We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, incredible location, amazing staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buri Rasa Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 520 Reviews
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, incredible location, amazing staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose Buri Rasa because after some research we read that it was located in he best beach of the island, far from full (half, black and others) moon party and the like. We had high expectations and the beach definitely met them. Poor the first night the hotel couldn't give us the room that we have booked for (in the beach) and we got one in the second floor (with impressive views). The problem was quickly solved and for us it was hard to decide which room was better. Both were big, with great views, very clean, nicely decorated and super comfy. The restaurant of the hotel has good prices, excellent food and well served. Service was quick and kind. The shows they have at night are far from great but anyway it's nice having lunch or dinner there. Our only problem was with the beach towels. They ran out of towels twice during our stay and they were old, stained and torn. Anyway, overall it is a great hotel, perfect for a romantic getaway and to have a good rest. The village is small but has everything you may need and many excellent restaurants too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonwit, General Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Pipacooper

Many thanks for taking the time to write to us your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased and very proud of our service for your accommodation, restaurant and other activities that we can deliver to you.

We are now in the process of replacing our beach towels, we're so sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We hope welcome you back in the near future, so that we can do are best to give you an exceptional experience I shall arrange for your reservations and speedboat transfers personally.

Boonwit Leakdee
General Manager
boonwit@burirasa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    118
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
275
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband spent our honeymoon here, it was just perfect. From the meeting when we got off the speed boat to our welcome drinks upon arrival we knew this was going to be a fantastic stay. Exceptionally clean, very modern and just beautiful. Our room was decorated with rose petals and a lovely happy honeymoon decoration on the bed. Very spacious room very clean and comfortable. We had a 90 minute massage at the spa for the price of 60 mins. It was the best massage ever. We then had dinner on the beach the food is 5 star very tasty and presented well. Overall this was a stay to remember. Thank you to the lovely lady on reception who looked after us so well. We will be back. Zoe and Steven Thompson (phens friends). England.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonwit, General Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear zoej88

Many thanks for taking the time to write to us your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased and very proud of our service for your speedboat, accommodation, food, spa and other activities that we can deliver to you. We hope welcome you back in the near future for your honeymoon again.

So that we can do are best to give you any exceptional experience, I shall arrange for your reservations and speedboat transfers myself.

Boonwit Leakdee
General Manager
boonwit@burirasa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was traveling with my wife and our 1 yo baby.
We booked the beach front room for 5 days and I expected this hotel to be the highlight of our trip as it cost accordingly.
The hotel really is beautiful and in a special, quiet location in the island and that's what we wanted.
We arrived in the afternoon, the sea was quite rough but still it was weird that nobody went into the water.
I usually never read the brochures in the room but it had some information about the hotel so I did.
Apparently nobody went into the water because in November there are many sea urchins and the sea is too rough and they don't let anyone to go in.
So this left out 90% of what we were going to do and after asking around, this is not going to change for the 5 days we're there.
Trying to think what to do, I said, well at least I'll take my son to the pool. They said there's a kids pool, which is completely a joke. It's about the size of 3ft by 3ft with 1 inch of water. I couldn't believe it.
So I went into the regular pool which is not too big either but it didn't matter. The problem there was that there are rooms very close to each side of the pool, 3 stories high and every sound you make resonates and surely disturbs them. My son being a 1 yo baby, sometime shouts, cries and I felt really uncomfortable making that noise. So no kids pool and no regular pool.
I can go on, but the bottom line is that I saw some amazing photos of that resort from other times of the year.

I wouldn't go there in November for sure.

We were so unhappy there that we simply left after 2 nights despite the fact that they refused to give us back the money for the other 2 nights we wanted to cancel , So we simply through away 600$ or even more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Resort Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear John W.,

Thank you for your review.

Thank you very much also for your kind comments regarding our quiet location, and our beautiful and special hotel.

We're so sorry that you had an unfortunate experience in November. It's true that that time of year is officially the rainy season on Koh Phangan though the weather is changing daily and it's difficult to forecast the weather. It can be rainy one day and sunny the next day. We also have a system of flags on the beach; green/yellow/red and also our beach staff advise our guests if the rolling waves make this unsafe for swimming.

Regarding the pool, sorry this was not suitable for you and your family. Most of our guests do enjoy our pool though we understand that everyone has different needs and expectations.

