We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern minimalist design, perfect for family with older children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan to your Saves list
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern minimalist design, perfect for family with older children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We are a family with two boys aged 10 and 12. Stayed in the Pool Villa. Two huge bedrooms, master suite with lounge leading onto pool. Loved our stay. Boys especially enjoyed the free kayaks available for guests to use. Lovely pool and bar right on beach, beach rather shallow for swimming but beautiful for watching sunsets with a cocktail. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Close enough to Full Moon Beach to walk yet far enough for peace and quiet when needed. Beautiful individual contemporary design of hotel sets The Coast apart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
The Donaldson Family

It is really gratifying knowing how family friendly we are. When we were opening the resort we never imagined that we would attract families due to our style and location. However families regularly walk through our door and have similar responses to yourselves. Peoples perceptions of Phangan and Haad-Rin are changing as people realize that outside of Full Moon Party period this island and town is one of the most relaxing and commercially untouched locations in Thailand. Its great to see and great to know that our little island is finally getting the reputation it deserves.

Even greater that you got to enjoy this experience with us :)

Warmest Regards

Adam and the people of Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    94
    35
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
235
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

A modern style hotel in the sunset hadrin beach. the beach nearby the hotel is uninviting for getting in.in the second floor rooms you can hear everything from the other rooms. we smell cigaretes from the first floor every evening. not good value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: not to take the second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Ofira

While we are of course regretful and disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your time here but we are thankful for your comments.

After reading your review we have tested the transfer of sound between the second floor rooms and discovered that if neighbors are being noisy then this can be heard to a level that may be disturbing for some Guests. We will therefore this October undertake some maintenance works to improve the insulation further. So again we thank you for helping us to improve our resort where needed.

Regarding our beach yes location is not great for swimming but as the previous 2 reviewers (“Amazing hotel and Even more Amazing Staff !” and “Un petit coin de paradis !”) suggest, our beach is for scenic relaxation with the beachfront swimming pool more suitable for swimming. It would be ideal to have both but we sacrifice a little to get one of the most breathtaking sunset views around.

Warmest regards and thanks once more

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the Coast for 7 nights in July and we loved the hotel and its amazing staff. The hotel is the located on Rin Nai Beach. You can't swim in those waters but it's a great place to just lie around and read a book or sunbath. The hotel also has an 'Infinity Pool' overlooking the sea, so if you don't want sand on your feet, you can can just laze in the pool and watch the sunset.

The location is actually perfect. You can go from the quite and relaxing atmosphere of this beach to Haad Rin (Full moon beach and where most beach parties happen) in about 2 minute on a bike / car or about 10 minute walk.

The room was quite nice with a really nice bathroom. The room does get boring and dull after about 4 days, but then we never really spend too much time indoors so that was alright with us.

The breakfast spread was just perfect and we couldn't think of anything to complain there. The food is actually a little more expensive than most restaurants on the beach, but it is still value for money. The food is cooked better, served better and tastes better here than most places.

The best thing about The Coast was the staff. They were a personification of famous Thai hospitality. Always smiling, always answering your queries and making sure that you were comfortable. A special shout out to Adam & Amma. Adam would ensure to say hi or have a conversation every time he saw us and he would help us with directions etc. Amma, again was always smiling , having a conversation and helping us with anything we might need.

The only person I had a feedback was for the front office manager, She really needs to smile and listen when spoken to. We asked for the final bill when we checked out and after 15 minutes realized that she had completely ignored us and that wasn't the first time either.

Thankfully, this one negative wasn't enough to dampen our feeling towards The Coast and we would love to stay here if we come back to Phangan!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Khan

Thanks for such a wonderful and detailed review. We're always grateful when people take the time to support us but its really great to see when we've had such a positive effect to encourage such listed compliments.

Great knowing that the resort more than matched your expectations and it is of course so motivating to hear personal compliments towards myself, Amma and our smiling team. We try only ever to recruit people who 'care' as this is our main concept and focus; care about each other, care about their environment and care about our Guests.

We cannot of course always get this right in our recruitment and regrettably the probational FO Manager at that time did not show enough 'care' as you seem to have experienced. The positive news is that we now have a new manager who is certainly more to our caring and friendly style.

So we look forward to welcoming you to join us again next year.

