We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prick-Tai Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prick-Tai Resort
Save
You added Prick-Tai Resort to your Saves list
10/ 44 Moo 1, Sairee Beach | Koh Tao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Comfortable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst diving with Roctopus. Had an AC room, thing the majority are fan. Very happy with the accommodation. Very clean and secure. The rooms have 2 locks and had no concerns about security. Good location and very quiet at night despite being close to several bars and restaurants etc.
No pool but one is under construction and due to be completed in December 13.
Only negative is that wifi was slow at best and often off.
Great Thai restaurant, Coffee Boat, only yards away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nipawin, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at Prick-Thai in May 2013 for 5 nights. We were diving through New Way Diving and this is the hotel that they affiliate with. We decided to stay 1 night originally to see if there were better options available.

At first we were disappointed that it didn't have a pool, but were extremely happy to be right at the beach. Every other place we looked at with a pool had the same type of room with a higher price. Nothing seemed to compare in cleanliness and location even though we didn't have a pool we decided to stay. Good choice.

We were on Sairee Beach close to everything but far enough away to have a good sleep at night (trust me it gets rowdy down at the bars). The ladies did our laundry for next to nothing by hand and I'll tell you, I can't even get my laundry to smell that good.

For 600 Baht a night great location, clean towels and sheets every second day and a fan room (there is A/C available, we just didn't need it). The only thing is the roosters, but you can't escape them anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Good place,
location is ideal, rooms are small but clean and good, no wifi in the room is a small disadvantage but overall we liked it a lot.
Air conditioner is strong and working well and was very effective in the hot month of march, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The cheaper rooms at this nondescript hotel hold great value, as for around 600 baht you are along the water and near the heart of Sairee beach. The facilities are mostly new and the lady who runs the joint is comparatively quite friendly. Only downfalls, there's no WiFi nor breakfast.

Don't let the dive schools fool you!! This hotel is under separate ownership and management, and if this accommodation is 'included' in the price tag of your diving course, you actually are paying an inflated price in order to cover the costs associated with housing you. Luckily, this is a good place to be situated.

Until now I have not commented about other reviewers, but in this case I will make an exception. It seems that those who stayed here and had a negative experience were likely looking for five star treatment at a two star price. And as for the staff being 'rude', I can only imagine it is due to a high degree of ethnocentrism.

Room Tip: the A/C rooms are not worth the inflated cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was included in our Open Water course. Our understanding is that they don't ten to advertise but rather take Open Water students from a variety if scuba schools - so you could easily end up here if you do a course. As a couple, we have been staying in mid-range accommodation for about 1,500baht. So for us, this was bearable but not ideal. We didn't spend much time in the room. Budget travelers might have thought better of it.

Bugs!! So many bugs!! Spiders, Mosquitos and geckos (which scream loudly). Your noisy neighbors will consist of cicadas and a rooster which crows from 6am onwards.

No hot water, no top sheets, no free wifi, no housekeeping, no pool and you'll need buy toilet paper after you've run out of the supplied two rolls.

It is very close to the beach. Had no problems with security or theft.

This is budget accomendation and doesnt pretend to be otherwise so I can't rank it too poorly and can't compare it to other budget spots. So take my review with a grain of salt. Normally costs 600baht per night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place itself is alright, but you can find way better accommodation for a more competitive price. There's no real communal vibe to the place. The beds were decently comfortable, and the place was kept clean. The shower had horrible water pressure.
I would call it just average all around however the lady at the front desk was extremely rude on a couple of occasions - you don't ever see her, but when you have to interact with her it's unpleasant. We locked our key in the room by accident and she acted like we were the scum of the earth! Prik Thai indeed!
No free wifi at the bungalows by the way - only paid.
Skip this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Do yourself a favour and don't stay in this resort. It may be the perfect location, close to the beach and all the restaurants but I had my gold necklace stolen from the bottom of my backpack whilst staying in one of their beach huts. My friend also had her laptop and i pod taken. Even though the door has a padlock on it cleaners and staff are always in and out of the room. Please please dont stay here there are so many other cheap places just next door. oh and when we paid for our laundry it came back stinking of dampness!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prick-Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prick-Tai Resort

Address: 10/ 44 Moo 1, Sairee Beach | Koh Tao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prick-Tai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.