We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We had a hotel room during the full moon rave period. Room was very small, the balcony was shabby and overlooked a construction zone. the bathroom was ok except for the broken, patched up frame of the window. Wardrobe very loud and creaky. Hot water stopped working 30seconds after i started my first shower and didn't go again for the next 5 days. room service didn't bother servicing our room one day and they didn't empty the toilet paper waste basket on another day. Pretty much every night we were woken up by the hotel guests banging drunkenly on doors and vomiting and swearing. The middle pool is nice, surrrounded by frangipani trees but the beachside pool and restaurant is a disgrace. The pool was so dirty and murky you couldn't see the bottom at all. The deck chairs are incredibly faded and cracked. The restaurant was the worst service i've had in my life!!! no smile, no hello, they really didn't like the customers at all. they'd walk off in the middle of taking your order, that's even if they'd acknowledge you at all. i felt really silly being the only one standing at the counter waiting to order and the 2 staff just kept on talking to themselves and after a while reluctantly decided to see what I wanted.. When they got your order wrong or just forgot it completely (which was often) there was no sorry, just a roll of the eyes and walk off. The food was horrible and took so long to come out. one day we were told the food must be eaten inside the restaurant, not outside by the pool. But everyone else was allowed to eat outside...? I'm a patient person but i was getting ready to start yelling at the restaurant staff. It was more like a jail house kitchen than an overpriced resort. on the upside, the reception staff were lovely and helpful and spoke very good english. on the whole Phangan buri left a very bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We wanted to take a moment to tell you that we were most distressed to learn of your unfortunate incident while a guest at our Hotel. We also would like to add our apologies for you indicate occurred at the Best Western Phanganburi Resort. We have brought this to the attention of all head departments and have been assured that this will not happen again.

We were on renovation at that time and this cause our property to the point of below standard, however, we came across from local brand to BEST WESTERN family and we have improved in term of products as well as services to make sure that we reach the level of international standard.


We realize that this letter will not compensate you for your disappointment or distress over your staying, but we sincerely hope that you will accept it as a reasonable explanation of our position.

We appreciate your patronage and hope this incident will not keep you from returning to the Best Western Phanganburi Resort the next time you are in Koh Phangan. We can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.


Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    128
    51
    17
    31
See reviews for
32
135
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights during the Full Moon. We booked via the Internet before we arrived and paid in full. They were offering a special rate on the net. But when we arrived we realised they had over charged us by 500 thb per night. They assured us they would refund the money to our cc in 3 weeks! Also do not be fooled by the photo's on their site, I can assure you they have all been photo shopped!

We stayed in a bungalow which was cleaned every day. It was a large, clean, quiet room. Only problem was a rancid smell coming up from the drain in the shower when the fan was on in the bathroom. Best keeping the door closed!

Friendly staff with good security. Breakfast wasn't great, plenty of flies swarming the buffet. 10 min walk into town. Pool's were very nice.

I'd say probably best of a bad bunch in Koh Phangnan but what more do you want when attending the Full Moon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were not very clean, beds had cigarette burns, bathrooms had no ventilation. Rooms were not cleaned daily. Location is ok, about 10 minute walk to town centre. However, very scary walk at night from hotel to town centre! Our room was near the pool which always had music pumping from the early morning so no sleep in! Would not stay here again as there are other better places in Koh Phangan. Would recommend for younger crowd.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly noted that during full moon party, it is always crowded and noisy, however, full moon party is 30 must things to see and do.

In addition, we wanted to take a moment to tell you that we were most distressed to learn of your unfortunate incident while a guest at our Hotel. We also would like to add our apologies for you indicate occurred at the Best Western Phanganburi Resort. We have brought this to the attention of all head departments and have been assured that this will not happen again.

We were on renovation at that time and this cause our property to the point of below standard, however, we came across from local brand to BEST WESTERN family and we have improved in term of products as well as services to make sure that we reach the level of international standard.


We realize that this letter will not compensate you for your disappointment or distress over your staying, but we sincerely hope that you will accept it as a reasonable explanation of our position.

We appreciate your patronage and hope this incident will not keep you from returning to the Best Western Phanganburi Resort the next time you are in Koh Phangan. We can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Our first contact was concerning - I had booked online and when we arrived they had no copy of our reservation. Fortunately we hadn't paid anything and they had spare rooms. They upgraded us to a bungalow at no extra cost. Bungalow was simple but sufficient. Instant hot water system in shower meant you never ran out of water. Our room didn't have a safe or wardrobe but fridge, aircon, tv, kettle, tea, coffee etc were all fine. Bottled water is provided free each day. The pool on the beach is beautiful and well kept. The beach was clean. The dining area is OK - but breakfast could be hot or cold depending when you arrived. Our biggest complaint was the CATS. They were all around the dining area, under you legs when you ate, and jumping on your table if you left food there. Yuk. Sorry but we are not cat people. Apart from that everything was good. Staff were polite and helpful although there was no poolside 'service'. You had to go and order everything and clean up your own glasses etc. The 5 min walk over to the other side of the island is and easy walk and you can also walk in to town along the beach. Wifi did not reach our cottage but you could access in reception area. Quite expensive. Plenty of free wifi in town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Everything wrong with this place. The staff are horrible especially the Manager. The bed was infested by ants the moment we laid down. There were hundreds all over the bed and crumbs as well so no wonder they stayed around. The manager came down and handed us a can of spray, we were mortified. the room was unclean and we stayed for approx 10 min max and ran as fast as we could, even our sister had to be dragged wet from the pool to leave. The manager left our money at the reception and treated us with no respect and then we were left to fend for ourselves as the hotel is isolated and not near the main beach. Much cleaner to sleep on the beach than this awful infested hole. I have never wrote a review before this and thought that this was much needed as this was the worst hotel experience and i have travelled the world.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We wanted to take a moment to tell you that we were most distressed to learn of your unfortunate incident while a guest at our Hotel. We also would like to add our apologies for you indicate occurred at the Best Western Phanganburi Resort. We have brought this to the attention of all head departments and have been assured that this will not happen again.

We were on renovation at that time and this cause our property to the point of below standard, however, we came across from local brand to BEST WESTERN family and we have improved in term of products as well as services to make sure that we reach the level of international standard.


We realize that this letter will not compensate you for your disappointment or distress over your staying, but we sincerely hope that you will accept it as a reasonable explanation of our position.

We appreciate your patronage and hope this incident will not keep you from returning to the Best Western Phanganburi Resort the next time you are in Koh Phangan. We can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Address: 120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort is located on the Island of Koh Phangan, Thailand. You will find our Phangan Beach Resort in Haad Rin, where an almost non-stop activity has become one of the world’s most exciting destinations.Surrounded by the unspoiled nature, the resort is set on its own beach at the south of the island. Haad Rin overlooks the Island of Koh Samui and has brilliant sunset scenery. Explore and enjoy the experience of spending the entire holiday with on-shore recreations without leaving the resort.The adventure never ends with just a short walk to the colorful shopping, the entertainment areas and the legendary night life of Haad Rin Nok City.Besides its own long beach front, other amenities include two swimming pools, outdoor poolbar, on beachfront restaurant, spa with traditional Thai massage, banquet room, tour desk, currency exchange, minimart and a lot more.All Rooms provideLCD TV with local and international channels and remote controlCoffee/tea making facilitiesAir conditioning with remote controlComplimentary water (1 bottle/day/person)Safety box, Refrigerator, Telephone, Wardrobe, Hairdryer, Umbrella, Slippers, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Working desk, Full length view mirror ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phanganburi Hotel Koh Phangan
Phanganburi Hotel Ko Phangan
Phanganburi Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.