We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused staff but still top class service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Resort & Beach Club

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Hacienda Resort & Beach Club
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 105 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Confused staff but still top class service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Really nice place with some good facilities, such as a nice pool area, workout room, free pool table and so on. The staff is friendly but a bit confused. There are many employees but only a few that can help you in case of a question etc.

The sevice of the place is still very good. I rented a motorbike and the back tire went flat and also got shredded. I feared it would mean a big bill for me but I only had to change the inner tube and they took care of the rest and even gave me one more day for free... awesome service, I was very pleased :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi Ksloth
We thank you for your kind comments on our resort and facilities and are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Koh Phangan is a very easy going and relaxed tropical island for three weeks every month but when its full moon time things get a bit hectic and for us it's "all hands on deck". All of our team members from all departments help out and are sometimes a little out of place and not used to dealing with foreign tourists as English is not their first language. New staffing procedures are now in place to ensure this issue will not happen again.
We thank you again for the great comments on our moped rental service.

David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    17
    18
    34
See reviews for
1
24
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

hacienda is like ryan air but without the origional benefit of being cheap, it is massivley overpriced then i got charged nearly 30 pounds for having a little blood on the sheets which i know for a fact comes out in one wash,
the food is overpriced and i had to wait 1:30 for a panini because they refuse to write the order down so they were getting meals wrong throught the whole stay!
the location is pretty awfull, miles away from anything and you have to scramble over sharp rocks to get to the beach.
worst of all is the owners, very unfriendly english hasbeens maybe able to run this business 30 years ago now they seem bitter to all incomers being patronising and rude, even the people working there part time hate it there so that says a lot about this overpriced unfriendly "resort" strongly advise anywhere else, probably rather sleep on the beach!

Room Tip: none of them, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Girls
I remember you all very well. I'm a little shocked to see this review for several reasons. You guys were in party mode all the time and appeared to be having a great time hanging out with some of our staff and hitting all the parties. It was quite entertaining to hear of the previous nights activities in reception the following mornings.
You really should have mentioned the strange smell in your room, we would of rectified this or offered you a different room immediately.
Most of the items on our menu are of the western variety and do cost a little more. We are on a small tropical island and a lot of the ingredients in our dishes are imported.
For the record we have nearly completed our new Thai restaurant at the front of the resort are looking forward to satisfying everyone's budget.
I have checked my records on damaged sheets and you were charged for four sheets which were spotless when you checked in. You were charged 60 pounds for the sheets not 250 pounds.
As you were quite late checking out and had a ferry to catch, there was no time to even attempt cleaning the blood of the sheet (all 4 sheets have been removed from stock).
I am sincerely sorry it all ended on a bad note but we had to make sure you caught your ferry.

