We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and pool. The rest not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maehaad Bay Resort to your Saves list
Maehaad Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms and pool. The rest not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Mae haad for 7 days. It was one of the hotels that we had booket from home, and the deposit we had to pay in advance was the full amount for the stay. (Which striked us kinda odd, but we paid anyhow.. Knowing that we could get no refund if we where to cancel)! We arrived Mae haad, and where so happy.. Nice Big and clean rooms (deluxe) big nice pool and friendly staff...... BUT, the downsides we also learned about; the food in the restaurant is really bad AND expensive. (Thankfully we found a perfect restaurant called Pims restaurant just behind the hotel. (And half price) The beach was not that nice and its kinda dirty around it. There is absolutely nothing to do in the area, it's very very very quit. (For us it was ok since we travelled with our little baby, but if he had been 5 years or more we would have been bored to death staying there 7 days. (I actually think that is why they require the full amount when paying deposit and no refunds. Because they know that people will leave earlier, cause it is that boring)
Further, we where more or less the only ones at the hotel.. Weird!
The rooms was perfect and clean when we arrived, but as the days passed the cleaning got more and more lazy.. They didn't even bother to refill the snackbar, change and put in new glasses, give us new soap.....!
Finally - the wifi is almost non exciting, they say the have high speed Internet. - but it didn't work half the time, and it was sooo slow.
All in all... It's a nice place to stay for 2-3 days (if you eat at Pims restaurant) OR longer if you wish to do and see nothing. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

1)Has a really nice and big pool without cleaning materials, and water all the time changing, exellent.
2)Rooms really impressive.
3) Inside rooms have ants, not so nice, cause they are also in the bad, better check...
4)Giving big fines, for a dirty badclothes or towel, better use yours, other wise will wait for you fines on leaving :-)
5)Good restairant.
6) Found in an area very far from some bars and night life, its a place to sleep after 19:00...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel have very nice rooms, and poll and garden are marbeles, about 75 x 20 meter and there are only 50 rooms in hotel. Very polite staff but very few, no service by the pool. restaurent dont fit to the high standard of room and pool, and breakfast selection become smaller and smaller for every day. Beach is not good, surrouning is dirty and see button is full of sea urchins and sea cucumbers, remember bathshoe. If you want peace, this is the place.

Room Tip: all rooms is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I cannot express enough how pleased we are with the Maehaad Bay Resort!!! We hosted our wedding here in early February. The hotel catered for all 40 guests, and they did an outstanding job!

The rooms are new and modern, with beautiful Thai-inspired decor. They are very big, and spacious and are cleaned regularly to a high standard. We stayed in the Villa, so we had a massive bathroom, with an outdoor shower and spa. The pool is one of the highlights of the hotel; it is absolutely massive and centrally located, which made it an excellent meeting point for all the guests.

The staff were so helpful and friendly! Upon arrival we were treated to a cold drink and refreshing towel. Throughout our stay, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. On our wedding night, we were delighted to arrive back to our room being beautifully decorated with flower petals, and they even left a gift for us! The breakfast was exceptional, with a good variety to choose from and an amazing view across the bay.

The hotel is located in a quiet location on Koh Phangan, in the north-west corner. The hotel boasts an amazing backdrop of Koh Ma, which looked amazing in our wedding photos. Koh Ma is easily accessible during low tide by the sand bar, or by hiring one of the hotels kayaks and paddling across. There are many restaurants next to the hotel, and a convenience shop right across the road. There are also plenty of scooter hire shops near the hotel, however if scooters don't interest you, then the hotel will happily organise a taxi or a tour of the island.

I would like to give a special thank you to Kameron and his staff, for your contribution to our wedding. You each helped make our stay, and especially our wedding day, so memorable. We definitely will be coming back to stay here again, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Maehaad Bay Resort at which my daughter held her wedding. I could not fault the hotel or all of its services. The hotel is new and all of its facilities are excellent.It is located on a bay with a great view across the bay to a sandbar and island.The grounds are very good and the swimming pool is excellent. The rooms are all very good and being a new hotel very well fitted out.We enjoyed the breakfasts provided, all the food was excellent and the view across the bay added to the enjoyment. We did not have any meals apart from breakfast as there were a number of very good restaurants nearby.A bonus was the packed breakfast provived on our last day as we had an early ferry to catch.The wedding went without a hitch and all the staff concerned did a great job and took a real interest in making the wedding a success.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You can't go wrong with this one, while it is far from the main town, its a fantastic location, very clean and modern hotel, and a great beach area including a sandbar to Koh Ma during low tide. The hotel staff was excellent, the pool was very large and clean, there is a small village and several eating choices near by, the beach had a lot of massage choices and a great place for a sunset. We stayed with our 2 children and had a beautiful suite with separate bedrooms and a large deck overlooking the grounds. I'm sure one of the nicest places in Koh Phangan you can find. Didn't use the hotel restaurant for dinner but breakfast was good. They actually packed us a breakfast on our last day when we departed early before the restaurant opened. The driver was also helpful picking/dropping us at the pier.

Room Tip: Villas are great, we had a second story room with a large deck, many rooms had these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is very new; the rooms are spacious, comfortable and beautiful; the staff is very friendly; Mae Haad beach (5 minutes walk) is beautiful and quiet; the restaurant is very expensive but the food is OK, the view to the sea very nice and the staff very kind. The swimmimg pool is the nicest in all of Thailand! It is not a cheap hotel but indeed worth its value. Only the cleaning services is slow...

Room Tip: All are nice indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maehaad Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.