We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buri Rasa Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stevensville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As a frequent guest at the Buri Rasa in Samui, which we love, I have been hesitant to write a review of the Buri on KP.
First the positives;
• We booked a deluxe beach front room and were extremely pleased when we were upgraded to room 15 which is without doubt the best room at the resort. It is the end room ground floor on the beach with 2 sliding glass windows and a large covered patio. Very nice!
• The staff, in particular Banana were great.
• The beach is beautiful and quiet.
• The entrance with the “village” design is very attractive.
• The restaurant design and the ability to eat on the beach is nice.
• The private boat transfer was excellent and the little “lounge” at the pier in Samui is a nice touch.
The cons:
• Keeping in mind the resort is new, the restaurant staff, while very pleasant, seemed disorganized in that we found many times that we were trying to get their attention or waiting long periods for service.
• The resort is situated at the end of the beach and lounge chairs are thus crowded. In addition the umbrellas need to be more secured with stands to keep the wind from blowing them into guests. One took off and hit the palm tree where we were sitting, another ended up in the lagoon.
• While the BBQ was enjoyable, a more diverse menu, I.e. lunch and dinner menu would be an improvement. More along the lines of the Beach Club at the Buri Samui.
• The pool, well I won’t comment.
Overall we are glad we visited the Buri KP, but as we prefer a more boutique resort, we probably won’t be returning. A four only because of room 15 otherwise I would have rated it as 3..

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach in the premium block are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    137
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
123
337
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There are no words to describe this beautiful small hotel. Wonderful peaceful place with really beautiful beach.. Staff is great, always on service.. When we have small problem with the safe, they solve it in 30min and gave us bottle of red vine which was really nice gesture... In a moment we came, they upgrade our room to beach front (great room no. 3)... Great value for money, truly recomended to everobody! Nightlife in this part of island is not an option, but you can find taxi for 300bht/per person. For them who are not looking for nightlife, you have couple of nice restoraunts ( Luna's, Jip shop, Again and again, Better than sex...)... We spent here amazing 3 weeks...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I finished our first Trip to Thailand at Buri Rasa and we couldn't be happier. As the other reviews stated this is a brand new resort in a quiet bay in the North East side of the island. An excellent choice for "non-partiers" and people looking to relax and unwind. The staff, from top to bottom, was excellent, putting a big emphasis on customer service. The resort restaurant was excellent, offering a diverse menu at reasonable prices. The beach is beautiful and the lounge chairs were comfortable. Perhaps the only drawback of the resort is the relatively small pool, and area around it, but it was never crowded as many prefer the beach anyways. All in all a great choice, good value and a guaranteed lovely experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeje, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived for 5 nights as a family of 7, we had 2 beach front rooms and two at the back of the resort. Both rooms were identical in size although the back rooms only one had a small view of the sea but was over the road , ours just had a terrace with no view a all. We were number 34. The room was darker but cool and was no problem at all, although next time I may ask for a room that overlooked the pool areas.
The staff could not do enough for you, they were always smiling and helpful, the rooms were immaculate, and we got the little deserts every night.
The pool I agree was small but the beach is big enough to cater for everyone although we had quite rough sea whilst we were there and so beach was smaller than usual. Ko Phangan especially the areas of Thong Nai Pan is the most beautiful and relaxing place, still regained its Thai character unlike parts of Ko Samui, and would say come hear for a true Thai experience whilst you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked Buri Rasa for 5 nights through Pointshound.com so that we could earn United frequent flyer miles for our reservation. For $90 USD we got a room on the 3rd floor towards the back of the room. While we did not have a view of the ocean, we were very happy with the room and enjoyed the short walk to the pool/beach.

I was with my family (wife and 16 month old daughter) so we wanted somewhere nice and clean but not overly expensive (like some of the other Phagnan resorts). Buri Rasa was perfect for our trip.

The place has amenities for children (high chairs, small shallow area at the pool, toys). The beach is also very calm most days though it can get very deep suddenly so be mindful.

There are also a handful of excellent local restaurants in the village outside the resort. We ate out 4 out of 5 nights for dinner and every lunch. Breakfast was included in our rate so we ate at the resort in the mornings.

As people noted, the resort is somewhat new (built in 2012) and you can tell the staff is still getting experience. They try very hard and have a great attitude, but coming from Bangkok, you can notice the small differences in experience.

For example, I booked a speedboat transfer from USM airport to Buri Rasa for 2 people. When we checked out, they forgot to include the charge. I reminded them to charge me because it would have been dishonest to not pay for something we used.

Also, one night a lamp hanging from the ceiling of our room suddenly fell. I called to inform them, and they just said, "OK, no problem." We left it on the floor.

