We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in early October. Found this resort to be wonderful. Lovely staff, french girl on reception was very helpful. Rooms are amazing, beautiful, you have your own plunge pool. The views are truly wonderful. Food was great, especially the breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel located in a very quiet area, not much to do around there so we took a taxi for the foodmarket at nights. The beach wasn't that great outside the hotel, but the private pool was amazing! Loved it! We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. The room was nice, but the bathroom doesn't fit the standard at all. We enjoyed our stay here very much and the staff were so sweet.:-) It's a great place for a romantic getaway!<3

Room Tip: We stayed on the left handside (If you're facing the ocean) close to the beach and we had sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courbevoie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have spent 7 days in Kupu Kupu Resort. The resort is very beautiful. The villas are great, very clean, big. The swimming pool of the villa is very convenient, especially when you have children who take a nap. You can be in the pool and let them sleep. The resort is small so it is not crowded.
The staff is very friendly. You meet them everyday. They take time to discuss with you. They give you information. The atmosphere is very peaceful. We really appreciated this. They are very helpful. Special thanks to Marine, Thibault and Maxime. They are really great.
You can rent jeeps and motorbike at the hotel. It is very convenient.
I really recommend this resort. It is one of the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i and my wife on honeymoon 2sept till 6sept 2013, after we read a few review on kupu kupu,we decide to stay for 4nights..firstly we email resort,and Assistant General Manager Marine Blévin very helpful for us.

From the 1st day we arrive,we checkin late around 9pm..but they wait for us..in the reservation,we choose sunset pool villa,after spa at kupu kupu have a lilltle bit problem,so Marine upgrade sea view pool villa its a perfect for us from beds,restroom,pool,so comfortable,design so romantic,there nothing i can complain and the sea view and sunset view which so amazing. Staff was very friendly and always helpful, they always smile :)

Breakfast very simple but delicious,as for muslim,its a great because we can eat also..for services its very effective because they can arrange for you if want to take meal on your villa,there no charge for extra services,we also get a private dinner in our room,they decorate very nice for us,one of waiter very helpful,because he suggest for us a few meal halal food.

Location resort not far from city thongsala,we rent a motor,it take 5 minutes only..
on resort its Absolutely amazing view,with private beach,clear water,swimming pool..its really great for us.

If u muslim people,its not big problem to find halal food, i found a few restaurant to offer you halal food,but they close really early,only one restaurant open till 12pm.(check out picture).

So,if you want to find a place for relax,honeymoon,more privacy,kupu kupu its a great choice..you will not disappointed
as you for a party person or backpackers,maybe its not the right choice.
thankyou for Marine and all staff kupu kupu because made my honeymoon the unforgettable moment in my life.
i really hope anniversary next year i will stay once again at kupu kupu.

Room Tip: get a sea view pool villa,it very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Michael G,

Thanks for sharing such a great comment about our resort. Intimacy, friendly staff and high quality food and beverage are our key area of focus and we are glad we reached your high expectations during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back for your future visit in Koh Phangan and will make sure your cocktails still has nice as you had them during your previous stay.

Sincerely

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We only stayed one night in Kupu Kupu but were not disappointed. We were greeted by a smiling face at the pier and were taken to the hotel in a quite luxury minivan. As we arrived at 7.30am on Phangan we asked for an early check in - no problem at all. The welcoming was warm and friendly with a welcome drink, afterwards we were accompanied to our villa.

When the door opens you simply think: Amazing! Spacious room with high quality furnitures and a super comfortable bed, 2 aircon units and a flatscreen TV above the sliding doors - perfect for watching TV from the bed. A plus is the bath tub in the middle of the room. Personally I liked the his & hers sinks made of stone very much. The villa is decorated very romantic. The balcony is big enough and furnished qualitatively well with table, chairs, 2 sun loungers. We had a great view from our pool and villa. As working in a luxury resort myself I recognized things others might not see that would've been good to improve. But those are little touches. When we mentioned our wet sun lounger matresses (apparently it rained the night before), one of the staff came promptly to our villa to replace them. A big plus is the pool of course, perfect size to cool yourself down and chill while overlooking the sea.

