We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Swimming Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maehaad Bay Resort to your Saves list
Maehaad Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
wellington nz
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic Swimming Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a superior room which was new, modern, spacious and clean. This place fronts a lagoon which was low tide all day, but is only 2 minutes walk to a nice beach area with fantastic snorkeling. Tide was low so we did not swim but did snorkel and who needed a beach when you had a swimming pool like this one. Best ever!! Out back of resort and turn left to mini mart for cheapest snorkel hire at 50B per day (on beach 100b per hour). The other mini mart opposite the resort sells fantastic coconut oil made by her mother in little red bull bottles - smells like coconut rough - delicious. The pool which is absolutely huge (80 strokes) with plenty of loungers and very clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning was great with a good selection including freshly made waffles, croissant and donuts. We had dinner one night in the restaurant but it lacks atmosphere with a terrible selection of music from the 70s continually playing. The food was just average but expected better as the prices were high for this Island, especially cocktails, so we drank and ate at the restaurant on the beach around the corner which had really tasty food and reasonably priced food and drinks. Staff were excellent and friendly. Good TV and a couple of english channels. We got deal on Agoda for approx NZ$100

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boput
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited in August and really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, albeit on the 3rd floor, without a lift. The porter carried our cases though fortunately.

Check in was quick and we were soon relaxing on the balcony which overlooked pool and gardens.

Pool was the best feature of the hotel - it is absolutely ginormous although quite shallow (same depth throughout, other than a small childrens' end. There were two spa seats on either side although these were a bit temperamental. Large pool towels were provided in the room.

Air con only works when you're in the room as you have to leave the key fob in the wall slot - no big issue if you close the curtains before leaving the room to keep the sun out and room cool.

Biggest gripe with the hotel was the AWFUL music they played in the restaurant - think The Carpenters - same CD all day every day. We were ready to jump off the wall by the end and couldn't face sitting inside listening to it!!

There is a bar near to reception that appears to open at 5pm each day - well they switch the music on - but there was never a barman to order any drinks. VERY weird! The receptionist did get us a drink one day but had to go to the restaurant to get it. Odd? Yes!

Beware of cats - they appeared on the top floor staircase at night and freaked us out!

Hotel food is good but more expensive than other restaurants nearby (nicer surroundings and presentation though) but we couldn't face the dreaded music each night so ate out sometimes. At least here the starters arrive together, before the main course... In all other restaurants nearby they arrive ad hoc: Our starters arrived 30 minutes after we finished our main courses for example. If there's 2 of you, don't expect both main courses to come together - they just don't here, other than the hotel's restaurant!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here but be warned the hotel and area are very quiet at night - most people are in bed asleep by 10pm. The bathroom was fantastic - really big with a lovely spacious bath and separate shower. It took us a week to suss out the light switches for the rooms. In total we had 19!!

Would we stay here again? Yes for the pool, but only if they change the music...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights here and had we not booked onward travel, we would have stayed longer.
We had the most basic room (a superior in the main block) on the second floor which had a great view from the balcony over the pool and gardens. Our balcony was lacking furniture but that may be on order.
The hotel has only been open a few months so there were still one of two bits unfinished but nothing that impacted our stay.
The pool is superb and there is plenty of space to lounge around and enjoy the sun.
Our room was spacious and designed to within an inch of it's life (VERY modern) but we liked it despite the fact that the toilet doors are mostly transparent and there are so many mirrors that it's difficult to not see somebody on the loo...
The staff are very courteous and speak great English. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and the chef does the best mango sticky rice pudding we had. The included breakfast is massive and also very good.
Location wise, the beach is a 30 second walk and if the weather is with you, the snorkelling is pretty good just off the beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you can afford a pool view bungalow, go for it. otherwise the standard rooms are more than adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in February, we came across the hotel on a day trip, as we were staying on Samui, we loved the location and the hotel so booked 3 nights and returned the following week. The hotel had only been open a week, so there were a few teething problems, but this did not spoil our stay, in fact we booked an extra night. The location is so peaceful, due to it only just opening there were very few people in the hotel. The highlight of our stay was a group wedding which was held on the beach, the procession took place through the hotel, with the grooms arriving on elephants. I would definately stay here again if visiting Koh Phangan.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

The resort is only a few months old and was practically empty during our stay in late April as it seems word of the new resort hasn't spread yet. It has a spectacular pool and our room had direct beach access. The cost was about 7000baht per night. Not the cheapest accommodation on the island but certainly amongst the finest. The chef and his team are amazing. Being the only guests at the resort for some of our stay we were privilaged to receive great personal treatment from the Chef. Our driver also did a terrific job ferrying us around the island to appointments. He was always smiling. The location is superb on a headland near one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. No need for a boat, you walk out of the resort, onto the sand and into the water which was cloudy during our visit. A wide range of fish to view. WI-FI was very sporadic which is frustrating when you are trying to work and be in touch back home. We were left with a sour taste though when the resort refused to give us our money back for one night of accommodation. We gave them 48 hours notice that, because of the timing of our flight from Kho Samui to Bangkok, we would have to leave a day early to spend the night in Samui rather than risk a delay on the early morning ferry. They refused to refund the money despite lots of notice. Warning to others: only book a night or two at a time if you require flexibility or stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7 T. Koh Phangan Koh Phangan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maehaad Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.