David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grasse
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed here for 5 nights during the full moon period. It was a nightmare. The bathroom smells like egg, the food in the restaurant is really not worth what it costs, as well as taking far too long to arrive! There is NO beach. The pictures on the website look nothing like the actual rooms!! When we arrived are sheets were dirty, and then they charged us for them! In the end we ended up having to pay an extra £250 worth of sheets. Two of them had neon paint on them, which I understood because they warned us about the paint. One sheet had a tiny splatter of blood on it where my friend had cut her knee. They gave us the chance to wash them, with only water. We asked for soap and they refused? They didn't even try and wash them themselves? The staff were rude and tried to over charge us. The only good thing about the place was the young guy who worked at reception. DONT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was promised to get a seaside bungalow, but it was more like a wooden shed. It was filthy and toiletpaper is suposed to be trown away in a bucket next to the toilet. Disgusting! The 'beach' is a pile of building brick and the sea is dirty on that side of the island. The area is boring. I've seen beautifull beaches on the island and I've heard that there are plenty of budget resorts with much better quality! Never go back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Janneke
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but please let me clarify these matters.
I don't know who promised you a seaside bungalow, I know it was not us because we simply don't have any ! and have never claimed as such, however the resort is on the beach.
You booked a very basic fan bungalow ( all of which will shortly be renovated ) and would gladly have given you an up-grade had you inquired. There are 15 types of room to choose from.
We don't demand the disposal of toilet tissue in the bins provided in the bathrooms. The waste water systems here on the island and in fact most of the country are delicate compared to the sewage systems of the west and developed countries.
The rocks and small boulders (not building blocks) installed by the government to combat erosion have gradually settled as was expected and we have receded the grounds to match them.
There are some stunning beaches at the northern part of the island with SOME budget resorts but here on the southern end of the island is where all the action, restaurants, retail and legendary parties are located.
David D.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in Hacienda Beach Resort for 5 nights in a bungalow with fan. First I was given a really crappy Bungalow which gave me the creeps just as I entered but due to my budget I refused an up-grade to AC bungalow. After 3 nights and a cockroach under my pillow, I found out that there were better equipped bungalows in the same price category and asked to switch rooms which was no problem.
Besides this the Resort is really enjoyable, the pool is refreshing cold and clean, there are wooden chairs to enjoy the sun. Swimming is impossible since the water is very flat and the ground spiked with shells which makes walking in the water unpleasant. The food at the restaurant is okay but prices are higher than outside. The resort lies in short walking distance to restaurants and there is even a Tesco available be 20 minutes walk. wifi is available but only at the restaurant and not very strong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello Marry M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently renovating all of our wooden bungalows. Any time one of the renovated bungalows becomes available we always offer guests in non renovated rooms to change rooms which usually puts a smile on their face just as it did for you.
Due to the geographical layout of the island, most of the resorts, restaurants, retail and main towns are located on the southern part of the island. There are some stunning beach's only ten to fifteen minutes away by moped or taxi.
Thank you for the nice comments on the resort and the facilities and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again one day.

David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Terrible rooms, stinky showers (with no water pressure), windows didn't lock properly and you weren't allowed food or drink from outside the resort. As for the rest of the 'resort'... Somehow even worse. Most expensive meals on island and they were the worst meals of our entire trip in Thailand. Small, pool with bar attached, but drinks are super expensive. Beach was super rocky and not easy to access. Staff were extremely unhelpful and there were soo many of them, most seemed to just sit around and act nonplussed if asked a question. Basically spent as little time at 'resort' as possible. Would literally have stayed anywhere else on island if I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Overall it is a good resort, right at the beach, even though it may be a little noisy at times.

However we had to throw out cockroaches and lizards every night before sleep. They always managed to faind their way back in. Also heard a story about a snake in another room. Rooms should be better isolated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Laurynas83
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort.
I suspect you were staying in one of our non renovated wooden bungalows.There are spaces that these little harmless Gecko's ( not lizards) can get through and they feed on mosquitoes and other insects which is not such a bad thing. We apologize about the cockroaches in your room but if you did not request to have your room cleaned we would not have had a chance to spray for them.
Every 2 or 3 months a small non poisonous grass snake finds it way on to the resort. I remember this incident and the little guy was actually outside on one of the open balconies. The maintenance crew always have a laugh trying to catch them and they are promptly returned to their natural habitat.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Resort & Beach Club

Address: 100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda Resort & Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hacienda Resort & Beach Club you will have an experience unlike anything else on this legendary party island. Owned and managed by a crew of vibrant, energetic Europeans and staffed by highly trained attentive locals. The standards you expect are typically exceeded.With a full range of facilities & various types of rooms to fit into any budget, from backpacker to luxury travelers, Hacienda is the perfect place for your holiday.Hacienda Resort & Beach Club is a five minute walk to the Thong Sala (main pier) and Thong Sala Town (main shopping area). It is a fifteen minute drive to Haad Rin Beach. The Samui International Airport is a 30-minute ferry ride, followed by a 2-minute taxi ride.Fitted with tiled flooring and a private bathrooms, modern rooms come with either air conditioning or fan. Cable TV, minibar and hot water shower are included in all rooms other than our budget wooden bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.