We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST DISSAPOINTING!! BE WARNED....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maehaad Bay Resort to your Saves list
Maehaad Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“MOST DISSAPOINTING!! BE WARNED....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We orignally booked this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor and Agoda and I must say that we were extremely dissapointed with this resort in almost every aspect. It does suprise me that some people seem to think that this resort is awesome. I can only think that such people are not used to staying in proper 4 star and above hotels!

On arrival, the exterior of the hotel, to the left of the entrance was littered with rubbish, rubble and cut off palm branches, empty bottles etc. Weeds are growing around the Hotel Signage and the woodwork that makes up the name of the hotel does not look like it has received any varnish in 5 years.

The room itself is large but on closer inspection was absolutely filthy and full of dust. It looked as if it has just been left the same from being used by the pervious customers. The airconditioner stank and their was a black mouldy buildup on the vents of the aircon. I called the staff to show them the state of the room and they just stood there looking at me. Just wiping my finger over any part of the room indicated a build up of dust. I asked for another room, but was told that they are fully booked up. I asked to speak to the manager but was told that he is in Bangkok - basically no one was put in charge and thus no one was going to take any responsibility at all.

There is not even any tea/ coffee in the room and the bar fridge literally had a few tins of cooldrink - nothing else. The curtains were stained - wonder when last they have been washed... we decided to take a walk of the grounds and have something to eat while they cleaned our room properly. During our five day stay, there was one gardener, but he just seemed to do as little as possible which shows as the grass does not look as if it has been trimmed around the edges in ages; there is litter lying in the garden areas and weeds growing everywhere. The sprinklers are just left on the grass with pipes running to waterpoints - surely these should be put away after use - it is very unsightly to say the least. The pool was really dirty and we did not once see anyone clean the pool during the 5 days. At best, they were possibly throwing chemicals into the pool, but if you used goggles underwater, you could see all the dirt on the bottom. Next to the pools, they have some showers which are to be used before climbing into the pool. One of these was blocked and remained so during our stay. There is a bubble type seating area in the pool - this never worked at all. A lot of the loungers around the pool are either broken or also have not seen varnish in many years. As for any service around the pool i.e. someone coming to take drinks orders etc - this does not exist at all. You have to walk all the way to the bar which is not attached to the pool area to place a drinks order and often there was no one at the bar either so you would then need to walk to the restuarant to find someone.

Our room was cleaned properly over the next few days. There are plenty of people who have mentioned about the bed being hard - this is an understatement. I had backache every morning and woke up continuosly during the nights due to being uncomfortable. The water pressure in the rooms is a joke as well...

The rooms are not sound proof by any means and you constantly hear doors banging and we could also hear the neighbours TV playing.

For a 4 star resort, the breakfasts are a joke. The choice is limited and not very nice at all. There are flies all over the place. I chose to not have breakfasts on 2 mornings.

As for activities at the hotel, this does not really exist - My wife asked if we could use a kayak and, if I am not mistaken, they wanted to charge her 200 baht per hour. You can rent a motorbike for the whole day for that price - ridiculous!

The beach is average at best - cant really swim and lots of rough sand and rocks.

We have stayed at 5 hotels in our 3 week holiday and this hotel was the worst by far in every department. If you are expecting a proper 4 star hotel with great service, a clean and tidy enviroment, great service and the normal 4 star standards, then this is not it. However, if you are used to a 2 - 3 star enviroment, then you may be satisfied with it.

In closing, please just read my other reviews on other places that I have stayed and you will notice that they are generally all very positve. Maehaad Bay Resort has the potential to be a proper 4 star resort but it needs to close down for a month and go through a full maintenace makeover and clean up and standards and service need to improve dramatically.

I took a lot of photos of the state of this resort, but have not been able to upload yet - wll do so, when in a position too.

Maehaad Bay Resort will never however see me again.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My friends and I stayed at his resort for 3 nights. We had a really bad experience the first day. We couldn't find the driver who was suppose to pick us up at the airport for an hour and a half. We had a friend call the resort to report that we were still at the pier, they sent a another driver. When the driver met us, he made it clear he was angry even though he did not speak english. He sped up on winding roads and ran motorcycles off the road. It was quite a traumatic experience.

Once we arrived to the hotel, my room was very nice but I learned soon after that two of my friends' rooms did not have running water. Apparently, the majority of the resort was out of water. This lasted for about 5-6 hrs. The rest of the stay was average. Most of the staff is hard to communicate with since they have limited or no english knowledge. They also claimed their manager was out of town and they have very little authority on what to do. Not the workers fault, this is a problem management needs to address on how their staff handles situations.

The workers at the restaurant Kantiwit and Cee were very accommodating though and the deluxe rooms were nice. Also, right before I was about to leave and already sitting in the shuttle, the person who cleaned my room found my glasses and returned it. Other than that, this hotel needs to work on how their staff responds to issues.

