We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, pool and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good service, pool and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a bungalow next to the pool. Room was clean as was the rest of the hotel and amenities. Friendly and helpful staff I would happily stay here again. Location is close enough, 5-10min walk, to the main area and also far enough enough away to relax if you want a break from the usual town buzz.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    113
    47
    16
    29
See reviews for
32
117
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. First impression on arrival is no AC in the lobby. We changed to several rooms because the air conditioning did not work properly and we had a bathroom which had a lot of mold and smelled. The hotel management was not very accommodating, leaving us no recourse but to change hotels. The property is not as described on various web sites, It is old and run down in need of a lot of maintenance even the linens had stains and holes on them and towels were frayed. This hotel is not up to Best Western standards that I would expect. Would never recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Pleasure of having you and your family at Best Western Phanganburi and thank you for taking time in commenting at Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that you left the hotel disappointed. As observed, the usual practice of the hotels here in Koh Phangan is that we don’t usually turn on air conditioner at the Lobby Area to feel the heat and the impulse to plunge at the pool. As we remember, we showed you several rooms so as you can choose which room suits you the most – this is our remedy. Upon showing you those rooms, we thought it would please you and somehow would be delighted. We are very sorry for the apprehension and if our effort did not meet your expectations. We are on the process of improving our facilities. Rest assured that the personnel are aware of their actions.

Again, thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you will give us the chance of serving you in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,



Best Western Phanganburi Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

An excellent hotel 5-10 minute walk from Sunrise beach where you can do water sports, go on tours, and party if you like. However, the hotel is very tranquil and relaxing. It's impossible to get tired lounging around the seaside pool with a fresh coconut or a cocktail. The staff was excellent, and very helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely go stay here if I went back to Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here 3 nights one of which was the full moon party. We liked the location as it was easy walking distance to haad rin beach but far enough not to be affected by the noise. On the day of the full moon party the hotel puts a dj on to get everyone ready for the night which was good. There were more couples here than we expected and a couple of families which I wouldnt recommend. Food from the pool bar was very nice and good value. The free breakfast was okay although not that much choice. Our room was quite small but suited us just fine! Reception were very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We planned to stay here for three nights during our Thailand round trip. We picked the Best Western as we assumed it would match the high level of service we have come to expect from the brand. Sadly not, this place is an absolute disgrace and Best Western should be ashamed of themselves. My first morning here consisted of going to breakfast at the bar down by the pool. The outlook at breakfast was lovely with a picturesque view of the beach. The food was cheap however rubbish. I returned to my room which was small and cramped to be welcomed by the overwhelming smell of sewage emanating from the bathroom. Reception where good enough to allow us to change rooms but unfortunately the room we moved to adopted a similar smell over time.The pool by the beach was always busy and the pool near reception was overhung by trees and full of leaves and did not look very clean. There was also a full ashtray left on one of the sunloungers for the duration of our stay, which highlights the poor cleanliness. When I returned to the room after the full moon party I had to fight a cockroach that had made up camp in my room, which made for a poor nights sleep as the thought of cockroaches running around the floor meant I slept with one eye open. The following day I requested a towel for the pool and beach and was handed a towel that looked almost antique. It was stained, thread bare and was more of a face towel though I would not suggest putting it near your face. After two nights here I could no longer grin and bear it and I spent the best part of my second day there looking for alternative accommodation in haad rin. The saving grace is the pleasant staff but the walkie talkies they carry around on full blast can be annoying early in the morning and when you wish to relax by the pool. In conclusion this hotel is dirty and both rooms we stayed in had ripped bed sheets and squashed insects on the walls. Please take heed of my review and do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Phanganburi Resort as your holiday destination.

We apologize for not meeting your expectation. The management is putting all effort in bettering the breakfast menu for the satisfaction of guests and fixing all possible room problems to make your stay a pleasant one. All the towels and beddings are already been changed and we even re-painted the walls which we usually do every 6 months and 1 year.

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and for reminding us to look after some points which are very vital to our hotel in delivering outmost service.

Despite of your disappointment, we are hoping that you will give us another chance of serving you again. The whole staff would be very please on welcoming you again.

