We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lounge & Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lounge & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Lounge & Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   32/6 Moo 4, Bankai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Unterföhring, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 weeks in this nice resort, the Staff was very friendly! It is a Good Place when you want to stay in a relaxing nice Area with a fast Access to fullmoonparty, halfmoon and Drive to thong sala (Main City of phangan with a Brillant Food Market!!) they Drive u for free to full and halfmoonparty! The breakfast was Not a Buffet, you had to choose what you want (May they can Change in the Future to Buffet ..:) ) the normal Food was really Good, but we like on Thailand eating from foodmarkets more than any Restaurant! The rooms are clean, good located (seaview is Great!!!) but very Basic (no tv). Everything You Need to have a Great Time there! There is no Party or loud Music, it is to relax!!! The owners and the Young waiter are very very friendly and take very well Care of you! We will come in Jule 2014 again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
2
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in the Bay Lounge resort a little set back from the venue of the Full Moon Party about 3km. However the rooms with the view of the sea onto the private beach is absolutely stunning. The large windows give the room an airy , light, feel, which is refreshing. The staff were simply amazing , friendly, courteous and helpful. They picked me up from the pier and delivered me to the resort. They even took the liberty to drop me off and pick me up from the 7/11 store so i could pick up some sundries. The resort is warm and welcoming and it is very easy to get to know the staff . It was the personal touch to my individual needs that I liked , from booking tours and making reservations for dinner to making polite conversation. A very enjoyable stay. A DJ comes in once a week who also plays at the Fullmoon Party who I thought was excellent and it does liven up the place. The resort does not attract the backpacker type, more for couples and or groups of friends. It's a place to relax away from the banging tunes of Haad Rin and after a busy morning / afternoon of activities and sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for the half moon party. The location is great and the rooms were right on the water. The beds were super comfortable and the room was nice and clean. If you like super hot showers though don't look for that here. Shower was lukewarm. Also the hotel was the "official" hotel for the Half moon party but yet charged us for getting UV body paint on their towels (we were charged about $11 USD), however to be fair they do warn you about this but I think it's kind of ridiculous. Also keep in mind this property is located at the bottom of a steeep hill and most taxi drivers do not go down to drop you off so you have to walk with your luggage down this super steep hill. The restaurant at the hotel was above average and fairly priced as well and the staff was pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location is nice, great view, however it is in the middle of nowhere, and the water on the beach is too shallow to swim in.
However the location is mainly beautiful, and the resort nice and clean, but the main problem is the staff. The housekeeping is not cleaning the room, even after asking for it several times nothing happend. So we end up cleaning our room by ourselves and just asking for toilet paper, because even that was lacking... They write in the hotel description that you would get free bottles of water in your room, but since no housekeeping is ever coming, of course you are not getting any water in the room. Even worse is the staff at the reception (two women), rude is just an understatement... you just can be lucky if they have "a good day" and allow your beach towels to be changed. But it also happened that we had to share one beach towel for several days... Within this rude staff, the outstanding people are the waiters, who are also helping you with luggage, kayak etc. they are amazingly polite, trying to help you wherever they can.
In total it is a nice resort, but on the way to Haad Rin beach there are several resorts which are nicer, more central, and where we would chose to go next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

staff were rude - pretended they could not understand english when we asked for anything and then one day they could understand us when their manager was there!! (the manager herself was lovely!!!) we had to ask for our room to be cleaned everyday which was only done 3 out of the 5 times we asked! food is nothing special and pricey compared to the island. rooms were small nothing special. beach was nice and nice views but water is shallow so cant swim. oh the the hill to get to the hotel is not a hill it is a small mountain!! taxi's would not go down there and to try and get down the hill after a few buckets is so dangerous!

Room Tip: do bother! much better places around!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Firstly, there is supposedly free transfer from the ferries to the hotel, however this isn't mentioned until you arrive at your hotel in a taxi you've paid for.

Secondly, this hotel is situated down such a steep hill, that literally no taxis are willing to drop you off at the hotel or pick you up. Instead, you have to walk up/down this crazy hill to get anywhere. It's a bit frustrating when you get dumped there with suitcases. The hotel provides some taxi service that will pick you up from the bottom of the hill, but it seems unofficial, the prices are chosen randomly, and we waited almost an hour for pick up.

We were very kindly upgraded to a beachfront room, but this was because it was low season (June) and there were no other hotel guests. The room was very small and smelled like mildew but was nicely decorated and we were given two bottles of water a day. Bathroom is a big shower room. Mosquitos are a problem.

The pool and beach area is nice with a good sunset view. Beach isn't really swimmable. It's very hard to stay there if you want to see the island as it feels far from anything else. The woman who runs the hotel is friendly and helpful with perfect English. Staff are generally sweet except one woman behind the bar, who seemed to have a constant frown.

Breakfast was included for us and was simple but good. Also, power was out with no warning/apology/attempt to compensate for a good few hours. This is quite a big deal in that sort of heat and frustrating to lose charging and wifi capabilities. The shower is also electric, so we lost that too.

Room Tip: I think we had the best room, and it wasn't great. If you're in the low season, don't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant if you goin half moon party because of preparty drink is little high priced. Didn't enjoy the food rooms lovely view lovely. Can't really swim in d sea though cause the water doesnt get deep for ages and ya keep banging your foot on rocks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lounge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lounge & Resort

Address: 32/6 Moo 4, Bankai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Lounge & Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Lounge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lounge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.