We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accommodation and beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mac's Bay Resort to your Saves list
Mac's Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 52 Reviews
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant accommodation and beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling with Real Gap! Amazing and perfect location! The pool was ideal and the beautiful beach, which we had all to ourselves! I stayed in a little hut just off the beach, which was a small but nice room with clean sheets and bathroom but the air con was faulty. The family who lived there and ran the hotel were extremely friendly and welcoming, and they served lovely breakfasts and snacks. I would definitely love to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: The beach huts are a lovely location with great view but the beach huts to the side of the hotel are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights over full moon party period with a travel company Real Gap. Cannot fault it! Away from the crazy Hadrin beach which is what we wanted but easy transfer for full moon party and the hotel are happy to arrange any trips you fancy doing.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and you often see staff brushing the grounds and beach whilst you eat your breakfast in the morning.

The best things about the resort are the amazing friendly staff and the huge rooms. We had a massive villa hut just seconds walk to the beach and pool. The villa has a TV, fridge and huge bathroom. The staff are all friendly, particularly the manager who always goes that extra mile to make you have a fantastic stay.

You can easily get a taxi from the hotel to the pier or to the busier sections of the island, but there are great restaurants if you turn left and walk down the road of the hotel. I would recommend a visit to the little Mexican restaurant just outside.

Overall a great stay! Highly recommended. Thank you :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

First time in Thailand for the full moon we didn't have anywhere to stay. We scrambled around and finally got a place at Mac's Bay. So lucky we did!

Mac is great, he's lived on the Island all his life and knows it really well. He's very honest and respectful, if you're the same you will get along with him well!

The food is amazing and well priced. The thai food that is. Don't eat anything else as the Thai food is great there and just want you need after a night of partying! The fruit coolers are perfect too!

I have been twice and stayed in the triple room with AC both times. I don't think I could manage the single huts with fans even though they look so idealic.

Mac puts on a taxi ride to the full moon beach every night. There was a great group atmosphere and so we'd always go with other people we met staying there. It was 150 baht each I think and he would drop us off in the flatbed and then come back at 1am,2am,3am (and 4am maybe?) so you could come back whenever you liked.

This isn't a luxury resort but is very clean and everyone is friendly. It had everything I needed and I was happy to stay there. It's about a 5 minute walk to the nearest 7/11 and internet cafe.

One thing to note was there were no safety deposit boxes. We had no trouble with this but it is something to note.

All in all I couldn't recommend this place enough. I'd love to stay again1

Room Tip: Go for the A/C rooms, you'll need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here on a trip, was the best accommodation of the month. Mac the owner is very friendly. The food is really good and quick, lots of western options. We didn't stay in a beach hut but had a hut close to the pool which was good. Triple room was very small and simple but clean. The beach is beautiful, the pools looks out onto the perfect white sand beach which is usually empty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at Mac Bay with a group of friends the middle of March.

The pool and beach area is great. The pool was nice and clean however I suggest getting down there before 11 to get a sun bed (which are wooden ones so there quite hard)

The beach was lovely and a stone throw away from some of the huts. It also had a little sand patch in the middle which you can walk to and sit on the sand bit there.
Great view of Samui in the evening also.

Food was nice, loads of different options to choose from so you won't have any problem there.

Just around the corner from Mac Bay are local shops including a 7 eleven and quite a few restaurants.

The only problem we had there was our sink, we came back to our room one afternoon to shower and we saw loads of maggots in our sink and a block in the sink (which wasn't there). We got one of the staff to come and clear them for us which ended up him dismantling the pipes of the sink, leaving them off and next to the sink for the whole evening. We couldn't wash our hands or anything which was a pain but he did apologise.

I would definitely recommend Mac Bay to anyone who wants a nice relaxing place in the day and only a 10 min or so cab drive to Haadrin for those who want the night out. Hoping to go back in a couple of days so hopefully they have availability!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I visited Mac's Bay Resort with 4 other friends in December for 2 nights. We had come from Koh Samui and were in Koh Phangan for the half moon party. We were slightly nervous about getting to Macs Bay as we had booked the rooms for a very cheap price and and as such we were not sure how good it was going to be. Upon arriving at the pier it was easy to negotiate a cheap taxi journey to Mac's Bay. On arrival at the hotel we were all pleasantly suprised by the open air wodden lobby (very good design) and the fact that it was less than 10 steps from the lobby to the sea water! We had booked 2 triple rooms. The rooms themselves were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very basic, however they were clean and there was always hot water. Macs Bay is fortunate to be right on the beach. It is a quiet part of the island and the beach is very clean. The water is nice, however the base is fairly pebbly and rocky so watch out. The guy Mac was very accomodating and arranged our trip to the half moon and for us to have a driver for the day the following day. His recommendation of both restaurants and bars was very good. The food itself in the hotel is good. Tailored towards the western market, however the traditional thai dishes were sublime. On the whole this is a very good hotel both for its location, price and atmosphere. Mac will also sort out a smoke if you need it!

Room Tip: If we were to go to this again, I would try and get one of the beachside bungalows/huts. They are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed here for 5 nights around the full moon party in January. Our room was lovely and clean and the staff very nice. Food was lovely and the guy on reception was extremely helpful giving us advice on where to go and organising transport for us. The beach was lovely although watch out for falling coconuts! Only thing I would say to avoid would be having a pedicure on the beach. My friend had it done and come out in terrible blisters. Also had to keep asking for toilet rolls. But other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.