We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderfull world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Thongtapan Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
NRW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a wonderfull world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Chill out place, nice simple rooms by the beach or hidden between the black rocks and mangrove trees. Beautiful beach! Great Ocean! I loved the big swing on the beach under palm trees.
Tast the best coffee latte, delicious Snickers milkshakes.
Stephen the French bartender and his wife make cool cocktails.
The sweet Beau at reception and her family are incredibly nice, friendly and helpful.
We are forced to go back :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

The bungalows are brand new and beautifull. There is a lot of space in between and they are set in the middle of a very nice garden. We booked one with air con for only 1200b/ 25 euros, which is a really good bargain. They all have nice wood floor, a terrace and nice bathroom (I love bathrooms when they are nice, it is so rare!). The bed was really comfortable and the room is cleaned on demand.
The restaurant serves also delicious food with a barbecue every night.
I would definitely recommend this place and come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Our trip...we leaved from Bangkok to here...we love to stay @ here. The weather and the beach,it's beautiful and clearly for us,we like decoration of this bungalow with minimalish design. Hmm...we thought about that we have short time to stay here...if you like to take your times to relaxation and forget your busy life...you should to stay this beach..Thong nai Pan Noi,it's so Cool!...people in here, they are so cute and helpful.
if you like Thai or special food..we recommend you to try to eat@ Kruatapan..Hmm..and for beautiful dinner..Let's go to Baantapan Noi..Here,BBQ is yummy...we like it..hahaha.
we're not good in English but we want to tell others to know.
If you want to have good experience,let's try to come here ..like us..Lala...laa**

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed here just in the 1st week of May. It was wonderful. It is the quiet and peaceful end of the beach which people seem to gravitate to as it is clean, pristine and has the best two restaurants on the beach and believe me we tried them all!! The one right at the end is heavenly at night with all the lanterns in the trees and tables on the sand. At both the service was excellent - thanks to the man and his wonderful cook wife at the restaurant next to the reception for all their great meals, smiles and good conversation.
We had a beach front bungalow, just a short hop into the warm sea with the wonderful views, and entertainment from the antics of the neighbourhood dogs. Full moon the morning after was hilarious with sightings at an early morning swim of only a few but well leathered individuals. We were not bothered by much noise as they all go off on boats for the night...........
Bo at reception is a an absolute jem, thanks Bo for all your helpfulness and kind smiles. She's great!!
The beach is what makes it I think, it is an incredible beach, one of the best, when we went to the West of the island, we had definaltely taken the wrong turn, it was nothing not a patch on this place. Absolutely stunning.
Didn't think much of the Baan whatever place at the other end that seems to get all the press, rooms were tomb like, compared to the spaciousness we had. Can see all bungalows are fairly new, recent, but there is no construction going on now, all very quiet and peaceful, can see some people stay in this one spot for a few weeks in some of the bungalows on the very beach front, lying in their hammock and contemplating their navel or whatever it is u have time to do when you've got it!!! Excellent.
All in all, the best..................

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mannheim
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Quite a nice place, the huts "up" in the hills. It is a walk to do if you have to carry luggage. Nice huts, no luxury, double bed, fan, wetcell with toilet, pissoir, shower. Good thing, the windows have mosquito nets so you don´t have to use one over the bed. Mosquito coils and "noBite" are essential when staying on the veranda. Brown water coming out of the shower/sink. Always keep drinking water supply in the hut, walking down and up again is a sweaty thing. The zickadas which are present the whole day really gain noise at sunrise and sunset, you get used to after 3-4 days. The large geckos living on the walls of the huts can be shocking if you hear them at first, but as the zickadas you get used to them. Staff is friendly with the smiling, but not really functioning. Within 2 weeks i stayed there i put out the "clean room" sign and put down the towels on the veranda floor to get changed. Nothing happened. Sweeping myself and changing the towels at the reception worked. Also not cooperative people at the reception. The 14-16 old daughter always smiling, hanging on the mobile and chatting online is always a sure "no" or "i don´t know" to any question asked. Also quite higher prices on any services (taxi, laundry, etc) then "downtown" or nearby resorts. I know i should not be working on holiday, but some things need to be done, so i needed to go online. WiFi "as promoted and promised" not working, cable does the job. BUT going online is no fun when 3 kids of the resorts family are also constantly online, playing online games, video chatting, playing loud thai chart music. Felt like the good old 14k modem days.. Another resort, no problem. Beach restaurant really not to mention, been there once, same as everywhere but not as good. Best treat the restaurant at the "baan ta pan noi" directly besides on the beach. Great BBQ also. So i would have changed resorts if i was not travelling with a group and stuck to this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

We booked the "Thongtapan Suite", also called the "Bayview Suite", based on their pictures on the internet. It costs 2,650 baht, which doesn't seem like a lot before you get to thailand but after being here for a few weeks, you realize what you should be getting for that amount of money. Not only did the room have absolutely NO VIEW of the bay, they're doing major construction exactly on the other side of the room wall. I mean, hammering, drilling, sawing, cutting steel. There was no mention of this when we booked and the owner wanted to charge us full price. The room itself is located up a long set of impossibly steep steps that left us exhausted in the heat, and it's position is directly behind the back of their restaurant - noisy in the morning and not the best sight to see when you've paid for a bay view. The owner simply went off to sit at his computer and left his 15 year old daughter to deal with his unhappy customers. We paid for one night, and walked down the beach the next morning to book at Star Huts -- Star Huts has an infinitely better atmosphere and location, not to mention service, great views to the beach, and a good restaurant.

By the way, I didn't only see the Bay View Suite at Thongtapan Resort. I also saw another of their normal huts - which are still way overprices -- most of the huts are set back in the jungle, and a bit dark. The one I saw only had cold water and was dingy, dark, and very small.

But just the construction and noise factor, and the unfriendliness of the staff should keep you away from this place. Their restaurant is always empty - also telling. You'll be by yourself as everyone stays towards Baan Paaburi Village and Star Huts.
(By the way, Baan Paanburi also has construction going on, which is why we decided to stay at Star Huts, which was a quiet peaceful oasis).

Hope this helps you -- and wish I'd know all this before i got here.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint81, Owner at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2008
It is sadly to hear such negative feedback to our property.

We do find that "Noisy and Rip Off" is a very dramatic complaint, yet I do appreciate the fact of the feedback though. For myself, I have not been at the resort recently and yet to be married. Nevertheless, we are currently investigating in the matter of noise along with how staff is handling this complaint.

We do set up each and every bungalow to have private space in between them comparing to our competitors. We value our guest privacy, safety as well as the environment structure of the property. What I find some failed to mention are facilities that have in each bungalow e.g. hot water system and mosquito net for example, hence pricing of each bungalows. These are there to ensure our guests are safe and sound after your visit from our resort.

Again we do appreciate that our guest bringing issues to our attention. It is unfortunate that our guest has experience this inconveniences. I am to ensure that this matter is looked at.

Thongtapan Resort Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtapan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.