We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hanging out in my hammock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach to your Saves list
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hanging out in my hammock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

You soon forget about creature comforts like luxury bedding, toilet that work and you slip into a state of mind where you dont really care about anything. you can see and hear the ocean from your very little hut and you roll around in the calm waters wondering what little nothing you will do next. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    58
    24
    16
    10
See reviews for
19
88
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our travels for 4 nights and really enjoyed it here. It is really cozy, comfortable spacious and well furnished bedroom even though the shower is not hot, it was still very refreshing, they boast a beautiful bit of beach right at the end with rocks over to the right that my Boyfriend and I climbed one afternoon!

Aside from the food not being cheap for travellers at any of the hotels along Thong Nai Pan Yai beach it would still be good value for holiday goers. We actually went into the town quite a bit to eat as there is tons of lovely cheap and authentic thai food restaurants along the road.

The only issue we had is, the receptionist told us that the room was 600 baht per night, but upon looking on the website a few nights in this was in fact high season price and it had gone down to 500 baht per night. Upon showing her the website, she let us pay 500 no problem but just a tip to double check what they actually charge you per night if you are watching the pennies :)

Also, a very chilled out relaxed beach with beautifully comfortable and welcoming bars.

I would say one of the nicest and fairly priced, if not THE nicest bungalows on Thong Nai Pan Yai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed with two kids aged one and two at the Baan Panbori for almost two weeks. The Thai house style bungalow is a big room with a stone tieled floor, we had one king size bed with mosqito net and a small couch or extrabed. Everyone slept in one bed as we could push it against the wall to provide the babies from falling out. The bathroom is spacious and well sealed so we barly ever saw a mosquito in there. Same was for the room, nets in front of windows save you from insects. You have a vent and a aircon and a mosqiutonet so all options to choose how you like to sleep. There is a very big balcony well shaded to spend burn time ours outside but safe from sun.
Bedsheets and towls where almost change daily, room was clean though wet cleaning could have been done more often.

The restaurant is up on a kind of a balcony so if you have crawling kids the stairs might become an issue if kids want to go there over and over again. The restaurant provides high chairs (3) and it is possible to get only boild vegetables. The staff is very friendly and takes it easy with the kids mess.
Next door to the restaurant is a mini mini mini mart which does provide diapers and boxed milk 250ml . The sea water is generally veryy shallow and almost disapears on low tied.. thats when a pool would com in handy.
Baan Panboori is very quiet I never heard the restaurant or bar at night anyways they seem to close arround 10pm . If you stay on the beachview bungalows that might be different.

I would recomend that place for famelies with small kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed here for 3 nights. The complex is beautiful, right on the most gorgeous beach. We stayed in a hut with fan, which was basic bit for the short while your in there it suited us just fine. The bathroom is just concreate with a slightly open roof so feels a bit rustic.

The food in the hotel and neighbouring beach reaturants had lovely food, all of which is expensive compared to the main land or more tourist areas on any of the islands. For example a large bottle of water usually costs 14 baht, its costs 20 here, even in seven 11. So saying this hotel is expensive for food is not correct it is on par with all the other resorts.
You can look around to keep prices down for example a western meal might be slightly cheaper in another resturant but then if your partner was thai food it might be more expensive than others. You either eat seperatly or pay the pennies etc. Really its not enough to break the bank.
Also great beach bbqs!

If your coming looking for nightlife then think again theres nothing within walking distance and all beach front resturants close 10.30 lights off!

The wifi was playing up a little while we were there but everywhere has it so just walk along the beach and use theres.

Although we had a relaxing and nice stay here there are a few picky things that if were different would make the stay so much better. one being the light in the huts were poor, we had 3 lights on but there not powerful so its hard to see. Also our light bulb went in the bathroom and at night its pitch black, we asked for it to be changed but didnt and speaking to a lady that had been there a week, asked on her first day for a new bulb and never got one.
So going to the toilet at night u needed your torch :(
In the evening and night in the main bar (which is the only place to go other than the beach or ur room) there were loads of mosquitos and being mainly tourists visiting it would be good to have some mosquito coils or candels around the communal area. even with repellent they still bit - just makes it uncomfortable and irritating.
The only other thing is once you arrive theres no tourist offices or taxis to haul down so you are pretty much stuck. The hotel offer a taxi service to thong sala for 250 baht each. We were going to baan tie which is on route to thong sala. When booking the guy said we could be dropped off at our next hotel (like i say on route, one stop not detour) but once getting in the mini bus and picking up others we were dumped at the beginning of bann tie outside seven 11 and told to get a cab to hotel as he didnt know where it was. so we have just paid him 500 baht to go to thong sala when we werent that far and then another 200 baht to get to our hotel which the minivan drove past anyway. The hotel could have just made it a more personal experience as there getting paid anyway and you are left with no other option. really quite frustrating.

One last thing it would be a nice touch for people staying at baan panburi got like 10% of drinks and food there, not only to keep the cost down for us but also from a business point of view we would have been more likely to have stayed there than give our business to other resturants.

other than the things they could improve on we had a good stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a great little resort. Lovely gardens and some cute touches with hanging embroidered panels on the trees and deck chairs. Its great value for money, clean and well looked after. We stayed in fan bungalow and that was just fine. Nets over the bed are always welcome although we didn't even use ours as the place also gave us some mosquito coils. I agree the restaurant is about 20 - 30 baht more expensive but the accommodation is so fare that I felt they had to make some money somewhere. Lets be honest its 1$ extra a meal. Not exactly a robbery.
Beach is great, relaxed sandy and with lots of other bar and dinner options. Its very chill here so don't expect any buckets, fire shows etc. Like!

Room Tip: We stayed in fan bungalow 17 which was a little close to the early morning bustle of the kitchen so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

One of the last places where you have a nice bungalow for 600 baht. Good value, very nice spot, right on the beach and friendly staff! the only downsite: the restaurant is heavily overpriced. But you'll have options enough on the beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sweet little place on a wonderful uncrowded beach. Very low key and cheap. Would recommend.
Restaurant not so good, but the beach cottages are great. Snorkling, diving and fishing operators 100meters away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.