We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maehaad Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
buenos aires
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had pre-paid with an agent as it was hard to find anywhere to stay and I had had to move out of where I was staying elsewhere on the island. I then read various negative reviews so arrived a little concerned.

I am writing this to dispel such doubts. The Thai staff were warm and very helpful (Paan, Oi), the rooms were fine with a hammock and aircon or a fan, and there was a massage available steps away on the beach. Because of the boats in the water, better to swim 100 meters away, and there is deep water and ok snorkeling off the little island opposite, especially when the sun is shining and with little wind so that the visibility is better. Oi runs a bar at the beach every evening.

Mainly good for Europeans looking for 2 weeks in the sun rather than the travelers.

So enjoy!

Room Tip: Aircon on the beachfront worth the money plus you can get wi-fi. Not so easy in some of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, despite the fact that there are many tourists on the beach and that the beach itself is a bit rough. That being said, you can walk the sandbar over to the little island opposite and have a good day of snorkeling in deeper waters than some of the areas further south on the island.

More a family setting than a place for singles, it is still an excellent choice for travelers. The service is excellent, the staff is welcoming and friendly, and the bungalows are just perfect for relaxing and enjoying a good night's sleep. With a sturdy hammock on every porch and absolutely great massages right there on the beach, the setting is lovely for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: For consistent wifi service, choose cabins closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed (only one night) in a fan bungalow (400 B). The bungalow and the bathroom are mostly clean.
The owner (a woman) was very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was ok and the taxi service to Thong Sala was cheap (150 B per person) for such a long drive.
The beach in front of the bungalows wasn't so beautiful but you have the view right to the small island Koh Ma which is about 200m away.
Take a massage at the beach!This is cheap, very relaxing and you have a view right to Koh Ma.
For short stays Royal Orchid is a good place to stay, but for longer stays there are more beautiful places on Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was definitely the worst (!) hotel we had in Thailand!

We booked via internet and got a confirmation, but when we arrived, the staff claimed not to have received a booking. When I showed them the written booking, they declined to give us a room for the confirmed sum. They didn't want to serve the ( included) breakfast and wanted 1/3 more money for the room ( without breakfast). This would be 1200 Baht for an ugly and small room without breakfast! When we insisted, they tried to trick us into giving us a much smaller room without a/c.

The room was shabby, uncomfortable and rather dirty. The towels had holes, and ants were crawling in the shower. Dogs barked the whole night, and the furniture war broken (eg. terrace chairs). Definitely not worth the money.

The staff was very unfriendly - no sign of the famous thai smile. The next afternoon, we gave them money for one night (minus breakfast) and left.

If you want to stay near the Ko Ma island, the Island View Cabana beach bungalows are a better choice, and less pricy. As we were very disappointed, we left that beach instead and went to Haad Salad.

NEVER AGAIN!!! STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

In the low season you can have a room for 600 bath with A/C. The bed is clean and they have hot water! The beach near the resort is full of boats , so you just walk a little bit and there is a beautiful beach. In the night, the sunset is amazing .......You have to eat the food of the resort or of the neighbors resort . The staff is cool and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful location right on the beach Mae haad. The rooms were very basic with cold water showers and they were not that clean. We had lots of " visitors" including a lizard, roaches and spiders in the room, but it was bed bug free! The price seemed steep for what you got compared to other places nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Mae Had is one of my favourite beaches in Thailand. We have just came back from a short weekend in Koh Phangan and I already plan to book our next stay!! But I promised myself I will write this. As much as I dislike being negative and despite my endless love of all Thai, Oh my God! The stuff is sooooo rude. So so unpleasant! We did not stay here in the end. This is second time we came across such hostile attitude in the same place. Last year we went there for lunch from a nearby bay and, without going into details, they have managed to put me in a bad mood and it takes a lot to do that! I do not think they are thai in there. Maybe they are burmeese or cambodians (who are payed very badly but then again, I spoke to the manager...) Anyhoo, to sum up- stunning bay, lovely snorkel, dont stay here or dine and you will be very very happy! ( we stayed in a sweet resort next door, beach bungalo 1000bt but not sure if its more in high season, lovely food, not much english spoken but we were very happy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.