We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very trendy hotel with great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Save Saved
You added The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very trendy hotel with great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the last full moon party and had a great time. The staff are really what make this hotel amazing. The Manager in particular was really nice and knows how to look after his guests.

Once you get off the pier at Haad Rin we were picked up by the hotels complementary shuttle which is a short 5 minute drive to the hotel. Check in was simple and easy.

The hotel itself is a very modern, the rooms are trendy and pool and beach area is nice and clean. The beach is not the best in KP but is certainly easy to sunbath on. We were upgraded to a suite which was a really nice touch and that room was outstanding overlooking the sea. The sunsets here on a good day are amazing!

The breakfast in the morning was delicious with hot and cold food and freshly prepared until 10.30am so no rush to get up and it was a short walk along the beach to the main town.

If you want to go to the full moon party then it is easy to walk to but you can escape the madness of it all if you so wish.

To really appreciate KP you need to hire a bike and go around the island. The beaches on the South West and North East are the best. I think we hired a bike for the day for about £2.50 GBP ...not bad at all. The better beaches are by far at those ends of the island. I think were were able to see half the Island in a few hours and there are some nice resturants and views along the way. We also took a boat to the harder parts to get to which was the North East of the island, ie bottle beach. That again was not too expensive.

We did eat out a few nights but in all honesty KP town has everything although it was slightly lacking in up market resturants.

If you are going to stay here make sure you take lots of mosquito repellant, this is not the hotels fault there just appeared to be a lot of mosquitos around KP generally.

I really would recommend The Coast Resort, the people are really friendly and cannot do enough to help you. I would certainly return there if I ever went back to KP.

Biggest thanks to the Manager who made our stay extra special.

Room Tip: Room 79.... really god views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed commendation of our resort and team Kelly and thanks for the comments towards myself too. For me its easy to look after our Guests as I've been a holidaying Guest too and so know what's important and how much holidays matter. I simply then try to pass this onto our team. Add to that a trendy resort and we've hopefully got a winner :D
As for the island your recommendation to get a bike and explore KP is spot on; this is my top tip too. Even for beginners, KP (off Full Moon) is one of the best places to learn. And the views you can find are breathtaking; they're nearly as good as the views from Room 79 :p
Take care and hope to welcome you back to our island again sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    43
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
119
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location, beautiful set up and nice design. This hotel is one of the newer ones on the islands and a welcoming one indeed. The rooms are small but convenient. The gardens perfect and you are right next to the beach. It only takes 10 minutes by foot to walk to where the action is, meaning that you are close enough but not too close (noise wise). We hope for many happy returns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your support and its good seeing that more and more people appreciate the beauty of our location; only 10 mins away from the action of Haad Rin town and Sunrise Beach but hidden away on the sunset strip making you feel like your in the most secluded place possible. Unless its Full Moon of course and then everywhere steps up a gear. But for the rest of the month its an absolute perfect getaway for couples like you guys. We wish for many happy returns too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This beautifully structured minimalist hotel is located perfectly on Koh Phangan's sunset beach. Just a 10 minute walk (lees than 5 in a taxi) to the main town Haad Rin it is close enough to the night life and shopping that surrounds sunrise beach, but gives you the choice to stay in the relaxing atmosphere that The Coast Resort provides.

The hotel is a pleasure to walk through and as you reach the end of hotel where the pool, bar and restaurant are located you are greeted with the stunning views of sunset beach and in the distance Koh Samui. Sunsets at The Coast Resort are truly special, there's something about the vibrant colours the sunset provides which reflect and sink into the infinity pool that make it a truly magical experience and memory. The best thing is you can view this sipping on one of their delicious cocktails whilst sitting in the pool itself (especially during happy hour, buy one get one free!).

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay in the suite, giving us the most spectacular view over the sea. Waking up to that view every morning was priceless, it just made you want to go out and explore the island straight away. Also in the suite you are provided with a well designed bathroom with a separate bath and shower. The view from the shower in the morning is quite special too. There's also a kitchen area with microwave (not that you'll need to use it, the food from their is magnificent), and a massive TV and sofa area. If it's in your budget it's definitely worth the extra money.
We also stayed in one of the garden rooms, which although was more basic than the suite was still a pleasure to stay in, both the bed and the shower were massive!

The staff at The Coast Resort are second to none! Always greeted with a smile and very helpful. They recommended the best things to do around the island and also helped us pick out some brilliant excursions.
I can't remember this particular member of staff's name, (he was British) but he deserves a medal after coming to save my partner and I from a jumping sider in our room!! Especially as he was scared of them too!
The barman James was fantastic, made the best cocktails and even let us adapt some of our own!
The General Manager, Adam, apart from his obsession with the cocktail cherries is an awesome guy! He really makes you feel at home at The Coast and makes a real effort to get to know you and make your stay as good as possible. He was always around to ask for advice and made it an even better holiday for us. THANKS!

