We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service, will come again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prick-Tai Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prick-Tai Resort
Save
You added Prick-Tai Resort to your Saves list
10/ 44 Moo 1, Sairee Beach | Koh Tao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service, will come again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Good place,
location is ideal, rooms are small but clean and good, no wifi in the room is a small disadvantage but overall we liked it a lot.
Air conditioner is strong and working well and was very effective in the hot month of march, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The cheaper rooms at this nondescript hotel hold great value, as for around 600 baht you are along the water and near the heart of Sairee beach. The facilities are mostly new and the lady who runs the joint is comparatively quite friendly. Only downfalls, there's no WiFi nor breakfast.

Don't let the dive schools fool you!! This hotel is under separate ownership and management, and if this accommodation is 'included' in the price tag of your diving course, you actually are paying an inflated price in order to cover the costs associated with housing you. Luckily, this is a good place to be situated.

Until now I have not commented about other reviewers, but in this case I will make an exception. It seems that those who stayed here and had a negative experience were likely looking for five star treatment at a two star price. And as for the staff being 'rude', I can only imagine it is due to a high degree of ethnocentrism.

Room Tip: the A/C rooms are not worth the inflated cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was included in our Open Water course. Our understanding is that they don't ten to advertise but rather take Open Water students from a variety if scuba schools - so you could easily end up here if you do a course. As a couple, we have been staying in mid-range accommodation for about 1,500baht. So for us, this was bearable but not ideal. We didn't spend much time in the room. Budget travelers might have thought better of it.

Bugs!! So many bugs!! Spiders, Mosquitos and geckos (which scream loudly). Your noisy neighbors will consist of cicadas and a rooster which crows from 6am onwards.

No hot water, no top sheets, no free wifi, no housekeeping, no pool and you'll need buy toilet paper after you've run out of the supplied two rolls.

It is very close to the beach. Had no problems with security or theft.

This is budget accomendation and doesnt pretend to be otherwise so I can't rank it too poorly and can't compare it to other budget spots. So take my review with a grain of salt. Normally costs 600baht per night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place itself is alright, but you can find way better accommodation for a more competitive price. There's no real communal vibe to the place. The beds were decently comfortable, and the place was kept clean. The shower had horrible water pressure.
I would call it just average all around however the lady at the front desk was extremely rude on a couple of occasions - you don't ever see her, but when you have to interact with her it's unpleasant. We locked our key in the room by accident and she acted like we were the scum of the earth! Prik Thai indeed!
No free wifi at the bungalows by the way - only paid.
Skip this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Do yourself a favour and don't stay in this resort. It may be the perfect location, close to the beach and all the restaurants but I had my gold necklace stolen from the bottom of my backpack whilst staying in one of their beach huts. My friend also had her laptop and i pod taken. Even though the door has a padlock on it cleaners and staff are always in and out of the room. Please please dont stay here there are so many other cheap places just next door. oh and when we paid for our laundry it came back stinking of dampness!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It was okay overall, and the staff was nice, though they didn't seem to be around much. But there were ants all over the place in our room from the time we got there. Our room was 600 baht, and with the huge number of accommodation options around Sairee Beach, I imagine there's got to be a better budget place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is not very well known by the internet review/backpacker community, namely due to the fact that they are a simple shop, ran and owned by local Thais - and aren't on any of the major booking websites.

But that isn't to say you shouldn't be making this your first stop! Simply put, this place is a home away from home. The location is prime, situated directly in the middle of Sairee Beach - which is a prime location for this island. As the previous reviewer mentioned, it is also directly adjacent to Scuba Junction - one of the (if not THE) top rated dive shops on the island. In fact, I believe the two businesses work together to provide a limited number of discounted accommodations for customers diving with that shop.

Not that a discount is really needed, as this place is already very cheap. For 250-300BHT per night, you get your own bungalow with a fan, located right off the beach. For the traveler that has a bit more of a budget, they even have fully furnished air conditioned units, with a fridge, flat screen TV and the beach literally at your door step. You can't beat it!

Hopefully, this place will be able to get onto some of the big websites for booking online, after which it's certain to be a highly sought after place. Rumor has it, they're even building a pool and some other amenities that guests are certain to appreciate.

The owner, Noki, is very friendly and generous. There isn't much you can't ask of her that she can't get done, including booking your travel onward at a competitive price. Be sure to tell her you were sent there, as she'd love to hear it and may even toss in some freebies!

Room Tip: Bungalows made of wood can get very hot during the day, so if you're the type that likes to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prick-Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prick-Tai Resort

Address: 10/ 44 Moo 1, Sairee Beach | Koh Tao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prick-Tai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.