We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning eco-resort true to Thai heritage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning eco-resort true to Thai heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Everything was just wonderful! We truly felt in paradise. The resort is beautifully set on a jungle hillside by the fairly isolated Thong Nai Pan beach on Koh Panghan. We were upgraded to a villa with private pool by the wonderful guest relations manager, Mary Jane. It was just amazing with a large pool, outdoor bathroom and a spacious villa suite in traditional Thai style. The service was just great from A to Z. I found the prices okay. They are higher than in the village but not outrageous and it is still much cheaper than in Europe. The village is easy to reach by the larger beach next door and you should def head over to the larger beach and the village during your stay. Dinner at Jip Shop in the village (looks modest but is amazing) and massages at Tanaporn (many names and words in Thai end with -porn but there is nothing sleazy to them. Book Tanaporn days in advance as they are popular while modestly priced. It can be difficult to go on tours from this resort so plan these from the moment you get there or just relax and stay at the resort. We didnt get bored. I can highly recommend this resort. The other two major resorts at this beach did not look nearly as nice as Santhiya. Santhiya is simply a piece of paradise but probably mostly for adults. The deluxe building with rooms has a beautiful pool just in front of it. Otherwise there is a huge pool area with a waterfall by the beach. The hotel has a private beach and a small path (lit at night) leads you to the larger white sand beach next door. Walk 5-10 minutes along this beach and you arrive at the village.

Room Tip: Some sea view rooms have limited sea view but these are often more secluded which can be nice when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    221
    81
    45
    23
See reviews for
155
832
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We was at santhiya for 4 days and it was the best place to be. We had the pool see view Vila very good stay. Best breakfast best service, restaurant on the beach, perfect place to be!!! Go there and enjoy your stay. It was like magic!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 6 nights in January 2013 for the first week of a two week honeymoon in Thailand. From the airport pick-up right through to the transfer to another hotel in Koh Samui, for our second week, we have never been treated better or had a nicer stay anywhere. We would highly recommend this resort for honeymoon couples.

We were met at Koh Samui airport by a very friendly member of hotel staff with cold scented towels and ice cold bottles of water (NOTE you need to go to main entrance of airport and take a left towards taxis and coaches. I don't think the hotel pick ups are allowed near the main entrance and the airport staff were not overly helpful in directing us). Within minutes we were in a Santhiya van on the way to the speedboat. Within minutes of arriving at the pier we were on the speedboat to the hotel - approx 30min trip. The speedboat can usually drop you off directly at the hotel beach but that day we were dropped at a neighboring beach with 10min car trip to hotel. All staff friendly and efficient through out.

Upon arrival we were directed into the hotels beautiful main restaurant where there was cold refreshing fruit drinks waiting for us and an amazing view of the bay. We got a few words of introduction from the friendly manager and within minutes we were told our room was ready. By far the nicest check-in we have ever experienced. We were taken to our room in a wooden 'buggy' (small vans with benches in the back to taxi guests around the resort). Depending on where you are in the resort you may or may not need to use these. We were at the very top of the resort and although the walk down was manageable the walk up is quiet steep and not very comfortable in that heat and humidity. The buggys are available 24hours a day and can get to anywhere in resort within a minute or so.

We stayed in a Sea view pool villa suite plus - Villa 606. Amazing room, amazing view! As with all tropical resorts insects and lizards are in abundance but did not over shadow the stay. The shower is outdoor but secluded. The toilet is also outdoor but sheltered.

Overall the food was very good and a lot better than some meals we got on the neighbouring beach. They had buffet dinners several nights during the week. Some of the buffet dishes were a little disappointing. The a la carte food was very good and breakfast was ok. The desserts were not good except for the mango mousse dream.

We went on a trip to the Angthong National Marine Park organized by the hotel. The trip had its pros and cons - see my review on Angthong National Marine Park for more info.

The location is quiet remote with a small village and stretch of beach a short walk from the resort. The resort was so nice in comparison we found it difficult to leave. There is no nightlife at the resort, with it pretty much shutting down when the restaurant closes at about 10:30. Being a honeymoon couple this wasn't a big deal for us but may be for others.

Overall an excellent honeymoon stay in a beautiful well managed resort.

