We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant compliments the resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Thongtapan Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“The restaurant compliments the resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thongtapan Resort was one of the best stay that I’ve had … It starts from the beautiful location but the stay is made worthwhile by the people who are running this place! Professional yet so welcoming and personal in the service…



The restaurant compliments the resort. Ines and me had best of times there…

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
66
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Situated at the quiet north end of one of the best beaches on the island - swept each morning by hand
Not so quiet and isolated that it's completely remote though
Staff were excellent and supportive and the bungalows although basic were very comfortable
There have been some criticisms in the past but it is nice to see these have been taken on board and have been addressed - whilst we were there new night lighting was installed making a big difference
There is now some assistance in getting luggage to the bungalow
On the downside we were disappointed that sometimes wet towels were not cleaned but merely hung out to dry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We absolutely loved this place and it was a great find. We intially were going to stay at Sandee Bungalows down the road but they were so hideous we walked up the beach and stumbled upon this place. The staff were absolutely excellent, really friendly and accommodating inlcuding lovely restaurant staff. The bungalows were fantastic, very romantic, cool and quiet (bit of a climb up the hill but hey ho). They are cleaned and turned daily (as long as you request it on the little sign in the window). The beach is lovely and unlike many other resorts the beach and resort areas are cleaned daily. There were some building materials at the bottom of the hill which would look better to be removed but overall the resort was extremely clean and tidy. The restaurant food was adequate so we generally went into the village to eat which was great, but certainly the breakfast was good and reasonable so we ate breakfast everyday and also used the bar quite a bit. We also loved the village nearby and had lots of nice meals out, probably one of the best places to stay on the island as most other beaches not anywhere near as nice. The north bay much quieter than the south which we liked and the north bays village is much nicer with more of a traditonal feel. Overall a great experience and thoroughtly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We really enjoyed Thongtapan Resort. Location is simply superb - nice, clean, quiet beach with few nice restaurants close by. Staff were really friendly and helpful! Clean and spacious bungalows at reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

needles found on the beach, awful rooms, they wanted 600 bvaht a night to turn air con on, rusty nails sticking out of swings, no staff try cleaning there section of the beach... a dead dog washed up and the staff expected us to carry on eating so people staying there got rid of it. food was average, reception staff were helpful and friendly tho. waiting staff overcharged me for food twice.... full moon party was epic... again and again restaraunt a must and rasta baby bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear buttersben,
We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectation. We thrive to improve but without the critical information such as why you think it is awful, we are unable to rectify anything.
Regarding needles and the dog washed up. We are unable to control what the waves bring to the shore, sadly there is more rubbish than treasure. Our staff are working continuously to keep up with the washed up. And together with other kind guests help moved the heavy remains.
Regarding additional charge of the A/C option, Koh Phangan faces unpredictable power shortage due to excess demand and we expected the worst during the New Year celebration simply because of tourists number increase radically. As a result, we put the price according to what we had to pay using A/C if the resort is running on private generator.
We apologise about the error on your food bill once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is located on a really peaceful beach on ko Phangan,
We stayed here during news years and had a really great time. The restaurant is just so relaxing to have breakfast at in the morning and all the staff are really sweet and helpful. The bungalows themselves are pretty simple but have the luxury of a soft bed which is super rare in asia.
Id recommend this place to anybody.
You must go and have a 'Handsome sandwhich' at the shop down the road, best burgers you will ever eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a fan room, it was a little chalet. No real complaints. They provide towels, shower gel, shampoo and you even get a hot shower. The bed wasn't the usual hard Thai bed. Air con would cost another 6000 BT so I don't think it's worth it in that case. Our room cost about 30 Euro per night and was about 1 minute walk to the beach.

It was run by two UK travelers when we were there, who were very decent and lovely. There aren't that many non-5 star places on Thong Nai Pan Noi so glad we found it. Their restaurant has really nice breakfasts too, right on the beach in the welcome shade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtapan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.