We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solo trip made in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Salad Beach Resort to your Saves list
Salad Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A solo trip made in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took a sabbatical to Thailand this past June to do some yoga and go on a spiritual quest. After doing some research for a few months, I decided to stay at Salad Beach Resort for a week long stay. It's at the north of the island, about 30 minutes from the main town nestled on a small semi-private beach that is accessible to the public but have to find your way through first. There are several resorts on this beach and Salad Hut, to me, happen to be the nicest. There are about 10 bungalows if I remember correctly, a pool, great and AMAZING food offered as well as drinks. It seemed to me that guests from other resorts came to the restaurant far more then any other place on the beach. The staff are wonderful, speak English, the rooms are cleaned everyday as well. Each bungalow has a hammock, a patio, a nice bathroom, refrigerator, and there is a small store on site for any extras you may need.

I stayed as a solo guest where everyone else were couples or families, I was there to do a yoga at a near by retreat. I fell in love with the place, it was beautiful, everyone was friendly, it was quiet, no young adults getting too wild, very mellow spot. A great place for couples to get away and relax at Salad Hut Resort, even if you're single and want some alone time, this is a wonderful place. I definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    55
    15
    21
See reviews for
53
113
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 weeks in September'12. It was our 5th visit! We just love this hotel for friendly atmosphere, quite white sand beach and crystal clear waters. Rooms are daily serviced and clean. Swimming pool in a garden is not big but very nice and very well maintained. Restaurant is definitely one of the best on the beach. Food is clean, tasty and unexpensive. Even in low season they have fresh sea food daily so that many visitors from other hotels come for a lunch or dinner. Hotel Spa provide good quality Thai and oil massage. If you like snorkeling or kayaking, you can rent equipment straight at the restaurant counter. But most important for us were service team! Smiles, jokes and willing to make our stay enjoyable made us totally relaxed and feel like at home. We will definitely come over again!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor over the restaurant are cheaper than bungalows, but with balcony and have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights Sept-Oct 2012. It was like a dream! We arrived & we found that we were in our own little resort away from it all!

The rooms were lovely & clean , with a gorgeous shower!

There was free air conditioning & safe & the maids were in every day with fresh bath & pool towels, & complimentary bottled water, all very nice touches!

We had breakfast included, which is buffet style & rather yummy!! Bacon, sasuage, omlettes/eggs, fritters, fruit, cereal, and thai food! Juices, tea/coffee, etc.

There is a resident Mynah bird, which can actually talk! It likes to say "Good Morning!" & it constantly wolf whistles alllll day lol, so cute.

The pool was really outstanding, very big with plenty of loungers.

The hotel staff were wonderful people, from the lovely girls in reception to the taxi guy with the long hair! The lady down in the bottom in the restaraunt was also, she helpful & very kind.

Now onto the waiters! We met Lin, Cuckoo & Tun, all from Burma. The were a great set of lads, they were very interesting to get to know! We had some laughs & jokes. We were very sad to leave Salad Beach resort, it was the staff that made our stay amazing!! We didnt want to go home. :/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our last hotel left much to be desired despite high trip advisor reviews, so our expectations for this resort were not particularly high... Thankfully we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

The resort is very clean and well maintained. There was not a time during our stay that the grounds were not being cleaned and managed. You could tell there was a real sense of pride in keeping the place looking nice. Our room was always cleaned promptly every day with fresh shower and beach towels provided, along with a free 1.5 litre bottle of drinking water.

The room itself was nicely decorated, comfy bed, television with a good set of English speaking and movie channels (I ended up being ill two out of our five days there, so this turned out to be a godsend). Wifi was available here and there was a security box.

The only slight criticism I would have is that the shower was luke warm at best and with the room being right near the public street and reception it could be a little noisy at night - but never until late and nothing to stop you sleeping.

The pool area is gorgeous with plenty of sunbathing chairs, the only real negative is that it doesn't catch mutch sunlight... by why worry about that when you have the beach on your door step.

Salad Beach is simply gorgeous. The sand is crystal white and the sea is clear blues and green. Many people have complained about the water not being deep enough to swim in, but I thought it was perfect for a nice dip and you can actually walk quite far out, which leads to some stunning photos standing in the middle of the sea.

The resort is right on the beach so you can sit on the decking and sunbathe and later in the evening have dinner in the beach restaurant or even right on the beach. They lay out lovely tables, with big fire candles... its lovely.

The Breakfast was nothing to shout about to be honest it was very basic, but enough to fill you up. My main criticism of the hotel and the reason it doesn't get an excellent is the restaurant. The food was pretty average, over priced and the portion sizes were small.

The majority of the restaurant staff were great though and very friendly, they perhaps just needed a bit more organisation and management, as there was at times confusion on whether we'd ordered or paid or had our food etc because we seemed to be served by no less than four people at anyone sitting.

It's in a great location if you just come to relax on the beach, which we did, but a bit out the way if you want to be near full moon and all the main action - although you can hire scooters from the row of nearby shops.

Having the shops nearby was great for snacks, drinks and toiletries and on the beach there are lots of more resorts and restaurants to choose for food.

The girls on reception were also lovely. They sorted out all our onward travel, booking bus and ferry and organising taxi - all very efficient.

All in all, given the price we paid this was a gorgeous location, friendly staff, nice room. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Hotel staff is very friendly and open for any extras and negotiations. Hotel id right on a breath taking beach with good snorkeling opportunities and a nice quiet pool area. Hint: if you book the hotel at the reception without any reservation you might get special prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Too bad that the men of the staff are so rude & so unpleasant...the hotel is quite nice if you expect something comfortable & not expensive...I hope the manager will choice his staff with more SERIOUSNESS because it's quite a shame!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My review is possibly a bit skewed after arriving here from a really nice hotel in Koh Tao that was a cheaper, but in summary, Salad Beach Resort is basic but comfortable and is perfectly fine for what we needed it for - a couple of nights as we pass through.

You can arrange a pick up from the pier for around 150bht each. It's a good escape from the bustle of Haad RIn and the beach itself is lovely - proper sand and warm, clear sea, although you have to walk out for ages before it gets deeper than your waist!

Restaurant is fine too and there's a decent swimming pool in the grounds.

The rooms are not very secure - both entrances are fairly flimsy and the safety deposit box is fine, but I suspect someone could just whip that away if they really wanted it! The bed is huge and comfortable and the a/c works well. There's a balcony, but it leads out to a pool of still water with LOADS of mozzies flying about and as these doors were open when we arrived we had a fair few to contend with in our room. Not really the hotel's fault, of course, but those who attract the mozzies might want to stay out of room 306 - there are rooms higher up that might be better.

Not exactly bowled over, but it certainly does the job and it's a decent budget option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Beach Resort

Address: 8 Haad Salad Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Salad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Beach Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.