We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the quiet side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the quiet side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel of one night. the hotel upgrated us to the roons with the beach view. The room was great, very big and nice. The dissapointning thing was the shower. There was Wifi connection availeble at the rooms big plus!
The swimming pool was nice,on the beach and the breakfast was also good
but if you want to be at the party area, this is not teh hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for staying at the BestWestern Phanganburi resort and appreciating our services.i wish you informed us about this problem at the Resort and you would be taken care of momentarily . I apologise for the inconvenience caused during you stay here .
Best regards
RM
BestWestern Phanganburi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    103
    45
    16
    29
See reviews for
31
114
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A group of 6 stayed here for three night's, we were suppose to have a transfer pick us up from the dock and drop us off at the hotel. When we arrived there was no one there, we rang the hotel and the gentlemen that answered the phone could not speak english and kept putting us on hold. Eventually a lady answered the phone quite abrubtly and screamed down the phone "You get your own way to hotel!" and hung up. We jumped in a tuk tuk and made our way to the hotel fuming! when we got there the same gentlemen who could not speak english was at the desk i showed him my paperwork with the transfer and he just said "oh sorry" it took a good 20 minutes to check in as he was struggling with all the passports and correct paperwork.
When we got to our rooms they were well presented and just what we wanted. Unfortunatley we were only blessed with face washers and hand towels on our first night and then only supplied one towel each after that. The staff at the restaurant were always so friendly and happy to help us in anyway possible, Ducky was also excellent at suggesting cocktails and telling us about the Island, the front desk staff did not want to reccommend restaurants or even tell us the price of a tuk tuk around the island! we were told to just stand on the street and ask!
Prices are excellent compared to other resorts. Just a shame with the rude service at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying at the BestWestern Phanganburi Resort.i have checked and taken a total report on what happened at your arrival. I would like to apologise for any trouble that you had to face here and for future reference I would like to enlightened that there are two places not one where the boats from samui and other islands come to.I believe due to the communication gap or misunderstanding you had to face that problem.
Please come and stay with us again and we will make sure everything works out fine with your trip.
Thank you
RM
BW Phanganburi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We made arrangements to run a tab after 5 days of a 7 day reserved stay we got a call at 11am and were informed we needed to come to reception to settle our tab upon arrival at front desk we were informed that they would charge us a 20% service fee for using credit cards (they wanted cash) we got cash for them a very nice and helpful bar manager made enquiries on our behalf and the administration staff informed us our bill was not paid there seems to be some corruption going on here this was all finally resolved but we were not feeling very safe so checked out early at our own expense this hotel does not follow usual procedures of requesting credit card and passport info beware

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I have 75 rooms occupancy at the moment and 80 percent of my guests are using credit cards but sadly it's only these lovely ladies seem to be having a problem and due to communication gap they are making a mountain out of a mole. I suggest all readers to please read our trip advisors carefully and see it for yourself , we will not have a single complaint about credit cards..Being the management here I could only invite them back and request them to write everything honestly . Thank you
RM Bestwestern Phanganburi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the Best Western with a group friends for 7 days over the September fullmoon period. We found the staff and service to be great and the food to be exceptional. Be sure to pay "DUCK MAN" a visit down at the bar. His knowledge of the island and places to go definitely made our trip a breeze. Most importantly try his buckets as we rated them as the best on the island... Only 5 minutes walk to Haad rin beach where the fullmoon takes place, Best Western is a resort I can recommend and would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for staying with and telling people the truth about our Resort and suggesting them to come and live in BW phanganburi. These islands and beautiful places like Phanganburi always await positive and fun loving people like you.. Please come again and have a good life.
Thank you
RM
Bestwestern Phanganburi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the hotel during our honeymoon vacation in Thailand. We booked the deluxe room based on the pictures in the internet, but discovered that it was a very basic room, the bed was not so comfortable, and the bathroom was very small. The shower is next to the toilet and the water are dropping on the toilet.
on the next morning we upgraded to the cottage, and payed extra for each night - i know that the hotel is initiated to receive its money, but the occupancy at that point was 20% and the staff could show some good will and not to charge us. besides that, the cottage was clean and nice.
There are 2 pools in the hotel, which are OK. the beach of the hotel, on the other hand, is dirty and unwelcoming. if you want to find a nice beach you need to walk 10 minutes to the main Haad Rin area.
in conclusion: my review is based on the fact that there was a mismatch between our expectations and the reality. The hotel is suitable for mostly young people, who wish to be close to the party area, but still enjoy some peace and quiet. if you seek for a good hotel with a beautiful beach, there are much better places in the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident Manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at theBW Phanganburi . In future if you ever plan a honeymoon vacation please inform the resort not the agent . We know the best what to provide you with . You stayed at our delux villas but we have bigger and better for your purpose, depending on your budget ,I believe if you had informed the Resort in advance you would get proper guidance and attention . Please come again.
Thank you
RM
BestWestern Phanganburi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This resort is amazing the people food, location and MR DUCK made my holiday to thailand. Right from when we walked into reception to our check out was like being in paradise. Mr Duck entertained and gave us all the advice we needed. The room is so clean, large and bathroom is the best we have had. A special thanks to all the team with the delecious buffet breakfast and sensational menu tat, muin, phew, mala, joey and MR DUCK on the bar. Thank you for making our holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for staying with us and letting people know the reality of our Resort. Thank you for mentioning everyone's name , our whole management will wait for our lovely guests like yourself from the bottom of our hearts.
Thank you
RM
BestWestern Phanganburi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Don't even think to stay at this hotel.The stuff is terrible. VERY poor service,worst reception ever.Rood and unprofessional receptionists really ruin the overall impression.
Rooms are also not good enough (and very small we couldn't even unpack the suitcase because the closet is very small too), so is the breakfast and the pool.
I don't recommend at all!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST-WESTERN-Phangan, Resident manager at BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
On the behalf of the management I apologise if any inconvenience was caused to you but sadly if you read the trip advisor before and after yours they are quite different than yours .. Please come stay again I shall personally make sure things run fine for you.
Thank you
RM
BestWestern Phanganburi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort

Address: 120/1 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort is located on the Island of Koh Phangan, Thailand. You will find our Phangan Beach Resort in Haad Rin, where an almost non-stop activity has become one of the world’s most exciting destinations.Surrounded by the unspoiled nature, the resort is set on its own beach at the south of the island. Haad Rin overlooks the Island of Koh Samui and has brilliant sunset scenery. Explore and enjoy the experience of spending the entire holiday with on-shore recreations without leaving the resort.The adventure never ends with just a short walk to the colorful shopping, the entertainment areas and the legendary night life of Haad Rin Nok City.Besides its own long beach front, other amenities include two swimming pools, outdoor poolbar, on beachfront restaurant, spa with traditional Thai massage, banquet room, tour desk, currency exchange, minimart and a lot more.All Rooms provideLCD TV with local and international channels and remote controlCoffee/tea making facilitiesAir conditioning with remote controlComplimentary water (1 bottle/day/person)Safety box, Refrigerator, Telephone, Wardrobe, Hairdryer, Umbrella, Slippers, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Working desk, Full length view mirror ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phanganburi Hotel Koh Phangan
Phanganburi Hotel Ko Phangan
Phanganburi Resort Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phanganburi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.