We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit busy, but some nice views - worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Nang Yuan

Koh Nang Yuan
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit Koh Nang Yuan like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Koh Nang Yuan and Koh Tao Snorkeling Tour from...
Ranked #19 of 57 things to do in Ko Phangan
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A bit busy, but some nice views - worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took a longtail boat from the beach - there are plenty of them down there and you can just walk down and find one, you do not have to join a tour or pre-arrange a boat.

The island is fairly small and there is a sandbar that connects the two bigger parts of the island together. There is a viewpoint on the smaller island that is a bit of a climb, but the view is spectacular and worth the climb up the stairs. The beach is mostly crushed up coral from the reef that is there so it is not silky-smooth sand, but it is ok if you put down a towel or you can rent beach chairs there as well.

There is a restaurant and a bar there so food is available. You are not allowed to bring plastic bottles or cans onto the island.

We went for the afternoon, and it was quite nice to relax a bit, and take the climb to the viewpoint. There is some snorkeling off the beach, and we were able to see quite a few fish without going very far out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    111
    43
    34
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overcrowded and charges for everything but it is a beautiful place to take amazing photos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It's easier to list pros and cons (we did a snorkeling tour here )
PROS
-pretty island with gorgeous views
-great spots to take amazing photos
-lots of little fish and some cool snorkeling views but nothing spectacular
-crystal clear water on one side (better than I've ever seen in the world )
-tour ppl were great and informative

CONS
-charges for everything (100baht entry , 50baht shower , 100 baht sunchair with umbrella, drinks are triple normal prices)
- filthy toilets
- buffet lunch was the worst meal we have had in Thailand, really disgusting and plain feral
-the stupid plastic water bottle rule (being 5months pregnant and in 35degree heat I NEED water) I prepacked 2L for myself on the trip only to be informed on the boat I had to throw it in the bin because plastic bottles are prohibited. Ok fair enough I get it but then only offering one glass of water during bad buffet time and then having to pay for any other water I wanted is an outrage. Offering unfiltered water is also a no no. And just so the people on the island are aware- I saw lots of rubbish on this island anyway and I offered to take my bottles back with me but still no.
- sharp coral on one side (a few ppl cut their feet)
- way too crowded about 1000 ppl on the smallest island at any one time.
- you can't enjoy the beauty of this little gem due to the overcrowding, a real shame.
- instead of banning plastic they should limit crowds of ppl at any one time. It seems this beautiful place is being exploited rather than appreciated or enjoyed by tourists. A real shame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went to the island as part of our tour on longtail boat from our resort, it is very beautiful and as visitors you are restricted to certain areas of the island (to be expected), however as all tours stop here at what seems like the same time you do feel a little like cattle herded toward the beach. The beach is very beautiful , very rocky when trying to get into water and watch out for the sea urchins - however if you are a diver/snorkeller then it is worth it as the water is so clear.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Watch the leaky long tails...BOAT CAPSIZED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

21 May, approx 4-15pm local time our long tail with 15 people capsized about 800 meters off shore en route to Koh Tao from Nang Yuan. All 15 people were picked up by the Police Boat. The sea was rough, a strong wind change having passed through about an hour previously. There were 6 scuba tanks on the boat as well as the passengers and given the rough and choppy sea conditions at the time the boat may have been overloaded. There was ONE life jacket available. Fortunately a non-swimmer had the good sense to put on the life jacket en route and prior to the capsizing!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great half-day trip from Ko Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went here on a half-day trip from Ko Samui, booked through one of the local tourist huts on the street. I don't remember any of the names of the tours, the agency I used, or anything else but it is a very popular destination.

I did approximately zero research in advance, and that seemed to be completely fine.

The boat ride from Ko Samui (I forgot the name of the pier that the boat departed from) took more than an hour if I remember. The boat held about 30 people and it was full.

The beach itself is small, but nice. It has that "middle of nowhere" feel to it, except for the fact that the beach is rather crowded due to the size of the island and the amount of space available. If you are looking for that absolutely secluded beach vibe, this is DEFINITELY not it. However, if you are looking to do some snorkeling, drink beer, and lay around for a while, this is a very good option. The bar service is a little slow on most things, but that's OK.

I would recommend this place if you are on Ko Samui for more than 2 days.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Nang Yuan also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Koh Nang Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Nang Yuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.