We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your room before accepting it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Salad Beach Resort to your Saves list
Salad Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Ko Tao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check your room before accepting it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent one week there Burmese staff in resteraunt were a waste of time no english at all,service was very slow even for Thailand.
Pond at night stunk,There had been cutbacks from previous years everything was just allowed to fall to pieces,No maintainance was done.Only one umberela at the pool no shade

Room Tip: Check before accepting people were complaining about all classes of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    56
    16
    21
See reviews for
53
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thank good we only paid 1500 baht on agoda. To add an extra night they wanted 3400. The room was big but the patio viewed a concrete wall and a poop like smell wafted up along with a noisy humming generator or aircon unit! The bathroom didn't have a fan and we couldn't get hot water to come out even when we did what the front desk told us to. Beds were comfy. Restaurant had good service one day then the next day we left after 25 mins of no one coming to see us. Pool area was lovely but for 3,400 baht they should be replacing some pool mats soon. Room was nice overall once you left the bathroom door open to keep the dank smell out and got used to the crappy view/smell on the patio. The bungalows looked nice. The main building is a concrete wasteland. Massage place is good, I enjoyed the service there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our 3 week trip around Thailand. This was by far the best value for money, best location and best service we received the whole trip. It is located up the North-West coast of the island - probably 25mins drive from the main pier, but if you are after relaxation, nice beach and quietness - then this is the place for you. They even have an english speaking liason at the hotel to assist you with anything. Breakfast is outstanding also!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden bungalow - not the ones located in the main building, these are nicer and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

First impression, beautiful place, amazing beach... That impression lasted 5 minutes, we got taken to our room and it smelt damp and was infested with Mosquitos! (Our room was by the pond) we told in advance we had an extra person (the receptionist seemed puzzled) however she organized a springy broken pullout single bed..... Thanks.

Receptionist staff were so rude, one cursed at a friend of mine... And early on we were promised a better room at no extra cost but 4 days later nothing happened. The lady then offered us a free transfer to the pier which she somehow forgot about and made us pay for the next day. Salad resort has left a very sour taste in my mouth after my stay. Torture.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A lovely resort on Koh Phangan! the beach is pristine with great water and not too many people (we were there in November). The rooms are lovely and the staff very helpful (there was no power on the island for four days but they have a generator). A very quiet, peaceful spot.

Room Tip: The bungalows close to the beach looked amazing but rooms in the resort's main building were gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Salad beach resort during the full moon party. The resort is quite far and there isnt' lot to see near resort. Also the shops near are really expensive! Our room was okey at first, but after first day we found out that sink doesn't work and even said about it to staff the situation didn't get any better. Also we had 2 days without hot water. Our friends were staying there same time as us but they didn't have those problems..

The staff at the reception were extra friendly. But.... we had some problems at the restaurant. We ate at the resort's restaurant probaly 4-5 times and every single time there something wrong with our bill. First time they actually overcharged 25BHT but we were just too tired to complain. One time they gave us 200BHT less than they were supposed to. And two times the price on the menus were different. They've been rising up prices and some menus have the expensive ones and some doesn't. Also after full moon party the staff at the restaurant were really hangovered and it took like 10minutes to even get our drinks.
But there is really nice restaurant near by called Jay Jay's pizza or something like that which I highly recommend.

But with the problems I probably could stay there again. It's not bad :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having traveled Thailand for 3 months now we know the value of hotels and what you should get for your money; we paid £25 a night here and expected a little bit of luxury but just left feeling disappointed and ripped off! The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, there is only about 2 restaurants on the beach nearby which are expensive and low quality. On first impressions (apart from it being in the middle of nowhere) it looks like a lovely resort and right on a beautiful beach...but that’s about it. Our room in the main building was old and needed serious work (see photos!), our sheet actually had BLOOD on it (disgusting!!!) and felt damp, they had ONE English channel which was the news on loop (again, £25 usually gets you all the movies), the wifi didn’t work the whole time we were there even though we where told it would be fixed on the night we arrived. We ate at the restaurant one night ordering a chicken burger…it wasn’t chicken rather a sausage like paste, it wasn’t very nice at all. Staff were fine, nothing special and breakfast was probably the only decent thing about the place as quite a good selection. Overall we did feel cheated out of money. We had previously stayed at Milky Bay resort on Thong Sala for half the price and it was ten times better!

Room Tip: Dont get the standard double, im not sure what the other rooms are like but this is old and tattie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: 8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.