We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy a practical place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Busaba Hotel

Baan Busaba Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Busaba Hotel to your Saves list
Baan Busaba Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150/6 Moo 1, Thongsala, Koh Phangun, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fancy a practical place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place ticks all the boxes in practicality, safety and comfort at a good price. The staff were so kind to us, we felt so much at home. The hotel in general is nice and clean in the areas I saw. It seems a family run place so that's maybe why the relaxed approach, but it didn't bother me, its actually better when things are informal on holidays anyways.The room was big for three sharing, although the third bed which was an extra bed was not as comfortable. The sheets were not so clean (stains from prolong use) but a change in duvey covers and sheets was quickly addressed with no fuss. The bathroom had a plumbing issue plus no shower door to cover whilst showering, but these a cosmetic things that can be fixed. Breakfast was modest and adequate. Hotel pool is great and area is safe and easy to go in and out of the main part of the island. Taxis are easily available and reception will help you with any needs. Was close to the port and small town with a few rows of shops etc. plus a market that I didn't get the chance to explore but maybe on my next trip! Going to the main part of the island is interesting in the back of the trucks and the winding roads and sea view at some points, it's a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cras, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Clean cheap ideal location lovely people great pool good value too.. nice food and very helpful people.. I highly recommend this place for a stay in thongsala.. ........'............ .............
It's so annoying to have to write 200 characters!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is ideal for anyone going to the full moon party. It is basic but its one of the few places in ko Phangan that is clean and safe(and has a pool). The staff are very nice but with true island style everything is done at a snails pace. For example the food in the restaurant is very slow...took over 45 minutes to get get a stir fry and breakfast took over an hour (though when it arrived it was delicious). The pool was a nice addition on a hot day. The hotel itself is a 15 minute walk from the harbour where the ferry comes in but if you have heavy suitcases you would be better off getting a taxi for a couple of Baht. It is about a 30 minute drive to the full moon party in Haad Rin but the owner was nice enough to drive us down in her pickup truck for 200baht each (4euro). Overall i would highly recommend Baan Busaba to anyone coming to Ko Phangan. I did a lot of research into hotels on the island as i had heard a lot of horror stories and when we arrived I was very happy with my decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I love this place. The staffs are helpful and friendly. I was there traveling with my friends and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were there for the Full Moon Party.

Love the room. Big beds, clean and comfortable. Very near to the night market, walking distance. Love it!!

Will stay there again someday. :)))))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here for the full moon party was impressed with what we got for the price. Rooms were basic but fairly large and clean. Hot water was missing at some times of the day. Breakfast was simple (one choice from 6 options) free wifi in the complex and helpful receptionist. 15 mins taxi at 100thb to the full moon was a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is lovely. It's not in the party area of Haadrin but is only about 12k away. It takes about 20 mins by scooter and 15 by taxi (100B/person). Thong Sala is a small port area with not much to do but there are loads of activities not far away.

The hotel itself has pretty spacious rooms that are clean and simply decorated. There is a nice bathroom but no shower curtain which I did find difficult! The pool area is fabulous with loads of sun-loungers and a little waterfall effect. You can also rent bikes and book ferries at reception.

The staff were also really amazing, they offered to drive us to town on our first day even though it was only 2 minutes to walk. They also allowed us to stay up in the breakfast area one night until very late because we wanted to watch a sporting event that wasn't on the channels we had (after finding it and putting it on for us). Another great thing about this place is that they don't have a minimum stay length during full moon party times, we found a lot of places that said minimum 4 nights or more. I would recommend this place for either a relaxing wind down or a great escape from (and after) the full moon madness!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My 12 month old son and I stayed here for nearly a month. It was perfect for us, walking distance to thongsala town, lovely pool, brilliant friendly staff, great food, rooms lovely and clean, big bath and shower, a/,c tv, fridge big beds, clean and comfy. really recommend Baan Busaba I have lived on koh phangan for 4 years previously and cant think of a more suitable hotel for big clean reasonable priced accommodation if i had to mark it down the only thing i can think of is the bathroom could use a little tlc. They were very clean but slightly aging shower fittings but still a massive improvement from much more costly places on the island!!!

Room Tip: all rooms over look the pool ;-) and coconut trees view from the window. all have balcony space at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baan Busaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Busaba Hotel

Address: 150/6 Moo 1, Thongsala, Koh Phangun, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Busaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Busaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Busaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.