We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort and have budget options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mac's Bay Resort to your Saves list
Mac's Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Nakhon pathom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice resort and have budget options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good set up there and a nice pool. Good food and the staff are very nice. I went for one of the bungalows right on the beach but considering the resort looks quite new, the bungalows inside are a little run down/not maintained that good. However, at 500 or so Baht in May not too bad for what you get. But, at the back of the property they have a 'Mac bay backpacker' bit and only 150 Baht with a shared bathroom ... shoulda done that me thinks lol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottery Saint Mary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent a week here at the end of a group trip around all of Thailand. It's the perfect place to come and relax! The beach is literally seconds from all the rooms, and very quiet too, with stunning views. The beach huts bring you that bit closer! The rooms aren't huge, but fine as you will want to be on the beach. They are basic, but still with air con and TV, spacious shower room, but not overly clean. (There's a squished gecko in our bathroom door frame for example!) Pool is perfect too!
The service is great! Food comes quick and has all be delicious. The guy in charge has been very useful with helping us with taxis, other trips etc, and speaks very good English!
Only problem is it is a bit of a taxi journey to any decent town/beach party/trip sites etc.

Overall, lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The attention was amazing, the owners are great, they really care about their customer. They helped us with everything, meals, tours, transportation, everything! Plus the resort is really nice and quiet, the pool is nice and clean, it has great massages and the food of the restaurant is very very good, one of the best places we ate at thailand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with a large group just after a full moon party. When we arrived the resort was very clean and we were all relieved that it appeared peaceful. On first sight it looked picturesque, huts on the beach, wood cabins around the pool and what appeared to be hotel rooms in a block. The only downside was the building work right next to the pool.
The huts only had a fan whereas the cabins had AC. The food was alright at the resort and it wasn't a far walk to a 7eleven for cheaper things.
Although they offered a lift into and from haad rin it was at set times and they would only do the one run that the majority wanted.
As other reviews have said, our room wasn't cleaned either and we too had a problem with rubbish. On one unfortunate night, my friend found a cockroach in her hair in the middle of the night! Turns out they were coming from the open drain in the bathroom so a recommendation would be a drain cover or block it with a towel!
Overall we had a nice stay and always got a sun lounger as we were early birds, couldn't guarantee one later in the day. If you're looking for something that is a little out the way and not around full moon party time then I'd recommend Marc's bay.

Room Tip: For AC ask for a wood cabin but you will pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great place to rest. The room is on the beach! Very cool!
There is a nice familly that will do a lot for the visitors. Good food. Good laundary service. Very fast.
Its not on hadrin beach but its not too far so you can take a taxi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights as location suited me best. Just turned up there and asked if they had accommodation available. They wanted to know how many nights i wanted to stay. I said 2. He said they were full. I then said ok, staying for 5 nights. The man then said, ok. So it was quite hard getting the bungalow but was worth it. Nice size bungalow in the garden, peaceful location. They have a nice pool too. However i guess how you time your stay as the black moon party used to be held there, not sure if it's still there but if yes, it's very busy and people using the areas around bungalows for toilet etc. But there was no sign of any rubbish or smell when i stayed there. It was clean with good garden. There was some body paint on the bedsheets. But it was clean and washed. I guess it can't be washed out. I would definitely stay there again as its at my favourite part of the island. Close to 7 eleven, also you can ride scooter to any of the parties around.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Friends and I stayed in a beach front bungalows, was basic but exactly what we needed, beach was very clean and view of Koh Samui was brilliant. Pool was really nice and well kept, the whole complex looked very well taken care of. Staff could not be more helpful, booked transfers and elephant trekking for us and food was home cooked and really tasty. We went to 1/2 moon party which was 15 mins away and were collected as promised even in the state we were in. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.