But as I said, it was a perfect getaway from the hustle of normal life. Some tips for future guests:

1. Breakfast closes around 10:30AM.
2. The resort is very kid friendly so expect families with small children.
3. The speedboat transfer isn't worth the extra cost in my opinion. When we took it on arrival, the water was too rough to approach the Buri Rasa shared pier so we only got the speedboat to the south side of Koh Phangan and take a van for 30 minutes to the resort.
4. I didn't think it was worth it to pay up for the rooms facing the water. The staff tries to reserve the sun loungers outside for those guest in those rooms, but many times, other guests will just take them and staff has a hard time denying guests.
5. Housekeeping is great and you have to leave a note with your tip or else they won't take your money.
6. Wifi is free but spotty some days. The 1st day was 100% great. The 2nd day was horrible. The 3-5th days were great. However, note that the signal is never strong enough to have a clear Skype call.
7. Beers are the same price as buying from the convenience stores outside, so no need to leave the resort.
8. For departures, book your shuttle at least 1 day in advance. And note, they will give you a voucher that you will take to the Ferry ticket office and exchange for actual tickets. Be mindful if you're on the Seatran ferry or the Lomprayah ferry company.

Room Tip: Having a oceanfront room means you'll have people walking around right in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this resort! I was so happy my husband and I chose to go to Koh Phangan 2nd after Koh Samui because anything after Buri Rasa would have been a let down.
The beach is shared with a handful of resorts but since it is set in a cove with no direct route from other beaches it stays fairly calm. (no heckling from vendors etc.) When it was sunny the water was a sparkly turquoise but even when it was raining the view was stunning with the waves against the rocks and plentiful Palm trees swaying in the breeze. We barely left the resort the 4 days we were there.
When we arrived we were met by iced tea and a cool towel. I was very impressed with how much English the staff spoke. (don't necessarily expect that in Thailand!)
As for transportation, it's about a 45 minute ride from the ferry. We took a local taxi there (songthaew: benches in the back of a truck) which was a bumpy ride but you can arrange with the hotel ahead of time for transportation. The cove is by a strip of restaurants and small shops. Not too much shopping if that's what you are looking for but plenty of choice in food around. We chose to eat mostly at the resort. The resort restaurant overlooks the beach and has seating right on the beach also. The prices are reasonable for food but a little more spendy for alcohol. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with options in the morning. They make the coffee fresh for each order. Lunch and dinner has the same standard menu but they add fresh seafood BBQ options at dinner. You can eat at their cafe around the corner during the day also. (same food cheaper prices,just doesn't have a view) If you spend your day on a sunbed they will attend to you there.
The rooms are beautiful. I realize the hotel is new but they do an amazing job cleaning and stocking the room. The beds are so comfortable- soft but supportive. They have a pillow menu for your preference. They also have English channels to choose from on a flat screen t.v. and dvds (somewhat limited) to borrow. I usually don't use hotel products with my sensitive skin but I loved the shower gel they provided.
Only complaint I had was when we added an extra night onto our stay we had to move rooms. I had checked to see if our room was still open a 4th night and I said I would take it however I used my bank's website to pay for that day so it took a few hours for the confirmation. During that time they gave the room away and we had to switch. However, the staff arranged to move our bags and our new room had a bit of an ocean view so in the end it wasn't so bad.
As for transportation back the hotel booked us a taxi. They even gave us complimentary breakfast boxes to go with pastries and fruit. We booked our ferry ride and transfer from an travel agent office just around the corner. I advise choosing ferries ahead of time to coordinate with flights since we ended up having to leave very early in the morning which wasn't ideal on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all: We had a great time at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan. The resort is brand new, and you can tell. Rooms are really nice, although not huge. Nice amenities. We had a beach front room, and could walk straight out on the beach to our sun chairs and the water. The staff are nice, smiling and attentive (for the most part). Breakfast was good, as the restaurant itself. Small nice touches, like new local desserts delivered to your room every night. Nice beach. Also loved the area and the restaurants.

The drawbacks: The resort only has a small part of the beach. Unlike on the neighbouring Anantara Rasananda, which occupies most of the beach, the beach chairs are piled onto each other due to little space. This also was a problem with having a beach front room - the chairs were lined along our terrasse only a foot or two from the room. Also, the swimming pool is more or less a joke. Around 2x5 metres, with 6 (or 8?) chairs in total. It was (understandably for the time we were there, with high waves and tides in the ocean) occupied by the few families with small kids who were at the resort. I expect a "luxury resort" to have more to offer with regards to the swimming pool area. We were also not impressed by the staff at the restaurant, and it was not well enough organized. We often had to ask for coffe at breakfast both two and three times, it was often hard to get attention from the staff (at both breakfast, lunch and dinner), even though there seemed to be plenty of them.

However, as stated, we had a great time - but it would have been even better without the mentioned issues.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buri Rasa Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Address: 55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Rasa Village is a luxurious boutique resort which blends traditional Thai architecture with contemporary design, creating an elegant holiday haven that shines out from the crowd.Our resort simply exudes luxury and comfort. Enjoy a relaxing break on Koh Phangan in the unique and laid-back surroundings of a tropical paradise, on the beach at Thong Nai Pan.Experience a highly personal level of service - all of our staff are hand-picked and renowned for their friendly and caring approach. They'll pamper you as if you were in paradise itself!Each of our modern suites has a balcony or terrace, and is lavishly equipped with a flat-screen TV with international channels, a DVD player, and has an en-suite bathroom with rain shower plus bathrobes and towels. There's a fridge and mini bar with complimentary bottled water replenished each day, and there's a daily housekeeping and turn-down service. Room service is also available, and there is free WiFi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Buri Rasa Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buri Rasa Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.