The property is well maintained with beautiful gardens and a nice resort pool with sun loungers all around and IN the pool. Right, in the pool. Funky idea, I find. Pool towels were provided everywhere and all around there it was spotlessly clean. Really beautiful!

Staff was very friendly and always helpful whenever we had a request. You can call front desk 24hrs from your room for any questions. We rented a motorbike for a normal (not overrated) price which was handy and uncomplicated for us as we had to check out 5hrs earlier than our ferry left. The hotel staff gave us a free lift to the pier as soon as we returned.

Breakfast was included in the room price. You can choose what you'd like to eat and if you'd like to have it in the restaurant or brought to your balcony. We decided to enjoy it 'at home'. Croissants (especially choc croissant) were not the best I've ever had but it was plenty of food to choose from and enough for both of us.

We can highly recommend Kupu Kupu, it's a good value for staying in your own pool villa!

Thanks to the whole team who made us feel so comfortable!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have spent about one very good week in this amazing " like Seychelles " landscape ,located just by the sea with some beautiful sunsets !
The overall design of the property is excellent .The pool is amazing ,very long in the center of a great lawn situated within the beautiful gardens.
We have spent several weeks in the country ( Bangkok and north ) but we could experience our best dinner in their restaurant with a fair pricing .
Furthermore , staff is very friendly and does its best to address when required.
We also could easily afford bikes or cars or boat tours organized by their staff.
so...an overall impressive stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Kupu Kupu for four nights, whilst it looks good there are some fundamental service matters that need to be addressed by the new manager (in place for two months). We discussed our thoughts with the manager and he said they were 90% correct. The resort is priced as "luxury" but does not deliver for the cost.

Location & Layout
The resort is located on the middle west side of the island (and gets great sunsets), it is not really near any towns so local taxi's or hotel vehicles are required to get to shops etc.

The layout of the villas is either side of the main swimming pool with good landscaping, private pools. The design has been well thought out.

The Villas
We had villa 26 adjacent to the sea. The room was very large and quite nice inside; however there are a few issues. The air conditioning has not been properly specified (and is cheap), it could not cool the room during the day or night - this lead to poor nights sleep. This does need sorting out.

There was a problem with the original plumbing for the resort and consequently an electric shower unit has been attached to where the shower head should have been to ensure there is hot water - that said, it did work OK, just looked bad. None of the other taps had hot water (warm at best). The Manager did say this was being addressed.

Service
Whilst trying to be helpful, and I hate to say this (as we are staying in Thailand), the language barrier with most of the staff did lead to a lot of confusion. There is a serious training need for the restaurant staff.

Food
Again, for a "luxury" resort the breakfast was pretty basic and some of the items quite poor, given there are only 20 villas it might be better to order from a menu rather than run a poor buffet.

The lunch and dinner menu is so minimal as to lead to repetition on the third meal, the Manager said that this was because the new chef was bedding the staff down..... still not good enough. The food they did serve was very hit and miss, one night their fish meal was excellent, the next day awful and virtually inedible.

Beach
Looks god in the pictures, not really a swimming beach as it is very shallow and the tide goes out a long way.

Resort 4 x 4s
The resort has three 4 x 4s for hire at 1,000 bht a day; really handy to have them on site and it is great fun driving around the island. As the food was poor in the resort it made us go out and about and we discovered some great restaurants, bars and beaches as a result - definitely recommended

Summary
I was impressed the Manager spent time talking to us and did seem to grasp the issues that needed to be dealt with.

If the Manager gets the food, service and air conditioning sorted out, this could be a really good hotel and worth the money, currently it is not.

Room Tip: Villa 26 is adjacent to the beach (great) and has a larger than average sun deck, however the air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa

Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.