We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Thongtapan Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Thongtapan Resort.

Superb value for money, great location, friendly staff, beautiful beach with a restaurant which also comes with all of the above.

Compared to others, we enjoyed the quietness of this place incl. limited WiFi access and no television in the rooms. Bring some good books and you will return relaxed.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

perfekt place to stay on Thong Nai Pan Noi!

- nice bungalows!
- directly on the beach (very clean beach and fine sand)
- friendly staff - the 2 girls at the reception helped us a lot!
- perfect beach to relax
- very cheap compared to all the 5-star residences nearby

price-performance is excellent! one of the best places we stayed in thailand!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Somebody (the owners) should inform the manager (their daughter) that she is in the hospitality business.

This means making the clients feel comfortable and welcomed. Shouting at clients to greet them, being rude and making them feel like they’re disturbing you when they report low pressure or no hot water is not considered good practice in hospitality.

But maybe they do not care about their clients. It would probably explain why the linen is stained, the pillows are dirty and smelly, the mattresses so old they are uneven, the beach towels (which also are used as shower towels) with bleach stains, the few old dirty and broken beach furniture, the incredibly slow wifi that only reaches the reception area, and the list goes on…

The only plus side is their staff: on the few occasions we interacted with them, they were diligent and pleasant.

Do yourself a favor and go right next door: it’s cheaper, their wifi works in the bungalows, everything is spotless and their staff is pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear 8ad_Bra1n,
First of all, I would like to apologise for not reaching the hospitality standard expected of me, it is certainly not what I am aiming for. I believe strongly that our guests are visiting our home and try my best to accommodate requests. I have number of roles and obviously I am not able to do all very well.
Since November 2013, I have replaced the old linen and pillows. Broken beach furniture has been removed. Beach towels are remaining to be the same colour as the shower towel however they are provided upon arrival unlike shower towels that are already placed in the room, with hope that distinguish the difference.
Regarding the WIFI, we have the same service provider as our neighbour, there is only one supplier of internet on Koh Phangan, the only different being that we do not have it in the room, our bungalows’ location are spreading over the hill allowing our guests to enjoy the tranquillity and green space which is differ from our neighbours cluster concept.
We choose to limit the access point to the reception area because we believe that our guests can enjoy our nature and ultimately being able to relax in the room better. In saying that, access to information is paramount in these days in age, so the service is complementary and available 24 hours. Choosing to limit our service trading off with tranquillity is obviously not going to make all our guests happy but we believe in what we do.
I shall pass on your comment to our staff, which they no doubt will be happy to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The rooms:
- location is excellent for the beach front bungalows
- the beach is one of the best on the island
- very dark at night, you better get a torch to find your bungalow!
- no wifi in the room!! only beach front bungalows have wifi
- carrying heavy bags 70m into the hills was not fun at all
- no fridge!
- new air-conditioning unit

The restaurant on the beach:
- reasonable prices
- the food taste plain
- right on the beach
- fresh juices taste like from a box
- the staff couldn't care less

Room Tip: If you want wifi you better pay bit extra for the beach front bungalows, otherwise even the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Kamil,

Thank you for your review. We would like to note that you post this review on the day of your arrival. Even although you have rated us poorly you are still here.

Sadly, there is a trend of complaining of facilities that a 2 start resort do not provide or have i.e. porter service, fridge and WIFI in the room, and we just cannot do a thing about it. We have a complimentary WIFI service which available at the reception area that you can use 24 hours. But other than that we suggest you check what services and facilities that you need are there or not at the hotel you wish to reserve. We will keep these services in mind if we upgrade our star rating.

As our manager explained to you in the restaurant that our mixed fruit shakes (the drink you ordered) are made to order by our kitchen staff using fresh fruit ingredients. We are for fresh and quality food and beverage here. We are aware that each of our guests have different ranges of spiciness that they like, as such must thai dishes can be prepared spicier if you wish. It would be quite easy to handle just let our serving staff know that you wish for your food to be prepare spicy rather than complain on the Internet we no one can fix it for you.

