We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Hut Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Candle Hut Resort
Save Saved
You added Candle Hut Resort to your Saves list
Thong Nai Pan Yai (South Beach), Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 106 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recommended this accommodation to those who want a quiet, peaceful, and relaxing holiday. It's quite far away from the action of Koh Phangan and full moon party, but this can be a good advantage. The staff are very friendly and happy to help when we wanted to upgrade to a room closer to the water. I would recommend this place for 5 days maximum, any longer and may run out of things to do and places to eat. The accommodation is very clean and new and loved the outer shower!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    11
    15
    9
See reviews for
22
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

They gave us a tiny discount because it was off season. We looked at a bungalow on the beach, and were told they would hold it for us for 24 hours. When we got back the next day, that room was gone, and we had to take the one right next to the bar if we wanted to be right on the water. They told us the music from the bar would be off by 10pm, but it played until all hours more than once. We complained almost every day, and they always said they would fix it and didn't. The bar was DESERTED almost all the time, and we were the only guests there who didn't have small children, so we never figured out the point of blaring loud obnoxious music all night.

The room was tiny, the carpet was filthy, the door didn't seal up very well against mosquitoes (and no mosquito nets), the sheets and towels were stained, and they only changed our sheets once in our entire 7 day stay. When we checked out, they told us they could provide taxi service, but even though checkout time is noon, they told us we couldn't have a taxi until 3pm, so we had to arrange our own in the end.

The staff was friendly, and we did have an amazing view of the beach. During the day it was a nice, relaxing place, with lots of hammocks and beach chairs (and a pool, for what it's worth, but it was teeny, and right on the ocean, so what's the point?), but we would not have stayed the full 7 days if we hadn't prepaid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Place consists of older wooden huts along with hastily-built(as testified by locals) brick bungalows. Attention to detail was almost nil, e.g. no mirror in bathroom to shave,no reading lights by beds, no shade at all on hot concrete patios. most uncomfortable wood chairs ever sat in. Filled mostly with families,lots of little kids,which made it hard to explain why the nearly empty bar/restaurant was playing "doof-doof" music loud enough to stop us sleeping in our closed-uo hut a 100 metres away at 10.30 p.m!

Politely asked manager if he could turn it down & was given this exact reply..." you should check out in the morning!

We promptly did & explored further along the beach & found Central Cottages. Very laid-back, catering to different budgets,nothing was any trouble for the staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the internet sight is promissing-but it was the most extreme case of difference between the sight and reality: we paid in advance for 4 nights. arrived and really disapointed- the grass is yellow, the sea from sea view villa is far , the roofs of other villas are in bad shape and its ugly. the sheets are full of stains and there was a blood stain on the mosquito cover!!!
the air-con was half broken and the pool is small ugly and the deck around needs urgant maintenenss.the only good thing i can say is that we told tham about how we feel and they gave us back our money so we could go to a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked for 9 nights and stayed only one. First appearances can be deceiving as was definately the case here. Stayed in newest, most expensive bungalows that looked Ok but after checking in noticed they lacked some very basic necessary facilities. No attention to detail inside and out along with the grounds which were very untidy and dirty. We did not use the pool but noticed that all the decking around the pool was in a very sad state of repair and quite dangerous in parts with splintered timber and broken decking. Restaurant is the worst and most expensive on the entire beach. ( We tried them all) Food very ordinary and overpriced. Very loud music 'til all hours of the night. Given the majority of guests were non- english speaking families with very young children it was difficult to understand why. No party crowds here. When we asked why they had to play the music so loud, the manager was ARROGANT, RUDE AND OBNOXIOUS and basically said if we didn't like it we should check out. So we did without hesitation the next morning and checked into Central Cottages further down the beach.( We stayed 8 nights here)
BE WARNED..DO NOT STAY at CANDLE HUT there are much better places further along this beautiful beach offering better facilities, fabulous ambiance and restaurants together with very friendly staff for less money.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Candle Hut much better rooms/accomodation further down the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Situated on Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach - very quiet and calm place. Almost nobody on the beach. Enjoyable white sand and pure water. We stayed at wooden bungalow - everything was fine, except the audibility. Near our bungalow was a creek - and all the night we heard it. But it is sounds off nature and it can be advantage for somebody. Bungalow has a big room with Tv and air-con, clean bathroom with hot water and little terrace with hammock. Our friends lived in Sea View Villa - it was more comfortable and luxury.

Room Tip: if there is a possibility take a Sea View Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We walked up and down at Yai beach and liked the villas at Candle Hut the best, despite the fact that they were the most expensive on the beach. The manager negotiated with us and gave us a decent price, so we decided to stay for four nights. When we checked out, the manager was not there and instead it was his aunt. She absolutely refused to honor the price we had negotiated. She insisted we pay 200 bhat more a night!! At that rate, we could have stayed at Havana -- the nicest place on Yai. Do not trust the management here! They are dishonest and will rip you off! Such a shame because our stay was pleasant but it left such a bad taste in our mouth. Will never go back!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candle Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Hut Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai (South Beach), Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Candle Hut Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Hut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.