We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, nice but not so cheerful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Hacienda Resort & Beach Club
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 112 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cheap, nice but not so cheerful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here to enjoy the full moon party in August. Initially dropped off in an expensive tuk tuk, very hot and bothered with a lot of luggage after countless ferry delays.
Checked in and booked the most basic room which cost about £5 a night each, so we wern't expecting anything. The room was basic with fan, mossie net and cold shower, but I felt was adequate for us. Of course a wooden hut will have bugs, so if you are bothered by that don't stay in the basic huts, for us it did ok. The resort itself was nice, the pool was a nice touch, refreshing and the music from the bar was good chilled and not too loud to wake everyone up. It had a nice sunshine chilled vibe. The food was reasonable but got boring as there is not really anywhere else to go from here. Location wise it was easy to get to and from full moon but pre book your taxi which we did, made it easy! Otherwise not anything to do in this area.

The beach wasn't really much of a beach but a nice shore to chill out on. The free kayaks were a nice bonus and we had a paddle up and down. Nice sunset from the beach along the shore. Lovely clear water.

The only thing we felt let us down was reception staff.Despite us paying for an extra night because the minimum stay for full moon party, they were rude to us because we checked out at 4pm saying we should have been out at 10am, despite us saying we had paid for another night so can check out when we like, they didnt care and were still rude, which was a shame. Not everyone was rude though, the bar/kitchen staff were nice.

Overall enjoyed our short 2 night stay here, but would maybe pay more for a/c room but for price have no complaints. Pool and music made it good. Location could be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    24
    22
    45
See reviews for
1
30
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda Resort since we found the comments and reviews quite positive and helpful.
The first impression on the location was very positive as well.
However here is what we experienced.
We checked in and were told that due to renovation we are offered a complimentary upgrade from our booked Bungalow.
We dropped the luggage to discover the area and returned late to the place. The bar music was at a comfortable noise level and all seemed very cozy. The next morning we discovered that the walls were covered with mold as well as the bathroom. Also the mattress was wet where it touched the wall leaving even the sheets wet. The blanket also had spots which we were unable to identify.
We informed the staff and were first told that our Bungalow shall be ready soon and we can relocate. After showing the room to one of the supervisors he agreed to the condition and assured us to look into further options once the guest relations manager would arrive.
We had to go to the reception asking for the manager since there was no reaction after one hour of waiting and we wanted to start our day.
Approaching to the reception we discovered that they were still having their breakfast and we felt uncomfortable interrupting.
By this moment we had already enough bad impressions and asked about the option to leave.
The manager offered us an additional upgrade with the impression that we do not deserve it and are acting so due to the upcoming events.
We were shown a very nice room but however due to the attitude provided to us we did not feel comfortable to stay and decided to leave the island.
Unfortunately the departure and discussion about a refund for the not used night went verbally very emotional, personal and was not representable for this place. The payment was not refunded since the money seemed to be more important then the satisfactory of their guest.
We thank Dave the supervisor for all his actions taken and sadly have to note that the guest relations manager at that day seemed dramatically rood giving us a very unprofessional bad attitude. Also talking about the bungalows being literally s**** and that you may see this on the website.
The blame for the mold in the room was given towards this "being a tropical Island in a THIRD WORLD COUNTRY". The term third world country was used completely incorrect in an inappropriate manner discriminating the Kingdom of Thailand. However our impression on Thailand is a different one.
You might have a different impression at this place but unfortunately we will not and can't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I would like to start by apologizing to you again about the room. The weather for five days before you arrived was raining. That afternoon the sun came out. I assure you we did not know of any mold problem in the room or we would not have placed you there. The room is in the process of being repaired now. It will be closed down until we rectify this problem.

We were not trying to insult the Kingdom of Thailand by our comments either. As foreign residents of this country we are here because we love this country very much. The fact is building, electric and water standards are not at the same level as most Western countries. This is one of the reasons people flock here on holiday. It keeps everything inexpensive and is a perfect holiday destination for backpackers and budget travelers. Problems occur on a regular basis due to these facts. Air-conditioners burn out quickly due to electrical peaks and drops, water levels become low over dry season, and the tropical environment is a breeding ground for things like mold. All we can do is our best to fix problems quickly and efficiently and try our best to keep customers happy.

