We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for a relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Maehaad Bay Resort to your Saves list
Maehaad Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife & I had a six night stay at this resort. We stayed in a superior room which was enormous. There was a sitting area with direct access to the balcony that over looked the pool. The bedroom had a huge bed and adjacent bathroom with separate shower & enormous bath. The pool is long and attractive with 'infinity' views at either end. We ate at the restaurant on three occasions and while more expensive than eating out, is still reasonably priced and the food is good. Breakfast is okay but a little basic but as included in the price for our stay, it was fine. Our main reservation was with the lack of sun beds and sun bed cushions. The resort was quiet and fairly empty as far as we could tell, but there are limited numbers of sun beds and even fewer with cushions. Also, the Wi-Fi is free but not great and it appears that only one log-in is possible per booking. although I am pretty sure that you could ask for additional login's.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floors (third storey) have balconies that are in the sun during the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It could have been located in the Saudi desert, all green up until the end of the watering line. All brand new, luxuriously fitted out. The pool is incredible: huge (at fleast 50m), and bath-tub warm. And hot: few trees for shading. Wonderful room, bed, bathroom. The resort certainly provides all the creature physical comforts.

And full of emptiness. Maybe 6 parties (for about 50 rooms). Strange. Nobody in the more expensive chalets or suites.

The included breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate dinner at the next resort: walk toward the beach and turn left. The fish was superb.

I have felt odd about this review: such beautiful fabric, but leaving me with an emptiness.

And I have to add a comment about noise in tropical paradise. A loud tracked excavator worked all the time of our stay at building beach reinforcements. A groundskeeper of the resort spent all afternoon mowing the (1-cm high grass) lawn with a noisy 2-stroke weed-eater. A carpenter crew set up a bench saw underneath our apartment (until I stopped them). All I can say is: be careful. Ask whether construction is part of this resort menu.

Room Tip: Third floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In january we went to thailand for almost 2,5 weeks stying at Koh Samui for first 3 nights, then 5 nights in Koh Phangan, then back to Koh Samui and few nights in Bangkok on the way there. If we knew these places before we would go directly to Maehaad bay Resort. We booked this hotel via AGODA.com before leaving Europe and were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surpised :)
Great new hotel, nice clean pool althoug i am not really a pool person. Definitely not one of those huge hotels but very cosy, increadibly clean with very friendly staff. The beach directly in front of the hotel is not the best, but when you turn to the right and walk for 2 minutes you will find there a wonderful beach.
We only had breakfast at the hotel which was sufficient. We always ate out and the food was amazing.
Do not expect wild nighlife or any other exciting entertainments. It a place to relax and enjoy the peace. There is a great place on the beach called Mama´s where i was given the best massage ever from fresh aloe that they grow behind the building.
one day we took a guy from the beach with a small motor boat who took us around the eastern cost of the island. That was very nice. we stopped with him at variuos bays for coffees, bit of suntan and lunch and it was a very nice small adventure trip. He did not speak much english but it was fun.
I would definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: if you like to experience local food book only breakfast and eat out :) cheap and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amazing hotel - beautiful rooms and the biggest, most comfortable beds!!! Perfect setting for a wedding, it looked spectacular! The bartender B was so knowledgeable and accommodating and really went out of his way for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Mae haad for 7 days. It was one of the hotels that we had booket from home, and the deposit we had to pay in advance was the full amount for the stay. (Which striked us kinda odd, but we paid anyhow.. Knowing that we could get no refund if we where to cancel)! We arrived Mae haad, and where so happy.. Nice Big and clean rooms (deluxe) big nice pool and friendly staff...... BUT, the downsides we also learned about; the food in the restaurant is really bad AND expensive. (Thankfully we found a perfect restaurant called Pims restaurant just behind the hotel. (And half price) The beach was not that nice and its kinda dirty around it. There is absolutely nothing to do in the area, it's very very very quit. (For us it was ok since we travelled with our little baby, but if he had been 5 years or more we would have been bored to death staying there 7 days. (I actually think that is why they require the full amount when paying deposit and no refunds. Because they know that people will leave earlier, cause it is that boring)
Further, we where more or less the only ones at the hotel.. Weird!
The rooms was perfect and clean when we arrived, but as the days passed the cleaning got more and more lazy.. They didn't even bother to refill the snackbar, change and put in new glasses, give us new soap.....!
Finally - the wifi is almost non exciting, they say the have high speed Internet. - but it didn't work half the time, and it was sooo slow.
All in all... It's a nice place to stay for 2-3 days (if you eat at Pims restaurant) OR longer if you wish to do and see nothing. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

1)Has a really nice and big pool without cleaning materials, and water all the time changing, exellent.
2)Rooms really impressive.
3) Inside rooms have ants, not so nice, cause they are also in the bad, better check...
4)Giving big fines, for a dirty badclothes or towel, better use yours, other wise will wait for you fines on leaving :-)
5)Good restairant.
6) Found in an area very far from some bars and night life, its a place to sleep after 19:00...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel have very nice rooms, and poll and garden are marbeles, about 75 x 20 meter and there are only 50 rooms in hotel. Very polite staff but very few, no service by the pool. restaurent dont fit to the high standard of room and pool, and breakfast selection become smaller and smaller for every day. Beach is not good, surrouning is dirty and see button is full of sea urchins and sea cucumbers, remember bathshoe. If you want peace, this is the place.

Room Tip: all rooms is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maehaad Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.