We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Salad Beach Resort to your Saves list
Salad Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and got our room upgraded to bungalow, was very much grateful for it. Room itself was amazing. The garden was quite picturesque, didn't really expect that. Pool was beautiful & clean. Good food as well. Best resort we've stayed during our time there (stayed in Lamai earlier). The beach faces west, hence we're able to catch the stunning sunset view by the patio. At times we could catch a glimpse of Angthong islands & Sail Rock by the beach. Water clarity may not be the best on the island. Bike rentals, convenient stores are all just in front of the resort. There're dive operators situated in and outside the resort.

All the staff are warm and friendly; even the dogs! Totally worth the money. Would choose to come back again. Only downside is with one particular staff whom others addressed as "mama". She was quite cranky and unfriendly at times. Other than that, the stay was perfect for us, no complaints at all. If only we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Not much different in terms of distance to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    56
    16
    21
See reviews for
53
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends and were not disappointed. At 1,000 Baht/night, how could you be?? We got a great room with two beds, A/C, and a nice view of the garden. Everything was clean, albeit slightly dated, but the bathroom was all stone and looked completely fine.

The gardens/grounds themselves are very quaint and nice, and the pool is fantastic.

Not to mention, the wi-fi is AMAZING, especially for Koh Phangan (where I had a lot of trouble finding reliable internet). The internet here was very fast and very reliable.

Oh, and did I mention the fact that we opted in for "breakfast included"? DEAR GOD YOU HAVE TO DO THIS. By far, HANDS DOWN, the best breakfast spread I've seen in any Thai hotel at this level. Two guys cooking you omelets/eggs/pancakes, granola and yogurt, multiple fruits, toast, bacon, sausage, coffee, multiple juices, more fruit, etc. A ridiculously good breakfast.

The hotel has nice seating areas near the beach, too.

Overall, this is an extremely great resort for the price. Although slightly dated, it's definitely more upscale and offers an extremely comfortable stay with reasonable amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for one week in March and it was a lovely, quiet spot to use as a base to explore Koh Phangan. The staff are wonderful, friendly and a lot of fun. The breakfast buffet was great and the food at the restaurant was very good.
The room we stayed in was a bit tired and could use a bit of upgrading and there were a few times when the smell from the pipes/sink in the bathroom was overwhelming. The linens were very threadbare and some of the sheets were so worn out there were holes in them.
After coming from Koh Lanta where there are beautiful swimming beaches we were a little disappointed at the beach (the best beach on Koh Phangan)...it is so shallow and you have to walk out so far to be even waist deep. This beach is a dipping beach, but definitely not for swimming.
If you want to explore the island, this is a great place to stay as it is quiet and away from the craziness of the southern beaches. We rented a scooter - the best way to see it all!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This small resort is just what we needed! Quiet place, not too many tourists, quiet (private) beach, the swing on the beach next door, the beautiful swallow water, the sound of birds, very nice smiley people. Great laundry service and the food is very good! Breakfast was good as well and the rooms basic, but clean, with clean towels every day and fresh bottles of water free of charge. The only comment I could say is that overall the place needs some repair here and there and around the pool it's a bit smelly.

Room Tip: unexpected, the rooms above the restaurant (superior with seaviews) where very well located with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I really love this resort. The bungalows are great, nice breakfast and the deck with sun chairs facing the beach is a great place to spend the day, as well as have drinks or dinner in the evening when they re-decorate them with the traditional thai pillows.
The only warning is to not book through their website, use a proper booking site instead. We booked through their website and it looked as though the booking was confirmed but when we got there it was not and they didn't have the room we booked. They told us this happened several times with their agency. So thumbs up for being honest and helpful. We were able to chose between a smaller cheaper room or a more expensive bungalow. They gave us a good price for the bungalow (1500 baht including breakfast) and I really must recommend the bungalows as they are so nice. We had the garden view which was nice and quiet.
The restaurant is ok, but try My Way, Salad Hut and Cookies too for cozy hang out. The beach is pretty with powdery white sand but very shallow water. There's an ok reef outside if you like to snorkel but you have to get pretty far out to get to the big corals.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and really liked it but now I think it start getting a little bit old and are a little bit overpriced.

I stayed in room 325 for 5 days and the room was on the 3rd floor and it was very steep steps up to the room but they carry our bags up to our room so no problem. But if you don't like steps ask for a bungalow instead.

The room was clean but i didn't like the toilet because it was a "open window" so animals good come in. One day we had a big spider in the room so we had to ask the reception to get it away but they help us very good.

The shower was bad because not so hot water and the water pressure was bad.

The free wifi was very bad and almost not work at all in our room so we had to sit in the restaurant instead if we want use internet.

The breakfast was not the best but some days it was okey.

Overall it is a okey hotel but during high season i think its a little bit to expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Haad Salad as our favourite place was closed (Jangs) and we thought we would just be getting fodder. We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of food and the service was excellent. The Burmese waiters are wonderful, friendly and happy which made a nice change on this strip. Especially our waiter MOON who was adorable. Will definately eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: 8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.