We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Moon Resort

Nice Moon Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nice Moon Resort to your Saves list
Nice Moon Resort
100/29 Moo 1, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 107 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed in wooden bungalow with fan .
Peaceful area and not far from beach and the main attractions on Koh Phanghan .Facilities not great , but you get what you pay for and as an experienced traveler across Thailand , you won't get better value for money .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked via booking.com due to what it had to offer for such a great rate! Quite a fun little bungalow owned by a lovely little Thai lady, her 3 dogs and many other animals! Was decent enough however the mattress on the floor was a little harsh on your back after a nights sleep! Clean bungalow with great a/c and the best bathroom we had in the while of Thailand!! Only a which 3-5 minute walk to a beautiful secluded beach :) was very cheap however you got a little more than you paid for! They just need to buy some beds :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is close to many bars and it is really nice to look the bungalows. But there are a lot of aspect to be reviewed.
Isn't near to beach, if you want to go also for Ban Tai Beach you need a scooter or a taxi.
The rooms is not clean. Here, you will live with a lot of animals.
They don't make up your room.
They don't collect your garbage.
The bathroom is bad, after the sunset is impossible to look yourself in the mirror.
The water of sink have a bad smell and in the shower the hot water is almost warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We rolled up at the tripadvisor top rated beach hut resort 2 mins down the beach from here at 10pm the night before the full moon party with nowhere to stay. Our friends had a non-aircon hut booked there. We ended up finding this place, they took one look at how much better our hut was than theirs, and moved into the 'mushroom house' next door for the following 2 nights. The only downside was the house/shack thing next door had a cockerel that crowed from dawn until mid afternoon, which got annoying. You can walk to the bars on the beach in a couple of minutes, but also nearer the food places and bars on the main road, we found it ideal & would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beach is only a 2 minute walk with this being such great value for money this wasn't a problem for us. Lovely accommodation that is well looked after and very clean. The wooden bungalow that we were staying in was practically brand new and had hot water as well as a modern/clean bathroom, fan (air-con was available) and fridge. The staff are really friendly and the place also has free wifi. With the beach only being a 2 minute walk, we spent a lot of time here and I have to say it was one of the most tranquil and secluded beaches I have ever been to, equipped with free hammocks, bamboo sunbeds etc, was picture perfect. Really recommend staying here especially seen as the price per night was only 350thb.
Only downside, was that it was a little noisy at night, with passing scooters and wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First of all, let's get the "negative" out of the way: there is no restaurant, no pool and the resort is not on the beach. That said, it's a two-minute walk to the beach and near many really good restaurants, both on the beach and on the Baan Tai road.

We first stayed at Lime n Soda, which was an ok place too, but it was booked for the Full Moon week so we booked a bungalow at Nice Moon instead for 980 baht per night - about 25 euros, which is not bad at all for peak season, air conditioning, hot shower, fridge and plenty of space. Yes, the bed is just a mattress, so like the previous review says, it's really easy to get sand all over the bed, but it's just as easy to clean it off. We're not the kind of people who enjoy to be fussed over by our hosts, so it did not bother us that they were not costantly asking us if everything was good - if we wanted something, we asked for it and promptly got it. If you want a change of sheets, ask for it. Toilet paper? Ask. They did empty our the trash bins without asking, though. And the lady who owns the place is nice. Toilet and shower are huge, and it's a real plus that the shower is separate and doesn't get the whole bathroom wet.

Nice Moon is peaceful because it doesn't have a restaurant / bar of its own, so you really get a good nights sleep here. The dogs bark occasionally - they seemed to bark to pretty much everyone, but never at us. I guess we made friends with them!

Anyway, the only real problem for us at start was the fact that there were no curtains (the windows are colourful stained glass, so peeking in is not a problem), so at first we were woken up bu the sun when it rose, but got used to it pretty fast and slept soundly till noon. A week here and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nice Moon Resort for 5 nights from December 25th to 30th and it was lovely. We stayed in at double wooden bungalow with a big bathroom that actually had a lower floor and barrier for the shower so the whole bathroom doesn't flood when you shower and it had great pressure with hot water. It had A/C, sat TV, mini fridge (not stocked) and we paid $40US per night which wasn't to bad since it was super high season rates and everywhere else was more expensive. The downside was you sleep on a mattress on the floor, which didnt bother us so much but it gets full of sand if you're visiting the beach a lot. The resort is NOT on the beach, but it's only like a 3 minute walk down a quiet path to get there and there are lots of resorts with restaurants, pools, lawn chairs and they were totally happy to let us use their chairs. There is no restaurant at Nice Moon, just a nice little Thai lady and her 3 little terrier dogs. The noise from the parties wasn't to bad, just a dull sound of base but that is hard to avoid during full moon party time on Koh Phangan. The only issue with noise was her dogs barked at people early in the morning when they came staggering back from the parties but it was only for a few minutes. We've been backpacking in SEA for 2 months and this place was one of the more quiet and comfortable that we stayed. I would recommend it for couples or a single if you like to get a good nights sleep. Sabaii Bay next door has a great bar, pool and party scene and you can just stagger back to your quiet little bungalow in a garden when you're done dancing the night away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nice Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Moon Resort

Address: 100/29 Moo 1, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nice Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Moon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.