We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly bar/restaurant, excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Elephant

Crazy Elephant
Tommy Street | Haad Rin, Ko Phangan, Thailand
+66 88 671 6508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 219 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
Cuisines: European, Thai
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Framfied, Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really friendly bar/restaurant, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really liked Crazy Elephant in Koh Phangan. It was such a friendly place and we met people from all over the world (many of them actually lived on the island). The food is real value for money and highly recommended, the Sunday BBQ which is 'eat all you want' with seafood, meats, a fantastic spread of salads is one not to miss - we went on both the Sundays we were on the island. They serve a great selection of Thai & english food all day which is very reasonable. The brit owner and his thai girlfriend are very welcoming and friendly. Good music, lovely cold beer and a range of other drinks and cocktails. Only a couple of minutes walk from the beach with plenty of outside tables, great location. Highly recommend you go to Crazy Elephant if you are lucky enough to go to Koh Phangan you won't be sorry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Esperance, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Bar and Restaurant a stonesthrow from the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stumbled across the crazy elephant on my first day in Haad Rin, I had a brilliant thai meal and met some really friendly people in the bar over a few Singha's. I liked it so much that i eat and drank there everyday with the people i met, which is something i wouldnt normally do.

Fantastic location just a few 100m from the famous Full moon party beach, the bar is laid back, plays great music, awesome food and cold beer.

The bar is not just a stop off on route to the beach at full moon, it is a proper little bar to go and chill out in and make some friends any day of the week. Highly Recomended !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Bar in Haad Rin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The best bar we found in Haad Rin! Owners were friendly and laid back. Food was great especially on Full Moon night when they throw a big BBQ! Pool table and seating right out on the street so you can feel the great atmosphere! Just a short walk to the beach and close to the town centre too! The Crazy Elephant is a winner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly, great value. Excellent Thai food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Walked into crazy elephant on the way back from the beach one afternoon. The British owner and his Thai girlfriend were very friendly and helpfull. Gave me lots of advise of where to go/what to do on the island etc.
we then made this place out "local" bar for the 4 days we were here. It's not right on the main strip but very good atmosphere. Played pool, cocktails are great, they let us plug in our iPhone. Even had a game on the wii.
The food is excellent. Thai food is authentic and reasonably priced and the western food is decent. (The cheese burger was a winner)
Over all a nice little find.
If your in haad rin I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I just had the nicest fish and chips outside of England. The fish was fresh and the chips were homemade. Very tasty. I couldn't finish it as it was so big

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Elephant also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Crazy Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.