rooms are amazing. Every day web the rooms are clean they light menthol in the rooms and when you walk in from the heat, it just smells amazing, especially with the AC on!
The place is situated on a hill, so if you have any issues with walking, I wouldn't advise this place. They do provide a bus that takes you to your room and back down to the reception, however you have to walk to the pool and beach which does involve a bit of effort.
A 10 minute Walk from the hotel will take you to a village which has lots of restaurants and shops, definitely cheaper than the hotel and there's an amazing spa in the village called tanaporn, which is MUCH cheaper than the hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Khun J2345678,

Sawasdee krab……Greetings from Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort!

Thank you for taking your time to write the lovely comments about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing time at our resort, and your found the rooms are clean, and the view are stunning.

As you mentioned that in the resort we provide wooden shuttle car service, so it will not be a big problem for people who have issue with walking.

We hope you will come back to visit us again.

Thank you and best regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Santhiya is settled in a beautiful forest; everything is decorated with a lot of taste. We were upgraded from a Deluxe room to a seaview villa (room 501) which was AMAZING. It was actually one of the most secluded villas on the resort (basically, you pass by a lot of other villas villas to get to ours, but no one had to pass by our villa). I think that it works that way for all the villas - the lesser the number, the more secluded it is (e.g. 101 being more secluded than 114, 602 more than 608 etc.) We loved the outdoor shower.

We booked the spead boat pick up which worked very well both ways.

The spa is very good (although expect to pay 1500 Baht for a massage instead of 180-300 Baht in other places in Thailand; there are many places in the village which offer massage for 300 Baht, although the massage therapists are probably not as good, and nor is the setting). I had a Thai and foot massage with Kim and I would highly recommend her. My husband however felt that his massage was nice but too mild (they have no male massage therapists at the spa, and I guess that some women may not have enough strength - my husband told me that he did not feel much).

The beach is nice but more rocky than sandy, you have to go to the public beach instead - it is just a 1 minute walk, but of course you do not have the chaises longues nor the service you have at Santhiya. The place we loved the most was the Lagoon swimming pool uphill. In the morning, there was literally no one there (all the kids and families are at the pool near the beach). I would suggest that they install parasols on all of the chaises-longues (currently only two out of 19 had parasols, which makes it almost impossible to use the 17 other ones given that they are all completely in the sun). I have no idea why it is not done - maybe because the parasols would obstruct the view from some of the rooms? I guess this is the reason why there is no one at this pool, and if you are lucky enough to get the two chaises longues with the parasols, you will have the pool to yourself (come before 9:30 or earlier)! It is delightful in the morning, and you can swim without having ten kids jumping in the pool, which is not possible at the other pool.

The restaurant is very good but rather expensive. The little restaurants in the village, and also the one on the beach just next to Santhiya are very good (the latter was practically our best dinner while on Koh Phangan).

One thing we really did not appreciate was the offer of tours and activities. We wanted to go to the Angthong Marine Park; we subscribed for it on Friday morning to go there on Saturday. We were told that they need a minimum of 6 people and that they would call us in the evening to confirm the tour (there were already 2 other people inscribed for Saturday, and 2 others for Sunday, so this seemed ok). We thought it was great that it would be such a small group (even though the receptionist at the desk did not seem to grasp the charm of a small private tour - when I asked her "Wait, it is great that we are only 6 people, but they are still going to bring us to places where you have five hundred other tourists, or they are going to bring us to different spots?" the receptionist gladly confirmed that we would indeed end up with all the tourists.) In the evening we got the call confirming the tour; but one hour later they called us back telling that since it was raining, the speed boat could not leave from Santhiya's pier, and they offered us to go with another company who would drive us to the Tonsala pier and then load on the boat (with much more people). The rain was so mild that we could not believe this excuse; when we tried to reschedule for Sunday, we were told that most likely there would be no tour on Sunday as well. The company they offered us to use (Safari boat) had such bad reviews on Tripadvisor that we decided not to go. Of course, the next morning, we saw the Santhiya spead boat come and go to Koh Samui airport, and same on Sunday. So there was absolutely no problem because of the rain, they probably just did not want to do the tour and used this lame excuse to get out of it. We ended up spending the three days at the resort, and honestly, it is a stretch since there is not much to do. The hotel recommends you do not rent motorbikes, cars or jetsky from the village because of scams and bad roads. So if you want to explore the island individually and not with other tourists, it is strictly impossible. Basically, you go to Santhiya because you want to avoid touristic places, but if you want to get out of Santhiya and explore, you'll end up in a group. We come from Europe and hate organized tours, we usually rent a car and explore, and this was a major bummer.

However, this should not keep you from choosing Santhiya, but if you want to visit the island or the Angthong marine park, make your arrangements before you come (should I have known this, I would have booked a couple of days on the Itsamarai boat and kept our Santhiya stay to a minimum).

Room Tip: the lesser the number, the more secluded it is (e.g. 101 being more secluded than 114, 602 more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is one of the best resorts that we've stayed in. First, the rooms are pure luxury and clean! The villas are made of oure wood and it is breath-taking. In addition, the staff personnel were always very nice and accomodating and the food was superb! We arranged for speed boat transportation (highly recommend) to and from the resort and everything occured as planned with no problems. The spa is also great as well! For couples going, it is well worth the money to get the spa package that comes with the sauna and milk bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanjaSPN, General Manager at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Khun JolandaDiva,
Sawasdee krab……Greetings from Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort!

Thank you very much for your great comments about the “Paradise” at Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa. It is our great pleasure to hear that you found our resort is the best resort you’ve ever stayed. You also found our food and spa were superb.

For the speedboat transfers from/to Koh Samui, you are absolutely right, it is much faster and more comfortable to travel to our resort by our speedboat rather than travel local ferry. The journey from the airport to the pier is less than 10 minutes and just only 30 minutes from the pier on Koh Samui to our resort.

Your comments on our wonderful team members are also appreciated because they're a delightful group whose sole aim is to make everyone happy on our beautiful resort.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Panja Nakapong
General Manager
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Koh Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.