We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt even stay here after making booking, worst customer service ever received” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Dee Garden Resort

Thai Dee Garden Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thai Dee Garden Resort to your Saves list
Thai Dee Garden Resort
110/28, Moo 6, Ban Tai, Haad Rin beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 29 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Couldnt even stay here after making booking, worst customer service ever received”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After hearing the island gets busy during the full moon period, we read about Thai Dee online and thought it looked like a good place to stay. We placed a booking online and they asked for a 10 % deposit, this was fine and we paid it. They then asked for a 50% deposit as it was full moon and this seemed reasonable as most places asked for this. However after a storm on Koh Tao, we couldn't do a PayPal transfer for the 50% and therefore only paid 10%. We emailed asking if this was okay and were told this was fine and that we could pay on arrival. We turned up a few days later to find our room had been given away and there were no spaces left. The staff didn't speak any English and we were put on the phone to their boss who also was hard to understand. We sat there for an hour waiting for them to sort it out with no results. I explained I had paid a deposit and showed them the emails, yet they denied having sent these emails to us, therefore wouldn't sort us out a room or give us a refund. We had to leave and walk to find a new plAce to stay, I have since emailed them about the deposit but have not received a reply back for over a month now. Don't stay here, the location isnt great either and its not a social or nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonsalezz, it-marketing at Thai Dee Garden Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi

We really trying to inform all our guests about 50% deposit policy during the Full-Moon. We writing "ATTENTION", we sending the e-mails and reminders with all possoble options to pay that deposit. All other properties in Haad Rin do same, with no exceptions - they all need deposit. So, when after all of that, some of our (smartest!) guests still coming without paying the deposit and complaining about that- there are not a lot what we can improve.

And yes, some of local people can't understand 100% English, if tourists using some regional dialects and speak fast, unpolitely and with lots of different claims.

So, small advice from locals: if you having bad time and nagative experience - you having bad time and nagative experience, there are no any point to share that with others. Let's share good things and positive emotions - its same easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The resort is in a really good location to be close enough to walk to bars and beaches (including full moon beach) but far enough for a bit of peace. The gardens are lovely.

However when shown to our room the guy ran ahead and sprayed a load of bug spray as the door seemed permanently open. This left us with dead bugs all over the beds and floor. Although you are supposed to take shoes off in Thailand, we literally couldn't because it was so dirty. The bathroom stank! It wasn't of sewerage but more of a mouldy, rodent smell. And there were rodents. We could hear them scurrying around in the ceiling and thought we saw something scurry past in the night but couldn't be sure. Lizards and bugs I can expect but rats or whatever they were is just disgusting. And the ceiling had patches of urine which were going mouldy so it was pretty unhygienic in there. One of the most expensive places we've stayed and by far the worst - we couldn't wait to leave.

It's a shame because the staff were really nice and when I got ill and needed a doctor (probably due to the state of the room) they immediately got me on a motorbike and took me straight there free of charge. And the safety deposit boxed seemed trustworthy as they were based in the owners office and you use your own lock.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thai Dee Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Dee Garden Resort

Address: 110/28, Moo 6, Ban Tai, Haad Rin beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled between Sunrise and Sunset beaches at Haad Rin, Ko Phangan.All bungalows are surrounding green garden, steps away from the Fullmoon Party beach's bustling but still near enough to walk to.Variety of bungalows is from budget twin to 5 single-bed, all ensuite(with bathroom).Come get refreshed at our garden guests ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Thai Dee Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Dee Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.