We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Save Saved
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thongtapan Resort
22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is located on a really peaceful beach on ko Phangan,
We stayed here during news years and had a really great time. The restaurant is just so relaxing to have breakfast at in the morning and all the staff are really sweet and helpful. The bungalows themselves are pretty simple but have the luxury of a soft bed which is super rare in asia.
Id recommend this place to anybody.
You must go and have a 'Handsome sandwhich' at the shop down the road, best burgers you will ever eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a fan room, it was a little chalet. No real complaints. They provide towels, shower gel, shampoo and you even get a hot shower. The bed wasn't the usual hard Thai bed. Air con would cost another 6000 BT so I don't think it's worth it in that case. Our room cost about 30 Euro per night and was about 1 minute walk to the beach.

It was run by two UK travelers when we were there, who were very decent and lovely. There aren't that many non-5 star places on Thong Nai Pan Noi so glad we found it. Their restaurant has really nice breakfasts too, right on the beach in the welcome shade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, very nice staf, but it is totally unsafe, specially for kids. Was there two weeks ago, my 6 years old son got super badly electrify from electric wire that were not buried, he just put his hand on it while he wanted to sit down on a little bench in the restaurant area. We spent two days in hospital! He can't write for at least a month and will need surgery in a couple of weeks. This is insane!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Owner at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Bloubloub,
We apologies once again about the accident. We are sad to hear that your son require an additional surgery, after the complete diagnose on Koh Samui before your family left here.
As advised earlier, that we are in a progress of upgrading our electrical work, we are now pleased to advise that it has begun.
We wish your son a speedy recovery.

Our sincerest apology
All Thongapan Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this lovely, peaceful budget resort by accident as none of the flaky places on Haad Thien would take bookings for lower-cost rooms. The family-owned resort features a range of bungalows, ours for 1200 baht per night (around £24). It was clean, well kept with a cute bathroom with hot water. The bungalows are located at the end of this peaceful, sandy beach which is geared towards couples and families or single travellers looking for a quieter resort. They are set slightly uphill in a beautifully presented jungle garden. The beach front boasts a cheap and cheerful restaurant (local and western food for £2-3 a main) and a fun little cocktail bar. There is also an on-site massage hut and diving school. There are only a handful of resorts on the beach, two of which are 4 or 5* - but you can also eat and drink there if you want to mix it up, for only slightly more money. The beach itself is super quiet.
The staff are really nice and helpful - front of house is a sweet English couple Darren and Deborah, and a jolly Thai-Kiwi girl whose family own it. The restaurant and bar staff are really fun and speak at least some English.
Basically we had a great time on little money. We are now staying at a different beach for even less (£12) but while decent it's not nearly as nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to stay at Koh Phangan - provided tgat you're after a calm, beautiful place and a clean, but no-frills plays.
We stayed in one of the bungalows the furthest away fromthe beach. Would imagine the experience would be even better in one of the beach-view rooms.

The restaurant is in a simply stunning setting on the most fantastic beach. Tgere is nothing much to tge food, and the service is slow and unattentive (as well as unperceptive as to whether you are in a talking-sharing-mood or not), but it is warm and heart-felt, and not pushy in an annoying way. Provided that you have a good book and a lot of time, it diesn't really matter. (If you're travelling with small kids, however, it is better to order sooner rather than later).

Would happily go back if were travelling on a somewhat restricted budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

All 4 English speaking staff were nice enough ( altho bearded kiwi dude needs taught some hospitality skills as he usually was to be found moping about the place aimlessly avoiding eye contact and generally being weird) . The whole place feels like it was designed by a blindfolded fool . please explain why the reception has been built back 100 m from the restaurant bar and therefore guests have to walk over there as that's the only place wifi is available ? If I'm having a beer at night At the bar i wouldn't mind being able to access wifi? Duh?
Barbecue heavily overpriced. Massages that are meant to last an hour last around 35 mins
Don't ask reception staff any questions about boat time tables or info on travel etc as they don't have a scooby doo what's going on outside of how to get to the airport on Saumi using only one tour company that i suspect they are in business with . bar staff were cool . food was dumbed down tourist scran . whole beach has gone to the dogs with rubbish all up and down it ( altho to there due this resort cleaned the beach daily in front , a pity the horror house hell home 5 star place next door didn't follow suit) Overpriced greedy Thais and boring wagamamma type westerners that don't even smile hello made me glad to leave altho having to pay 200 baht one way each person to the pier is just another money spinner ( free transfers guys would be appreciated when spending a fortune at your resort anyway )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Owner at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback.
We always appreciate constructive feedback, but sadly we do not consider this review to be one of them.

All our staffs take pride in their jobs assisting travellers from all over the globe in the best way they can. And no one is perfect. Though as an employer, we make sure there is a valid reason before anyone is to be address as “they need to be taught”. And we do not believe that any point in this review is one of them.

The reviewer obviously recognised, and at the same time forgot, that the beach needed to be regularly cleaned, yet our staff was commented as moping aimlessly. As a result, we are uncertain what point the reviewer is trying to make. Additionally, the photo which the review claimed was our resort was incorrect; it is public road and is not our property. We believe this photo will assist with cleaning up, should it be sent to the local council. The same point we have been raising for years.

We rate our resort as a 2 star resort, not 5. The obvious reasons are; the price of room difference and limited access to facilities i.e. WIFI access point. The resort was built well before wi-fi or Internet even existed. And our reception is positioned at the entrance of the resort so we can welcome guests arriving and this is our meeting point where our wi-fi is available 24 hours a day.

BBQ prices are displayed right by the food. If the reviewer felt that it was overpriced, then there is no obligation to have your meal here. Our menu is 95% authentic Thai food and everyone can enjoy something from it, so we are confused by your comment that the food is ‘dumbed down tourist scran’. The owners eat at the restaurant from the menu so it is not dumbed down tourist scran. If the reviewer asked, any of our dishes can be tailored to your palate i.e. more or less spicy.

Massages - there is a clock at the massage hut so everyone knows how long your massage was. If a customer was to arrive late for their appointment, then the massage time would be cut short to allow for the people who booked after to have their allocated time. Ultimately, if the reviewer felt that the massage was cut short, it would have been more dignified to either speak with the lady doing the massage or raise the issue with the staff in reception. We would have then been able to rectify the problem.

Ferries – from our point of view, we work with the most reliable company, who take into account the safety of passengers, capacity and on time policy. We apologise for not be able to assist you with other ferries, if you organised your ticket at the last minute and our supplier was fully booked.

Transfer to The pier – at 200 baht per person is the cheapest option between Thong Nai Pan and Thongsala. The advised price in most guide books for the island put the transfer at a minimum of 300 baht. Once again, there is no obligation to take the transfer should you able to find it cheaper elsewhere.
As per the westerners here who do not smile, we unfortunately do not have a control over that, may be they were not getting one in order to return the favour

In summary your review is full of complaints about our resort, but at no point whilst the reviewer was here did they raise any complaints with the staff so that they could resolve them at the time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were welcomed as old friends and left as new ones. Lovely bugalows in a quiet setting. Enough lazy chairs on the beach to enjoy a day of relaxation. Wifi not in the room but good connection in the lobby. Bring mosquito repellent at dusk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtapan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.