Once again, our apologies.

Thank you very much.


Regards,



Best Western Phanganburi Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at full moon time - August 2013.
We were 3 friends, got a tiny room with 2 beds and one extra bed .I saw other rooms and they looked better to be honest so probably your stay will be better if youll get better rooms. choosing this hotel will be probably the best for couples, altough i saw other 3 friends group that had nicer rooms then we had.
the hotel is ok, not so far from the center 10 min walking but i recommend u to get a closer hotel, we didn't like the walking. (in the season it's probably even harder beacuse of the hot weather).
the breakfast was terrible. very poor variety , didn't woke up for her.
The pool is nice, u have a sea view if u swim- really relaxing, but it was always full, not enough seats, and beach towls are TINY!
There is another pool near the reception, stuck in the middle of the hotel-didn't like it.
The beach of the hotel really not nice. rocky stones insted of sand and dirty.
when we asked to change a room the ppl at recaption wasnt so nice.
In the full moon night they charged extra money- 1500 bath per room and they give u nothing return.( in other hotel they pay more but get free dinner or coocktails or something return).
They were ants in the shower, no curtain, and my sheeds were torn. the non-speaking english crew understand i need to replace them only after 2 days..
But to say a good word- we needed toilet paper and someone come at 3 am and gave us.
I wouldnt reccomend about the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: if u r staying here take the cottage sea side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for spending time at Best Western Phanganburi and taking time in sharing your views on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the discomfort you experienced while staying on our resort. We would just like to remind you that the specifications and amenities of our hotel rooms are written on our web site. We have five (5) room types. Different types and categories would mean different prices also.

We already made alterations on our breakfast menu, we do hope that you will be able to visit us again and tell the difference.

On Full moon period, we only charge 1,000 Baht and it is applicable to all hotels in Koh Phangan. Our staff never collected more than 1,000 Baht. But if we did, please be kind enough to send us their names and if not, please describe the person.

One again, we apologize and hope of welcoming you in the near future.

Thank you.


Regards,



Best Western Phanganburi Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms are very small! We've reserved a "cottage" for a family with 3 small kids. We got a room so small we had to move to 2 regular rooms. There was no space for our luggage!!! not to mention a baby crib... Worst thing was that the agency we booked it from tried to deny us our money back. At least the hotel management cleared that and we were "only" fined one night (by the agency, not the hotel.

Room Tip: only for couples who wish to enjoy the full moon party and still sleep at night. Avoid the "Cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Pleasure of having you and your family at Best Western Phanganburi and thank you for taking time in commenting at Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that you left the hotel disappointed. We would like to inform you that there is a room specification written on our website. As much as we would like to transfer you and your family to our Corner Suit, this is to no avail. We only have 4 Corner Suits and the rooms were all taken. As a result, we can only give you two (2) regular rooms. But the good thing is that, the management is on the process of improving our facilities.

We apologize once again and we hope to see you and your family again.

Thank you.

Regards,



Best Western Phanganburi Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Address: 120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort is located on the Island of Koh Phangan, Thailand. You will find our Phangan Beach Resort in Haad Rin, where an almost non-stop activity has become one of the world’s most exciting destinations.Surrounded by the unspoiled nature, the resort is set on its own beach at the south of the island. Haad Rin overlooks the Island of Koh Samui and has brilliant sunset scenery. Explore and enjoy the experience of spending the entire holiday with on-shore recreations without leaving the resort.The adventure never ends with just a short walk to the colorful shopping, the entertainment areas and the legendary night life of Haad Rin Nok City.Besides its own long beach front, other amenities include two swimming pools, outdoor poolbar, on beachfront restaurant, spa with traditional Thai massage, banquet room, tour desk, currency exchange, minimart and a lot more.All Rooms provideLCD TV with local and international channels and remote controlCoffee/tea making facilitiesAir conditioning with remote controlComplimentary water (1 bottle/day/person)Safety box, Refrigerator, Telephone, Wardrobe, Hairdryer, Umbrella, Slippers, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Working desk, Full length view mirror ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phanganburi Hotel Koh Phangan
Phanganburi Hotel Ko Phangan
Phanganburi Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.