Everyone visiting Koh Phangan should stay at The Coast Resort it's in a perfect location and caters for everyone from families to couples to full moon party goers, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: My partner and I were lucky enough to stay in the suite, giving us the most spectacular view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Amy sorry for the late response and especially after such a thoughtful review. Thanks for taking the time to write such a commendation and for giving us your invaluable online support. Glad that we could make you feel at home, make the best cocktails for you and even save you from a spider. You and Mr. Clunes will always be remembered and welcomed here as you gave as good as you got with your friendliness and greeting everyone around the resort.
Take good care guys, try to enjoy the cold of Blighty and we hope to see you both on Phangan again soon.
ps I'd care for you to leave my cherry obsession from public knowledge; I have a reputation to uphold :P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was a lovely beautiful place for my one night escape from Koh Samui. Great location with only a 5-10 mins convenient walk to the legendary full moon party beach but still providing peaceful, relax and enjoy a mood of beach holiday. I always stay at contemporary design hotels or boutique hotels on my business/leisure trip and this is the right choice for Koh Pha Ngan.
Room is nicely design with great attention to details and comfort - I love their way on offering the semi outdoor shower. Breakfast was great with variety choices of selection and tasty enough for me to continue my yummy lunch there. Staff was very friendly and take personally great care of you like a family member. It was a memorably superb and fabulous one night retreat on the island. - Highly recommended!-

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Sawadee kab K Chatree
Thanks for this 5 star review; we're glad to hear that we were "the right choice" and that you loved everything from the design and location to the breakfast and family-like service.
We hope that you can have many more business/leisure trips that can bring you to The Coast of Koh Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved so much your hotel. Very contemporary, so beautiful spot on the beach. Food is maybe the best place in the island of Kho Phangan.Kids loved the pasta and Tuna Sandwichs.
The Atmosphere is chic and good music with the DJ cession.Rooms are simples, but elegants.Just near Hadrin Beach so shopping by feet....Thanks Adam for this special moment...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Vanessa and family
How time flies, 2 busy month a rushed by in a moment. As the calm before the next storm comes I'm taking the time to go back and thank those of you who have taken the time to support us. And you guys of of course on that list of thanks, not only for your review and support but for being a lovely family when with us.
We truly hope to see you all again :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel has a very cool and modern design; a bar is located near to the pool so that people can drink shakes either from the pool chairs or from the other side. In the pool there is also a shallow water part in which people can lie down and lean their head on its sloping side.
In some days during sunset time, a D.J. plays party warm-up music from the bar which is a perfect match of good music (not too loud), beautiful sunset and a perfect atmosphere.
But more than all is the excellent customer service, great staff, and a manager that spends time sitting at the bar and in the restaurant, happy to help when needed; making sure everyone is having a good time.
We stayed at the beach front villa which is located right next to the pool with an amazing pool and beach view. The hotel was so good that it was really hard to convince our children to go out to the Haad Rin city.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with your family, the beach front villa is an excellent solution
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Sarit, Ronen and the kids sorry for the late reply; maybe I spend TOO MUCH time sitting at the bar :) Actually the last few months have been surprisingly busy for our first year and I can honestly say that this success is due to the kind support from people like yourselves; so many many thanks.
May I say that you were an absolutely lovely family from top to bottom and I personally enjoyed your company very much. We all hope to see you back with us next summer if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found The Coast Resort a very quiet resort which is perfect for families or a couple like us. The room that we stayed in (the Sea View!) is spacious and clean, and fully equipped with amenities. We had a great time in our bathtub on the balcony; taking a bath at sunset was amazing. We did try the food at the restaurant and it was very good, especially the duck in tamarind sauce and chicken satay - highly recommended. As for the location, it is not far from the nightlife at all, only 10 minute walk to Haad Rin town or you can pay for the taxi for 50 baht per person. However, the best part is the staff, from the driver to the receptionists to the waiters, everyone had a smile on their face and was willing to help, thumps up to that. Staying at The Coast is definitely the
highlight of our Koh Phangan trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Sawdee K. B
Thanks for the review, thanks for the 5 star support and thanks for the "Thumbs up" :D
Seems as though we ticked every box and that we gave you some unique highlights; the smiles from the staff and then the bathtub on the balcony. Hope they're enough to bring you back for another visit in the future.
Khorp khun maak kab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan’s picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island’s colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.