Room Tip: Villa 606 is an amazing room with an amazing view. It's a bit of a hike up to it though and afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Came here for my honeymoon. Glad I picked it. My wife was floored. Beautiful resort, wonderful services, great value - the hotel does a happy hour where you buy one get one free on drinks.

There is an excellent complimentary buffet.

If you are not into walking a lot I would like to mention the resort is spread out on a hillside so you have to walk up hill and down hill to and from your rooms. There is a car service though.
We didnt mind since we like the excersise.

If you are ok with that I highly reccommend Santhiya for unparalled services, competative pricing, wonderful and fresh food, as well as a breathtaking view.

We stayed in and reccomend the villas with private pools - we used ours every day.

If you want to walk down the beach for dinner stay far far away from the Beach Club Bar and Grill.
They gave us severe food poisoning. Undercooked chicken and we pointed it out to them. They did nothing and we had to pay the bill. Thanks.
DO NOT EAT AT THE BEACH CLUB BAR AND GRILL DOWN THE OTHER BEACH

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

5 adults shared spacious, luxurious pool sea-view villa set high up in the hills of the resort. Own very private pool with unswept views of Thong Nai Pan beach. You could spend a week just photographing this flawless resort. No attention to detail was overlooked. The wood carvings, statuettes on grounds and natural growing orchids everywhere makes this resort indescribable. Seafood barbecues are well worth it. Drinks and food at the resort are expensive but all in all a luxurious, tranquil Thai paradise set in a jungle. Most beautiful resort with private beach and no crowds.

Room Tip: Highest 3 villas have breathtaking views of Thong Nai Pan Beach but these pool villas are far from m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice resort with nature being the main theme, rooms and the entire resort seem to blend well with the area. Very large area, but buggies are provided for moving around but it's also a good walk up and down the slopes for some exercise. The beach itself is rather small, but just next door is a larger beach with a small fishing village where one can find more options in terms of restaurants and bars. The service and hospitality of the hotel is very good, especially enjoyed the spa there. Recommend to take the resort speed boat as the other option (via ferry from Koh Samui and road) is rough in the van.

Room Tip: Supreme deluxe rooms seem to have a good view of the resort, plus they are just next to the second s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent four nights at Santhiya just before Christmas.
A next to flawless resort on the north end of the quiet Thong Nai Pan beach on the north east side of the island. Great effort has clearly gone into the details, like the fine wood carvings that decorate the walls of the rooms and the grounds that are impeccably kept and show a well-thought-through layout, and this makes the resort feel welcoming and exclusive.

It's a pretty big resort, but tge way it has been planned, there seems to be full privacy in all rooms and bungalows, and the fact that most bungalows seem to feature their own, private pool implies that the main pool area was not crowded despite the hotel being booked out. The pool area as such could have been better planned. The children's part of the pool is not clearly separated from the deep end of the big pool. Our four-year-old, who cannot yet swim, didn't see the line on the pool bottom, and fell into the big pool. It is also a bit tricky both to get in and out of the pool.

Great service throughout the resort, at all levels.

The restaurants could have been more interesting, but the quality of the food was great and view from the beach-front restaurant as well as the upstairs one forgive the lack of creativity.

We did not use the spa facilities. There is an unfortunate smell on the bridge leading towards the spa, which frankly put us off the spa mood.

Other than that, the resort is great. Would go back any day.
And we would, despite the stiff pricing for it, again opt for the direct transfer by speed-boat. (We took the normal ferry going back.) So much faster and smoother!

Room Tip: We had a delux corner room on tge top floor of the 400-wing. Had a clear bungalow feeling to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa

Address: 22/7 Moo 5 Bantai Koh Phangan | Thong Nai Pan Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus is second to the highest villa category in the resort with 115sqm floor area and a truly unique character to show. Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus boasts its own personal infinity pools and a mini waterfall, picture-perfect panoramic sea view vistas along with a living room and open-air bathrooms. Perfect for newlyweds and honeymooners. Get lost in your very own luxurious private villa, the Santhiya Sea View Pool Villa Suite Plus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santhiya Hotel Thong Nai Pan
Santhiya Resort And Spa
Santhiya Hotel Ko Phangan
Santhiya Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.