We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Save Saved
You added The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I enjoyed a stay at The Coast for 5 days in May of 2013. I had intended to stay 3 days but after enjoying my time there so much & meeting & connecting with many fun & likeminded guests & staff there I decided to extend my stay a couple of days.

The service was impeccable & spot on from the moment I arrived. It is a very welcoming crew & they truly want to help you enjoy every minute of your stay on the island as much as possible. Everyone was very friendly, knowledgable on where to go & what to do & professional on every level.

Some of the things that stand out most are the service, the pool ambiance & the drinks :) The best mixologists serving up cocktails at the swim up bar, overlooking the ocean with good house music...what's not to love?! This trip being my second time to Koh Phangan I also think The Coast is in a perfect location as it's a very easy 10-15 min walk to Haad Rin (the party beach) so if you want to you can easily walk down to the parties but you can also easily & quickly get out! A short walk home & your back to a nice quiet haven which for me is key.

I traveled by myself & I felt completely safe & welcome. If you are wanting to experience the land of smiles & fun that Thailand is known to be I suggest you check in here :) I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hey California Gypsy ;p We pride ourselves on providing not only a welcoming atmosphere but also a safe and friendly place for all guests and to have a lady solo traveller so completely safe and welcome that you extended your stay and will "definitely be back" means we're doing a good job. Part of that is our care to security, our CCTV and 24hr manned security but mainly I think its generally that care of our team and also a big part of it is that we've been lucky enough to attract (as you say) other like mended friendly guests; everyone is so open and friendly to each other hear. It's a great feeling.
Well thanks so much for you fab review and we will look forward to your definite return to The COAST Resort !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    42
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
114
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Unfortunately we only had the pleasure of staying at this resort for 3 nights but from start to finish we were impressed with the service and the place itself.. The staff are very friendly and they will do anything to help you. We even left our iPad charger in koh tao and they arranged for somebody to collect it from the ferry port for us. The breakfast was the best I have had in thailand, very fresh and the swimming pool is lovely! Little bit cold but it overlooks the beach and we loved it. The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. Also there are lots of good movie channels too which is nice to have if you stay in.... It's close enough to haad rin centre if you want the restaurants and bars but quiet enough if you want a relaxing stay... We were very disappointed to leave.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi guys seems that you really were disappointed with leaving us as I've just found out that you've checked back in already haha. But it seems also that you're testing us each time to see if we really will do anything to help you; last time the iPad charger forgotten at your previous resort this time your passports. Thankfully you have remembered us :) And we're still happy to help.
Well if you can pull yourself away from the movie channels then there's a couple of cocktails at the pool-bar with your names on them ! See you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Coast team:
Thank you very much for your kind hospitality in your amazing hotel, We enjoyed our general stay in Thailand and especially in your hotel.
Choosing your hotel as our place to stay in phangan was a perfect choice as we enjoyed it and its facilities and I must mention the kind hosting of the hotel crew which took care of our special requests.
No doubt that if I will come again to phangan I will choose your hotel again and also I will recommend it to my friends & family.

Igal M

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I would like to say thanks for not only recommending us to your friends and family but also for recommending us to the world with this open letter via Trip Advisor. I'm starting to hear this word "kind" repeated in reviews and direct feedback from our guests and it is really giving us the best feeling as this is what our group is all about. We have recruited our team not on the most experienced but the most kind-hearted and those with personality and good character. We will endeavour to make our service perfect and if our intentions are purely out of kindness then any special requests are our pleasure to answer. We hope our guests feel this and experience something different with The COAST Resort that they haven't anywhere else.
Take good care Igal and if you do return to Koh Phangan then you are more than welcome back here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although we had a short stay in The Coast Resort we had an amazing time. The staff were very friendly and were more than helpful. The hotel pool was very picturesque and relaxing. The bar in the pool was an extra bonus. Every room standard or villa, was very modern and spacious and still really private. Location was perfect for the Full Moon party as Had Riin beach was only a short trip away. I would highly recommend The Coast Resort to anyone planning a trip to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hey Lyndsey it's always great hearing that couples enjoyed their stay here at The COAST Resort and so I'm happy to hear that you and Anthony did just that. Particularly as this was during Full Moon as it shows that even during the island's festival week we can keep a good balance of responding to the FM feeling whilst keeping our usual relaxing and chilled out atmosphere. I'm sure you enjoyed our Sunset Sessions event held the afternoon before and day of the Full Moon Party but sounds like you mostly enjoyed the peace and quiet provided outside of this. We know that everyone loves to let their hair down but then we all need to relax either side of that.
We hope that next time you visit you can stay for longer and come another time of the month to truly experience Koh Phangan and truly relax.
Take care and thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Wife and I had some of our fondest experiences and stays on our honeymoon trip to Thailand at The Coast ! The whole complex is very modern and clean. The staff went above and beyond with their help and all round kindness. The pool is great and having a bar attached to it is even better ! Food was also very good. We will be back for sure

Room Tip: Inquire to the hotel directly for best rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Christian and Sherusha we are so proud to hear that some of your fondest memories for such a special occasion were here with us at The COAST Resort. Especially that you felt that our service and actions are out of kindness as this is our goal; good service given out of genuine thoughtfulness and care. Hope you will be back for sure, maybe with your anniversary in mind !
Thanks so much for your positive words and support; we wish you both a very happy life together !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The villa, you can't compete with it. The huge glass door opens up onto the deck which then leads into the infinity pool, then just over that is one of the cleanest and nicest beaches you could hope for. This place is truly paradise. The staff were courteous, efficient, funny and not too intrusive. The resort itself is spotless, so well kept and secluded enough to be quiet but still only a five minute walk from the main part of town. The ferry port is literally a 200 metre walk along the beach. The food is incredible with a nice mix of Thai and Western food. The cocktails are dangerously good also. We had alot of requests and the staff were always helpful.

Room Tip: The villa is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Martin; great knowing that you found paradise on our island and with us ! But it's difficult not to enjoy life with a holiday spent in our villa. Saying that it is of course so encouraging to us knowing that life outside of the villa in and around the resort was also enjoyable. Your comments about our staff here are greatly appreciated and will only serve to motivate our team here to keep doing the positive things we're trying to achieve here. Thanks and hope to see you again at The COAST Resort.
PS Really looking forward to seeing your photo's taken during the beach camp-fire we had !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Personally I had a lovely holiday. Is a magnificent property ... "paradise" is all I can call it. Lovely pool, Lovely ambience and great rooms. Staff are definitely warm and friendly.. always taking an extra mile. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: During the Full moon I wouldn't suggest taking the rooms by the poolside.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hey Donabelle thanks for your kind words and positive feedback about The COAST Resort both direct to me and now here on Trip Advisor. Once again its great to hear when our guests have been happy with the facilities, have been treated in a warm and friendly way by our team and it is rewarding to know that the extra mile we try to take leads to you calling our resort paradise!
May I put a small caveat on your room tip? In that during the Full Moon Festival period the Poolside rooms are suitable those who want to be involved in the build up atmosphere as we host our poolside Sunset Sessions event 3pm-7pm the day before and day of Full Moon and of course of this period the pool is at its liveliest. However outside of these times the pool is very chilled and these room are then all about the views of the pool, the beach and the sea. So it depends on the period and wanted experience.
Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit and if your here during one of our next Sunset Sessions then hopefully we can have you perform and entertain our other guests. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan’s picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island’s colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.