We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leela Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leela Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Leela Beach Bungalows
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ko Phangan T375094, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

nice hotel stayed with my family the children enjoyed the stay the bunglowas are nice and confortable but i think it could have been priced better the stay ws a comfortable experience.the location was great loved the beach

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    13
    9
    21
See reviews for
3
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked an aircon bungalow for 4 nights over fullmoon party. We checked in and checked out 30 minutes later after we found a room in another resort. The surrounding is dirty and there are cables coming out from the bottom everywhere. Our bungalow was full of holes and acutally there were workes on the roof of our bungalow - I think they tried to repair the broken roof by putting corrugated metal on the top. We paid 1300 Baht per night for this Bungalow (low season) which is a lot too much! There is a resort next to Leela Beach Bungalows (called Sarikantang) with bungalows for only 100 Baht more (1400 Baht per night - low season) and if you compare what they offer and what Leela Beach Bungalows offers it is just ridiculous.
At Leela Beach Bungalow you get for 1300 BHT per night: old Bungalow with aircon, very old furniture, dirty surrounding, no Wifi, no Breakfast included, holes in your Bungalow (roof and walls) unfriendly staff!
At Sarikantang you get for 1400 BHT per night: Very friendly - english speaking - staff, a modern and nice Bungalow with fridge and TV, Wifi, very good breakfast, very good hotel infrastructure (like spa, massage, two pools, nice restaurant), free shuttle to haad rin beach!
If you compare these services, Leela Beach Bungalow is absolutely not worth the money - an andequate price would be around 600 BHT per night but not 1300!
I would not recommend it - you get much better bungalows / rooms for this money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The beach is ideal. These bungalows are disgusting. Do not book ahead of time when visiting thailand everything is negotiable with many choices. We paid $35 for a fan beachfront room. Which in thai standards is a small fortune. The very nice hotel next door was far nicer for $10 more a night. Avoid total rip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely location near the Cocohuts hotel resort. Leela's bungerlows are on the beach which is ideal. However it seems like they were built in the '70's and haven't been refurbished since. I'm sure they're cleaned regularly. We shared our 'bathroom' (a 70's toilet & broken shower) with a giant cockroach who could easily wander in through the holes in the wall.
Saying that we slept ok and it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is pretty good, I generally like to stay in 4-5 star properties and this wasn't bad.

It has no hot water, who cares you're in Thailand and have the beach!

The food is pretty good!
Staff are good and the Bungalows are comfortable.

They have a range of canines that protect the property and are safe and friendly.

The view is good and overall I agree this is value for money and would be back

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

dont expect a 5 star booking this place, I wont give them 1 start; however, is not about the starts is about the people staying in this place.
I had a great time, I felt safe.
the room was clean when I checked in, I got my own padlock, so the cleaning crew didnt have access to clean every day (I booked for 3 nites)
My bungalow was 30 feet from the water, the view was amazing. and very quiet.
To go to town was a 10-15 walk. coming back from town...bring a flash light with you if late at nite.
I recommend if you go, get there early when still light outside; cause to find it, it took me 2 hrs..and it's not on the road, its literally on the beach. First you go thru a resort, onto the beach and the walk about 200 meters to find it... Sweet!!!

Room Tip: bring your own padlock. and take a room close to the "restaurant"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I love this Place and have not found anywhere in the world that matches this setting. Great beach and not to far to walk in to the party. I just love it here and will always go back every time I'm allowed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leela Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leela Beach Bungalows

Address: Ko Phangan T375094, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leela Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Leela Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leela Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan
Leela Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leela Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.