If any of us had noticed the issues the day we checked you in it would have been rectified right away. As the case was none of us, neither you nor our staff here, recognized this problem until the next day. We can do a lot to keep customers happy but unfortunately we cannot turn back time. By the morning you were already intent on leaving. We showed you several other rooms, all of which were a tremendous upgrade from what you had paid for. Nothing was going to make you happy. I truly wish we could have done more.

No one said anything about the bungalows not being up to par. We are constantly doing renovations on our rooms to make sure everyone's experience here is everything they expect it to be We make sure every few months the rooms are freshly painted and any issues are corrected before causing customers problems. This was the case with the room you had originally booked. We tried our best to fix everything before you arrived, but the room still smelled of paint and was not suitable for guests. Normally everything would have been ready and waiting for you, but the wet weather prevented the paint from drying quick enough. Rainy season in Thailand brings with it many problems. This, however, is not your problem, which is why we gave you a free upgrade as soon as you arrived.

Let me please note you did not even move to another resort on Koh Phangan but left the island completely. All of our websites state that Full Moon week is full of parties and this area of the island is not the place to stay if you are expecting a quiet, relaxing holiday. You had mentioned to us when you checked in that quiet and relaxing was what you were looking for. You were unhappy before even seeing the room. We offered to even give you a free upgrade to another location, one which tends to be a bit quieter, but you said you were not here for the Full Moon party and would be happier leaving Koh Phangan completely.

We can do a lot here to make sure your holiday is as perfect as possible, but we cannot stop the Full Moon party. It is the reason that every other person at this resort) and every other in the area) were here. To drink, party and have a fun time. Koh Phangan is quiet and tranquil for three weeks out of the month, you just happened to come the one week it is not.

I hope the rest of your holiday runs smoothly and you have a very happy honeymoon. I apologize Koh Phangan and Hacienda were not what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My review starts with not being collected from the pier after paying for a taxi to hacienda i was told it wasnt included. After inquiring it turns out it was and we got an apology.

Moving on the room could do with an upgrade as the rest of the resort seems to be at a much higher standard but it did the job

food in the restaurant is really good and its price was ok aswell

one thing that did annoy me was when relaxing with about 7 other people watching a movie two lads turned up and it seemed even tho i had spent 2000 baht on food and drink within the hour that my opinion ment nothing a staff member turned on the other telly and was blaring a football game when we asked them to turn it down as we couldnt hear the movie it was ignored and the staff member little thai guy in a rooney jersey turned it up even more . I have no problem with a match being on but when i am half way through a movie and spent a fortune on dinner and drinks even by western standards i dont expect to loss preference over a football game .

Apart
accommidation ok
staff half and half
and location good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments, both good and bad.

For future travelers, we try to be at every ferry arrival, but sometimes two boats come in at the same time from different piers. To ensure we are their to collect you for your free pick-up (Thong Sala only) please call or email us either before you leave you last location or call from the pier once you arrive. The hotel you stay at before Koh Phangan should be more then happy to let you make a quick local phone call.

As for the situation with the football game, if it was just one or two people watching we would have turned it down for you. As the case was this was a major game and about 30 people were deeply involved with watching it. I apologize greatly if our staff seemed rude to you. There is no excuse for this. But please understand sometimes you cannot make everyone happy. The room you stayed in did have a private television with access to the same channels. I understand the group atmosphere in our lounge is nice, but when you want to do something differently than the group sometimes privacy is best.

Thank you very much for your honesty. We hope your holiday has been wonderful overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights, and on both occasions the staff where very helpfull and informtive, relaxed etc.. The rooms on both occasions where perfect, right next to the beach, with CLEAN swimming pool and pool bar, good food at restaurant, chill out area, motorbike hire, diving expeditions, (though expensive people said were awesome). I would recommend this place to anyone! (just make sure you book the resort and not the hostel, which is 5 minutes walk away and is very average

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments Andrew. We work very hard to keep our resort nice and make sure all of our guests are happy. It is always nice when someone lets us know our hard work is appreciated. It seems most people only remember to write reviews when something goes wrong! It takes a special person to take the time to give someone a compliment and we all thank you. Please come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here a while back on 2 seperate occasions. Stayed in one of the best rooms and one of the worst. 800 baht for the better room and 250 baht for one of the worst. in my opinion they overcharged on both accounts. More expensive room - strange smell, fridge didn't work, insects crawling around inside fridge, bathroom walls not closed - open to the rest of the room so no privacy. Cheaper Room - horrific little hut with holes in the walls, beds had holes and could see through to the ground below, bathroom crawling with ants. I know the price is extremely low but that's no excuse for how dirty these rooms were, considering it is under farang/foreign management I was shocked at how disorganised everything was. The resort itself is ok, reception is nice, restaurant looks ok, pool was good with swim up bar..Overall just not a good experience. Was supposed to stay more than one night the second time but checked out early.

