We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Maehaad Bay Resort to your Saves list
Maehaad Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We found this resort by accident when looking around this lovely beach. We decided to stay as it looked so beautiful and we weren't disappointed. Friendly attentive staff, a lovely room with a great view, standard Thai breakfast and a fantastic location. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is the second year that we (active retired couple) have been able to stay a week or more at Maehaad resort. It suits us perfectly: ordinary ("superior") room is 4-star quality, clean and bright, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, nice balcony. We are happy to stay on the resort without seeking off-resort entertainment. We read, doze, swim a lot in the clean and huge wonderful pool, swim in the ocean at the adjacent beach, and enjoy the very nice beachfront restaurant at the adjacent backpacker-level hotel. Breakfasts are very pleasurable.

I wasn't going to offer this review, as almost all reviews are similarly positive. Until I read meat82's review, who finds poor quality everywhere in this resort. I simply do not recognize the resort about which he writes. Perhaps he misses the gold-plated taps?

The resort is not inexpensive. But it is well worth the cost. I have used countless hotels in Thailand over the past several years at all star levels. The Maehaad resort has twice given me as fine a holiday as I can imagine. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed in this resort for 10 days and we loved it. We had a villa with private jacuzzi right in front the pool and just few steps away from the beach. It was awesome! The resort is luxurious and very quiet (don't come here if you want to party). The restaurant is very good and not too expensive, compared to other resorts of the same category. The pool is amazingly huge. The staff is very friendly but their level of English is not soo good. Mehaad beach is great for snorkling and diving and is still very wild (so not so much shops and restaurants around as some other beaches). On the downside, we had free wifi but it was real slow and sometimes not working at all, except in the commun areas (restaurant, pool, front desk).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This was the largest hotel we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in Thailand. Whilst our room was huge, clean and extremely comfortable (largest bed ever) as others have pointed out furnishings are starting to show wear and tear. Service in restaurant was extremely slow and haphazard. Staff at both restaurant and reception pretty inept. Beach is lovely. With a bit of good management this could be a great hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

After a few nights in the full on Koh Saumi it was lovely to relax at the Maehaad bay resort in Koh Phangan. The staff are lovely, rooms are great, the pool is amazing! And breakfast by the beach was a great way to start the day. If you want somewhere lively then this is not the place for you its a 15minute scooter ride to the main village and 45mins from the full moon party but the hotel do a transfer service for those heading off to the full moon. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a 7 night stay on koh phangan. Chose this location as away from the party scene of the island and we were not disappointed. Stayed in deluxe room which was large, huge bathroom and big out door living area. Bed was big and hard- best nights sleep I've had in ages. Pool was lovely. Staff helpful and friendly. Can't give a big review on breakfast as only managed to get up in time for it once, but selection was good and tasty. Hired kayaks which I would recommend. Would def come back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in their amazing and spacious villa with a outdoor Jacuzzi. Beach wasn't fantastic and we swam in their pool instead. I must say that we have truly enjoyed their speedy, personalised and warm service. Room was so comfortable and relaxing after a hard day of traveling from the jetty. There is this convenient store just right outside the resort where we stock up all the cheap drinks and snacks. The streets are unusually creepy and quiet at night. We have had reasonably priced and tasty home cooked thai food just a 5 min walk away outside the resort with nice ambience.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi villa just right in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maehaad Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.