Once again, we're so sorry to hear about your holiday experience and we know of course the weather is not under anyone's control.

We hope for your next holiday you will find the best combination of beach location, pool and favourable weather.

Kind regards,

John Murch
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here after booking at the last minute. It is the best hotel I have ever stayed in- clean, lovely setting, beautiful beach, friendly staff, incredible food, excellent manager and all value for money. I can't recommend this place enough...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Resort Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you so much for your review!

We really appreciate your comments regarding our beach location, cleanliness, food, value and especially thanks for your kind comments regarding our friendly staff.

The next time you choose a tropical holiday destination, we hope you will consider to come back here again. Until next time...

Kind regards,

John Murch
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

From the Welcome to the Checkout I just can not praise this hotel enough, The ratings are true and should be higher, This is one of the best hotels on Koh Phangan and one of the best of been to in Thailand and believe me I have been to many. The Staff are very special because they make you feel special from the reception to the pool man they all want to say hello and help you in anyway, They make you feel apart of the family. The Hotel itself is excellent, The rooms are cleaned everyday, A room attendant come round every afternoon to ask if everything is ok with room, The food at the hotel is very very good but please to venture down the road to some more restaurants as some great food can be brought there, The Beach it self is one of the best on the island,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Resort Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear jimthai,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort!

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our beach location, rooms, food and most of all our friendly staff. We also think our staff our so friendly and care for our guests naturally from their hearts.

The next time you wish to visit us again, please feel free to contact us directly for your accomodation bookings and speed boat transfers.

Warm regards,
John Murch
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I ( age mid fifties ) just had a nine day stay at the Buri Rasa and I have to say it was heaven on earth. It was perfect in every way from the airport transfers to the staff , the food, the location, the room, there isn't one thing I could complain about. The beach was beautiful and clean. There is a little shopping and restaurant strip in easy walking distance. The pool was lovely and there is also a gym that is not advertised on the site. The spa area was also very clean and we had some amazing massages. All the staff members were an absolute delight, so polite and couldn't do enough for us. Our room opened up right on to the beach and every day we had two banana lounges outside our room with fresh beach towels reserved just for us. All the extra little things the staff did for us just made our holiday one of the best ever. Will definitely be back some day . Thanks to all at Buri Rasa for a most memorable holiday Jeanette Kloet

Room Tip: Ocean front room was amazing , but all the rooms seemed good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Resort Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jeanette K,

Many thanks for your "perfection" review!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed so many things in our resort; the airport transfers, the location, beach, restaurant, food, spa. Thank you also for mentioning our staff. We happy that you enjoyed your Ocean front room facing right on to the beach.

We hope to see you and your husband again very soon!

Sincerely,
John Murch
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Buri Rasa for ten nights on our honeymoon this month (June 14) and PERFECT really is the only way to describe our stay. On arrival we discovered a mix up over our room by the booking agent and the hotel dealt with it quickly, politely and without fuss. Amazing rooms, fantastic staff, great food and all at a great price.

I must give a special mention to Banana who really was amazing throughout our stay.

I highly recommend Buri Rasa and it's fabulous team. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Book the beach front rooms - superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Resort Manager at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank very much for your "Perfect in every way" review!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your 10 nights Honeymoon, amazing room, fantastic staff, great food and at a great price. Thank you also for your comments regarding Miss Banana. We agree with your choice of Beach front room.

The next time you plan to stay with us, feel free to contact us directly to book your preferred room and for speed boat transfers.

Kind regards,
John Murch
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buri Rasa Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Address: 55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Rasa Village is a luxurious boutique resort which blends traditional Thai architecture with contemporary design, creating an elegant holiday haven that shines out from the crowd.Our resort simply exudes luxury and comfort. Enjoy a relaxing break on Koh Phangan in the unique and laid-back surroundings of a tropical paradise, on the beach at Thong Nai Pan.Experience a highly personal level of service - all of our staff are hand-picked and renowned for their friendly and caring approach. They'll pamper you as if you were in paradise itself!Each of our modern suites has a balcony or terrace, and is lavishly equipped with a flat-screen TV with international channels, a DVD player, and has an en-suite bathroom with rain shower plus bathrobes and towels. There's a fridge and mini bar with complimentary bottled water replenished each day, and there's a daily housekeeping and turn-down service. Room service is also available, and there is free WiFi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buri Rasa Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.