Room Tip: beds were quite hard in both the deluxe and superior rooms. For a little more money, the deluxe roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. Good service, nice rooms.
For some reason it is not common to explain how big the beds are, which is a factor when traveling with children. The two bed room plus extra bed we had easily sleeps a family of 5.
Ok, the beach may not be the best for swimmers, but for snorkeling it is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights in a deluxe room. The room was extremely spacious with a huge bathroom. Very nicely furnished with a huge bed. We also had a lovely two sided balcony with pool and sea view. My niece and partner with young child were staying in a superior room (slightly cheaper) but they experienced noise from adjoining rooms. We did not have any problems at all. We loved how peaceful the resort was and the beach was absolutely stunning and very unspoilt. The pool at the hotel was lovely (apparently the biggest one on the island!). The staff were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was fine but towards the end of the breakfast serving some things had run out but it wasn't a major problem. Breakfast was served in the restaurant overlooking the sea which is so lovely. There aren't a great deal of restaurants to eat at in the evening (although the hotel serves food and drink which is not expensive) but would highly recommend the Wang Sai restaurant which can be reached via a little bridge off the beach. At the far end of the beach is a little beach bar which serves great food.

We travelled to thong sala a few times which was a bit of a trek (20-25 mins drive) but the hotel would provide a taxis at a very reasonable rate.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 12 nights with my partner and 2 year old son, with my family staying too in a different apartment. The main reason we chose here is because of the pool for our son, and was the best bit about the place, the temperature made the pool warm, sun always shining on it, right amount of sunbeds around for the guests staying (always enough for everyone) and extremely clean. Our room was lovely, although had an ant problem in a few areas but they are so tiny compared to ours here in the UK it didn't bother us at all. Our room was cleaned everyday and towels replaced. Everything worked well, balcony had a great view of the pool and sea and was shaded throughout the day. Only problem with where we stayed was the noise from either side of our room, the walls are quite thin and can hear even just talking which when late as night was quite annoying, so would recommend if you stay and have young children or enjoy your sleep to stay in the next level room which I think is called superior as they have no rooms either side and my family who stayed there heard nothing.
The staff here are fantastic, there is nothing they won't do for you and made us feel very special. They gave our son lots of attention which he loved, even down to the gardens always saying good morning and giving our son a playful high five! They have mine buses where if you book you pay 150 baby per person (around £1.50) to get into the main part of town which is about 20 minutes away so totally worth it as it is the same price as if you were to get a normal taxi but their driver is there all day waiting to take anyone who needs to go.
Lots of lovely food places around, we tended to eat indoors when we could though due to the a annoying flies wanting a piece of your food! The breakfast in the restaurant was standards, nothing special unfortunately, and there were a few days where it was all a bit manic and things had run out and not been replaced, seems to have been when the main man who did the breakfast was not there, but again, staff are so friendly you don't mind as much.
All in all, if you are a couple or family, the
is definitely the place for you. This was our 4th time on the island (1st with our son!) which is why we chose something a bit more "upmarket" but if we come back again we are likely to stay in the traditional Thai hut as its more of a Thailand experience that way, being beside the pool here you could have been anywhere. There are too many beautiful places on the island and you can easily become lazy and not want to explore as much sitting by the pool, but can't fault the place at all. Had an amazing holiday and thank you to all the lovely staff!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great resort on One of the most beautifull spots on the Island. Extremely friendly staff, mostly competent aswell. Trainees at the reception who don't speak Englisch at all. Resort is two years old now, and already suffering from less care for maintenance. Rotten wood on the balcony's and the pool showers. Wiring still hanging out of te outside wall. The gym is pretty poor kept, and HOT ! Leaking airconditioning in the room, and no one available to fix it. All together a great location and place, but in strong need of good management and a maintenance plan. Otherwise, no four stars in the future......!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spent two nights in this gorgeous resort right on the beach. You can walk directly from the restaurant to the beach. All the rooms are set up to have a great view of the pool or beach.

The hotel has activities like snorkelling, kayaking, walk the sand bar to the little island etc. it's in a perfect spot on the bay. The beach out the front is nice and quiet with flat calm waters for kids and a few waves breaking for the adults.
There's some little huts out the front of 'why not bungalows' next door offering massages for 200tb per hour that are amazing! They're right on the water and the sound of the water is so relaxing.

There's some great bike and car hire places immediately out the front of the hotel, and a convenience store with Internet cafe. On the beach there's also another little store and restaurant that's cheaper than the hotel and the food is great. There's also a few restaurants all within a 2 minute walk from the hotel. So while this isn't the most happening part of town there's still everything you need at the doorstep.

The rooms themselves are massive, and the bathroom so big you could have a party in there! The bed etc is really comfy and the room more like a small apartment than a hotel room. We spent the day working from the room and there was plenty of room for the two of us between the large balcony and the room itself.

All staff were lovely and really helpful and attention to detail was paid at every step. Even the complimentary shampoo etc smelt really expensive. I used it instead of my own shampoo and my hair smelt and felt great!

The only thing that makes this hotel not get a top rating from me is the restaurant and room service. While the food tastes great and is a great price its incredibly slow. We waited about 2 hours for a sandwich and pasta. The staff were very apologetic and offered out meal for free but its not alot quicker dining in in person. However the buffet breakfast is quite good. If the hotel could sort out the food issue it would be a 5 star review from me without a doubt.

I'll still stay there again. In fact it would be my first choice of accommodation on the island but I'll eat elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maehaad Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.