We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buri Rasa Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 520 Reviews
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spectacular location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When I booked this hotel I specifically asked for ground floor rooms which opened out right onto the beach. When we arrived, we were taken to first floor rooms with balconies overlooking the beach. When I explained that I had requested ground floor rooms and been given assurance of this (not just by email but by phone too), the manager said that the central reservations office don't communicate requests to the actual hotel, so they didn't know about my preference. Lesson learnt...Don't expect to get your room choice, even if you have a verbal guarantee! We were offered two ground floor rooms once they had become available, after being at the hotel for two nights already, but we decided that it would be too much hassle to pack everything up again considering we were only there for five nights in total. Plus, we ended up feeling that these rooms suited us better anyway, we did enjoy having the privacy of our balconies, overlooking the stunning beach. Which brings me to the best thing about this hotel...the beach is picture perfect. Just looking at it makes you smile. White sand, turquoise water, picturesque rocks jutting out at one end and very gentle waves lapping on the shore. It is shallow for quite a distance and perfect for children. The kayaks are free to use and my kids had great fun in them. There are a few other hotels on the beach and the entertainment at Panviman Resort, next door, brings the whole little bay to life at night time. The entrance to the hotel is situated at the end of a lovely little street which is a joy to walk down by day or night. Everything you need is there...a pharmacy, laundry shops, convenience stores, lovely ramshackle restaurants etc. The hotel rooms are great, nice simple beachy décor with a contemporary feel, clean, spacious and comfortable beds. The Spa staff offer beachside massages which was a lovely treat and we felt particularly endeared towards a member of staff called Banana...we thought her name was cute and really suited her! She went out of her way to make sure we were always comfortable and happy and arranged for us to go on a tour of the island which we loved. We visited another stunning beach, rode elephants, went trekking through a waterfall trail and visited a Buddhist monastery. It was brilliant! This hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind...it seems like another world now! The one big let down is the food...Breakfast isn't good. If you are vegetarian, like us, the options are very limited. If we went for breakfast early, we couldn't be seated together as a family as the space was limited and if we went there later only the last scraps of food were left and it wasn't refilled. I specifically asked for more pancakes one morning when I noticed there were none left for my children and when they came they were still raw and runny in the middle! The food on the lunch/dinner menu is average too. Luckily, we enjoyed delicious food at other resorts on the beach and we also ate out at two restaurants on the street where the food was amazing! The hotel swimming pool is small, which didn't bother us because we didn't want to leave the amazing beach anyway. All in all, this hotel offers very good standard accommodation right on an outstandingly beautiful beach and for that reason I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    118
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
275
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my family with 2 teebage daughters and one 5 year old boy stood there for 3 nights. The location is gorgeous. It makes you say that you reached heaven. Especially after travelling from port with an open air local taxi on a road full of dust and very bumpy. The place is great for family with small kids and couples but boring for teenagers. Nothing much to do around there but to relax and enjoy the greatness of the nature.
The food is good but the breakfast bufet is everyday the same. It is OK for few days though.
The rooms are nice and the space is fair. It is new and this makes it all. There are no mosquitos and this is a big plus.
There are rooms placs on the vicinity of the small lake behind. While raining, very often phenomena in Thailand, there is a smell that spoils the beautiness of the place.
The people are polite and helpfull- special mention for Banana, Patzy and Tom.
Overall, there is a good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu Town, Greece
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most nice beaches in Phangan.We had a nice room near the pool,it wasnt as big as it shows in the photo but it was very clean with comfortable furniture.The +for this hotel are:the beach in front ,the level of cleaniness and the hole zen atmosphere(very nice beach massage)The- is the level of service:almost all the people who work in this hotel especially in the restaurant are amateurs.They were making all the possible mistakes at the orders,the bills,etc.But they were all with a big smile so you could forgive them.The price was in an offer so it was ok.The prices on the other hotel (buri rasa koh samui)were double and although the service was more professional,generally the hotel wasn't of the level of the money we have paid.So yes to Buri rasa phangan,no to Buri rasa koh samui

Room Tip: better not to choose the rooms on the pool,a lot of noise,there are nice rooms near the pool.The bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely loved this place! From the moment we arrived - greeted with cooling face towels and drinks, we felt welcome.
Out of the 6 hotels we stayed in various parts of Thailand, this was by far our favourite. Everything was immaculate - the cleaner especially worked so hard cleaning the rooms as if it was her own home. The staff as a whole were amazing giving us constant smiles and pleasant conversation. Nothing was ever too much for these people and they deserve every penny they make!
They really do treat this hotel as their own proud and joy eg. we spotted them cleaning the white sandy beach at least twice a day.
Hotel food was delicious and at a decent price. The breakfast was lovely set on the gorgeous beach scenery which you honestly couldn't beat. The fire show entertainment while eating dinner on the beach was great fun too.
The thing that made this hotel stand out more than anything was the little touches.. Desserts were delivered with a personal note every night by one of the hotel staff. Fresh tropical fruit was left in our rooms daily along with two bottles of water. And on our early journey back, the staff had prepared us a portable lunch box.
I honestly couldn't think of a fault with this hotel, which has never happened to me!! I don't know how anyone can fault this place in the slightest. Staying at Buri Rasa truly was the highlight of Thailand for me.
I can't wait to come here again and enjoy paradise all over again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Quiet place, beautiful beach, dont eat on the street.
Excellent place for couples !
Nothing much to do in the area, because its very far from anything else.
The ride to the hotel is throw the jungle, very bumpy and dusty.

DO NOT BE AFRAID - the driver is not going to kill you ! This is the only way to the hotel.

Not very suitable for scooters but possible.

Bring a book, drink a shake and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my husband really loved Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach and the Buri Rasa. The breakfast was the best we got while in thailand and the staff were extremely pleasant and really helpful (Especially Banana). The setting of this place is just to die for. Breakfast is served in the Beach Club which is an open sided restuarant facing the sea..it's just stunning. The rooms were lovely and clean (maybe a little on the small side but plenty adequate), with really quiet AC system. I would ask for an upstairs room for privacy if I stayed again, but we really enjoyed the hotel. Thong Nai Pan is a small village but enough bars and restaurants for variety...we got really good food while here. We also hired a moped and did some scooting around the island but its fairly tricky dirt roads in places so only embark on doing this if you're a confident rider.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been backpacking through Thailand for our honeymoon and thankfully booked into this resort as a bit of a break from the backpacking life. It is fantastic! Great value for money, rooms are beautiful and the beach quite and relaxing. There is a small village behind the resort where you can get nice food. We are going to a place called Luna for dinner tonight. We have heard very good things about it. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to the island especially if you are keen to relax. P.s. breakfast is amazing! They make eggs of your choice there in front of you with many ingredients to choose from. Great resort!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buri Rasa Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Address: 55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Rasa Village is a luxurious boutique resort which blends traditional Thai architecture with contemporary design, creating an elegant holiday haven that shines out from the crowd.Our resort simply exudes luxury and comfort. Enjoy a relaxing break on Koh Phangan in the unique and laid-back surroundings of a tropical paradise, on the beach at Thong Nai Pan.Experience a highly personal level of service - all of our staff are hand-picked and renowned for their friendly and caring approach. They'll pamper you as if you were in paradise itself!Each of our modern suites has a balcony or terrace, and is lavishly equipped with a flat-screen TV with international channels, a DVD player, and has an en-suite bathroom with rain shower plus bathrobes and towels. There's a fridge and mini bar with complimentary bottled water replenished each day, and there's a daily housekeeping and turn-down service. Room service is also available, and there is free WiFi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Escapio, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buri Rasa Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.