Warmest Regards

Adam, Amma and Co :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Decent enough hotel. Not a great beach - very windy at this time of year, and lots of rubbish washes up on to the beach because of it, but the staff did clean the beach every morning, so that was good. Rooms were nice enough and modern, but quite small also - tiny wardrobe, no tables or chairs inside and no luggage racks, room was very dark too. Our shower had no hot water, we brought it up with management for 3 days before anything was done about it, and no apology either. Pool was lovely and food at the restaurant pretty good too. Breakfasts were decent. Have stayed in much nicer resorts for the same price or even less. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
We regret that the beach was too windy the days you were here we can appreciate that this may have disturbed you relaxation; and yes palm leaves, coconuts and other natural debris will be blown ashore during these days but as you have suggested our team are there at 7am cleaning the beach and again each afternoon and evening. Whenever able our team assists our neighbors cleaning their beaches too, to try to ensure that the whole sunset beach is kept as beautiful as possible.

Regarding your room, we do strongly recommend that all holiday-makers check the amenities and details of the rooms they are booking before making a reservation so as not to be disappointed by assumed expectations. All online outlets give details of room sizes and the amenities within each room type.

Regarding the hot water can you email me at gm@thecoastphangan.com to help me investigate further as none of our management team knew about your case so we are lost as to which member of management you brought this up with. Also the first our Reception team heard of this problem was when your husband came to inform the team that you’d had no hot water for 3 days. We sent maintenance immediately, repairing the problem and then our Reception team followed up again with your husband later who said everything was fine. We’re therefore a little confused with this apparent misunderstanding and regretful that this has spoiled your time with us.

Kindest Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights - it's our last night here as I am writing this review.

The rooms are large, clean and modern. The bed is the most comfy I have had during my two weeks so far in Thailand and the breakfast selection also the best! The beach front location and pool area are great for relaxing. There is also a laid back bar to the right of the hotel (sunset bar I think it's called) which is worth a visit especially during their happy hour (5-7pm).

The location is also great - a walk into Haad Rin or a short taxi journey (50-100baht). There is also a laundry and place to rent scooters opposite the hotel which we used and had no problems with at all.

I would recommend to my friends and stay again myself.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Leigh and Michael

Regretfully your review has just come online a couple of hours after you guys checked out; I would have loved to have been able to thank you in person for your kind support.

It seems that the good night's sleep and the hearty breakfast have given you the best feeling to start each of your four relaxing days with us :)

Thanks for recommending us to your friends and the world through Tripadvisor !
We hope you will indeed stay again and if you do then please contact us direct through reservation@thecoastresorts.com so we can offer you our best rates and show you our thanks.

Take care

Adam and all of us here at The COAST Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This resort did it right. Although there are almost 80 rooms, it feels very boutique-y. Amazing views of the beach, the pool is perfect to lounge in all day, and you can't complain about a swim-up bar! The food at the hotel's restaurant is good too. Super clean, wonderfully designed. Loved the bathroom with the open shower stall with TWO shower heads and skylight.

Room Tip: Pool/beach view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest and Reviewer

Thanks for your support and your 5/5s for Rooms, Sleep Quality and Service as well as a high 5 overall. Glad that you loved our Pool View Deluxe and the experience of the resort.

Hope to welcome you again next year !

Adam and The COAST Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rooms were great, clean and modern. Staff were super friendly, they even gave us an upgrade! We spent majority of the time at the hotel in the pool, at the bar and lying on the beach. There was no need to go elsewhere! Food from the restaurant was excellent, you could order it while lying on the beach, and then have it brought over to you along with a cocktail. We ordered room service for 4 days straight with cocktails etc. and upon check out was only $100AUD. Location was beautiful and you were able to watch the sunset everyday. Would highly recommend and would definitely go back again. Could not of had a better holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Katie,

Happy to hear that everything seemed great; the food, the staff and the mixture of both with service on the beach :) And good to hear that all was offered with value as the final bill of all your beachfront service coming surprisingly under budget rather than over.

The sunsets are often the icing on the cake.

Thanks for your support and we hope that you CAN have a better holiday ..... next time you visit us at The COAST Resort !

Warmest Regards

Adam and his "super friendly" team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa
0.0 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#16 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#2 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
7.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan’s picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island’s colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.