Should we not response to such a review, we are at fault for not having such services but we have never advertised or promised anything of those claims.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent balance between price and quality, 1500 B for night with AC in room. Bungalows are situated on a hill just in front off beach and you can hear waves during your sleep. Beach is really nice, white sand has a small fraction. In the night you can find that lights is not everywhere and it's recommended to use your phone for lighting. It's very good place if you want to have not crowded beach with excellent view and good quality bungalows for cheap price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Dogs wandering around the resort x4 ( owners) and they lived right next door to our little house and barked all night ( told reception but they did nothing)
Not enough beach loungers to go around.
Holes in the mosquito nets ( asked reception again but nothing done - so had to get out the first aid kit and tape up the holes!!)
Dark rooms and even darker bathrooms ( poor lighting) but could still see the mould around the shower
No fridge, the resort could not even provide a service wash. No complimentary water.
When you had a shower the whole bathroom floor flooded.
No where to sit but on the bed, seats out side on the deck but they were wooden and uncomfortable.
Worker sanding down the damaged chairs with a electric sander right next to the restaurant so noise and dust and no-one cared,
Resort rubbish just dumped behind the restaurant in full view for the resort guest to see!!
Clean up the place Thongtapan - you have such an amazing place and you are destroying it.
Rubbish even in the little stream next to the restaurant.
A thongtapan web site quoted" beautiful bathrooms" and I was there for 4 nights and still could not find. The bathroom tap was broken and I asked reception to fix please , this time they did come - they taped it back together and as soon as I turned on the tap it was broken again!The bathroom was not pretty at all - needs a total refit
No maintenance done anywhere.
One day we were having a rest on our bed and was overcome with smoke. They decided to light a big rubbish fire outside our window - another complaint to reception. 100% to them as the fire was put out.
The restaurant food was the best thing about the place and the beach
Offered a discounted taxi service to and from the pier - 800 baht there for 4 people but on the way back they charged us 1200 baht - had to pay otherwise would be still there!
Left earlier due to the conditions and no refund.
Would not recommend.
Lovely pool over the hill in the next resort , if you want a swim and nice lounger
Staff spend the day cutting the bushes with scissors when they should have been clearing up the rubbish

Room Tip: check out the resorts and rooms before you had over the cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Janine,

Thank you for your constructive review; we have actioned on those that are fact, however there some faults that are colourfully written. After our investigation and talking with relevant staff, we found:

1. There was no sign of mould but some water stains on the basin (would it be possible that you have us mixed up with another hotel you stayed at in Bangkok, which you also written regarding the mould?). This is due to the heavy lime in the water, which is sourced from the waterfall high up in the mountain. We have now sanded and repainted the wash basin. The tap in the bathroom was in fact not broken but leaking the water, hence we needed to fix it with the plumping tape in order to tight up the space.
2. You have been advised that we do have a laundry service. The service is available at 60 Baht per kilogram. However you advised our receptionist that you did not want to pay for this and instead asked for a washing machine.
3. We love dogs, and we have 3 young dogs, which live inside at night. They are recused dogs; we do the best we can so we decided to adopt. They are not the world smartest but loyal and playful. We apologise that they are not well trained at the time of your stay.
4. We have limited number of sun beds available; however there are over 40 beach chairs that are also available to you and your family.
5. At the time of your stayed, it was our low season; hence a number of maintenance works are scheduled to get us ready to welcome the guests over the special holidays. We apologised for the noise and had moved to another area to finish the work.
6. The old taxi fare was advised to you upon the early correspondence but you decided not to proceed with it at that time. At the last minute, you and your family decided that you would like to reserved our taxi after all; we advised you that we would honour the old rate on your arrival but not departure. The fare increase was not really a big surprise for you as you made it out to be. And we even suggested that should wish to find a cheaper fare, you could find them in the village. There are so many taxi cars, that it would be impossible for you to still be here.
7. You reserved rooms under a non-refundable policy then wished to depart earlier than scheduled and when asked of your reason to refund the night was, you said to us “our children are bored”. We simply refused to believe that is a sufficient grounds for a refund.
8. We also received your comment upon our festive Christmas tree that it was just too small.

To be fair, there are number of issues which we simply cannot facilitate because those are not what we have to offer i.e fridge and washing machine. As well as words that we do not say such as a beautiful bathroom but fact is the online agent site you book through stated “Bathrooms are rustic in style, with a stone basin”.

We suggest you to check these critical facilities according to your family need before deciding on your future choice of accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in Ko Phangan in November 2013 - well its a really nice place I guess - but if you for example look at the other pictures, you can see that its very dirty.
It looks very unorganized - the whole hotel, dirt or stuff everywhere...
The reception staff is very unfriendly, so I don´t really understand why. Especially if you have a question, you get a really unpolite answer. If you go to the reception - the lady shouts first at you - take your shoes of... (Fair enough, I put them off but its just the way they behave).

The room were not that clean, I think they usw dimmed light, that you can´t see the dirt so much - especially in the bathrooms.

I definetely wouldn´t choose this hotel again and I can´t recommend it at all, they are nicer and cheaper hotels around.

Room Tip: Don´t choose a room in this hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtapan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.