We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range resort with excellent wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Salad Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salad Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good mid-range resort with excellent wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7nights in a Standard Deluxe for 1,700baht.

We were a bit worried after seeing some of the reviews but were relieved to find that Salad Beach Resort is a great value mid-range resort that I would highly recommend. Soft western style bed (yay!) and Thai style shower. Room was clean and cleaned daily, and supplied with bottled water daily.

Buffet breakfast was so-so but on par with any other Thailand resort - they cooked pancakes in animals shapes for kids. If you eat at the resorts restaurant you'll find it cheap (which is rare for a resort!) but of average quality.

Experienced the fastest and most reliable wifi of our Thailand travels.

The resort is right on the beach and has heaps of sunbeds. Pool was clean. The resort itself is lovely, heaps of trees and little huts to sit out of the sun.

Staff were friendly, spoke good English and very helpful.

Haad Salad itself is a great bay to stay in. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, you can snorkel off the beach and there are a number of shops to buy clothes, trinkets, food etc but at an inflated price. I'd recommend doing the squid fishing offered through the resort and eating at Salad Hut Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    46
    15
    18
See reviews for
48
106
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good pool, nice clean rooms, but food not great so ate elsewhere (mainly the excellent Salad Hut). If youre a young family or couple and can live without the pool - remember the beaches around here are perfect for little ones, then I'd say stay at Mae Haad in the next bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I was staying at this place I though the had the best food in Thailand. I don't know if I still agree but they had a great dish I cant remember the name but I suspect it is not a Thai dish. Nevertheless this is a great place to stay in if you want to take it easy for some time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent one week there Burmese staff in resteraunt were a waste of time no english at all,service was very slow even for Thailand.
Pond at night stunk,There had been cutbacks from previous years everything was just allowed to fall to pieces,No maintainance was done.Only one umberela at the pool no shade

Room Tip: Check before accepting people were complaining about all classes of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thank good we only paid 1500 baht on agoda. To add an extra night they wanted 3400. The room was big but the patio viewed a concrete wall and a poop like smell wafted up along with a noisy humming generator or aircon unit! The bathroom didn't have a fan and we couldn't get hot water to come out even when we did what the front desk told us to. Beds were comfy. Restaurant had good service one day then the next day we left after 25 mins of no one coming to see us. Pool area was lovely but for 3,400 baht they should be replacing some pool mats soon. Room was nice overall once you left the bathroom door open to keep the dank smell out and got used to the crappy view/smell on the patio. The bungalows looked nice. The main building is a concrete wasteland. Massage place is good, I enjoyed the service there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our 3 week trip around Thailand. This was by far the best value for money, best location and best service we received the whole trip. It is located up the North-West coast of the island - probably 25mins drive from the main pier, but if you are after relaxation, nice beach and quietness - then this is the place for you. They even have an english speaking liason at the hotel to assist you with anything. Breakfast is outstanding also!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden bungalow - not the ones located in the main building, these are nicer and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

First impression, beautiful place, amazing beach... That impression lasted 5 minutes, we got taken to our room and it smelt damp and was infested with Mosquitos! (Our room was by the pond) we told in advance we had an extra person (the receptionist seemed puzzled) however she organized a springy broken pullout single bed..... Thanks.

Receptionist staff were so rude, one cursed at a friend of mine... And early on we were promised a better room at no extra cost but 4 days later nothing happened. The lady then offered us a free transfer to the pier which she somehow forgot about and made us pay for the next day. Salad resort has left a very sour taste in my mouth after my stay. Torture.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: 8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.