Room Tip: Stay in the concrete building block, perhaps these rooms are less prone to bugs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
It sounds like you had many problems while you were staying here, but my staff said you never mentioned anything. Please be aware that our 800 baht bungalow is not "one of the best rooms." This room is a concrete fan room with television, hot water shower and minibar. Our best rooms go up to 4000 baht per night. I am not sure what strange smell you a referring to. These rooms are all newly painted and renovated. As for the fridge, I am not sure what room you stayed in exactly but no other customer had complained. We have checked all of our refrigerators since your response as we do take customer complaints very seriously. Nothing was found top be wrong with any of these. Some were turned down low and all that was needed was the temperature dial turned down. The bathrooms are all sealed. There is a gap between the door and the sealing about 2 meters up to allow air flow and prevent mold and mildew. This does not prevent privacy in a room. If the person staying in your room with you stands on the bed they can see down, but this is the person you are choosing to travel with! Our rooms are private rooms, not dorm rooms and we do not place other people in the rooms with you.

Our budget wooden bungalows are just that - budget. We lit them as open-air thai-style wooden bungalows. The description even says they are built to promote airflow and lizards and insects can get in. They are not newly built. They are cheap and affordable for the average backpacker, but they are not dirty. A spider on the wall and a gecko on the ceiling does not make a dirty room. This is a tropical island and if you are staying in a budget bungalow this is something you should expect. The bathrooms, walls, floors are all cleaned and disinfected and there are always clean linens on the beds. We do offer sealed concrete fan rooms for budget travelers that want a little more comfort and luxury.

It seems you were happy with everything other than your room. I truly wish you would have mentioned this to us while you were here. We are always happy to do our best to make sure all of our guests are happy and satisfied with their experience here. I apologize you did not enjoy your time with us. If you do ever choose to come back please let us know. We will do our best to make up for your bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, i was worried at what i was going to find. I was glad we didn't cancel our stay at the hacienda because we really enjoyed the 7 days we stayed. I booked through the internet for 5 nights but after the great atmosphere and brilliant friendliness from the staff, such as Dave in reception and Tammy and Lee in the restaurant, we decided to extend for a further 2 nights. The food was excellent and reasonably priced for this type of holiday resort. As more mature guests, we didnt think on our 1st night of arrival that we would fit in to this very young scene. We were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in a lovely bungalow and found the accomodation really comfortable with a great mini bar.

Room Tip: Book via the web to get the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thanks for the comments. We had a great time while you were here and hope you will return again soon! Special thanks from Dave, Tami, and Lee for the shout out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a great time here over last full moon. Great resort, clean room and staff very friendly. What more could you ask for at this price! Ended up extending my stay to include a scuba diving course through the resorts diving school. Very friendly and helpful english speaking staff, more like your mates than instructors! Lovely pool side bar with great atmosphere will definitely be coming back here in the near future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika W, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We appreciate the comments Andy. The divers all miss having you around, as do the rest of us. Glad we managed to fit everything you wanted to do into the short time you had here, especially with the Full Moon madness! It's always good to plan things in advance if you have your heart set on an activity in Koh Phangan over this busy time period. Many people miss out! We can't wait until you return next year. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Resort & Beach Club

Address: 100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda Resort & Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hacienda Resort & Beach Club you will have an experience unlike anything else on this legendary party island. Owned and managed by a crew of vibrant, energetic Europeans and staffed by highly trained attentive locals. The standards you expect are typically exceeded.With a full range of facilities & various types of rooms to fit into any budget, from backpacker to luxury travelers, Hacienda is the perfect place for your holiday.Hacienda Resort & Beach Club is a five minute walk to the Thong Sala (main pier) and Thong Sala Town (main shopping area). It is a fifteen minute drive to Haad Rin Beach. The Samui International Airport is a 30-minute ferry ride, followed by a 2-minute taxi ride.Fitted with tiled flooring and a private bathrooms, modern rooms come with either air conditioning or fan. Cable TV, minibar and hot water shower are included in all rooms other than our budget wooden bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.