We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant spot, excellent location and very well looked after” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mac's Bay Resort to your Saves list
Mac's Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant spot, excellent location and very well looked after”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here rather a while ago but would now very much like to sing the praises of this resort. It is in a great location in Baan Tai, within walking distance of the 7/11 and very close to parties such as Jungle Experience, Half Moon, Loi Lay etc. Also the perfect distance from the Full Moon Party. All rooms are looked after very well and provide everything you need. The basic rooms are basic, but much better than similar priced rooms on the island, atleast the bungalows on the beach are stone and not wood! Very nice family run business, great pool and amazing view out to Koh Samui!

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are nice but basic, recommend a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This review is long overdue...My husband and I stayed at Mac's Bay Resort in January 2011. We had originally booked in advance at Munchies Resort ($20+ a night) and were extremely disappointed by the bungalow we were given...It was a glorified dog house AND the staff were also appallingly rude! We were desperate to find new accomodations, but as it was the week of Full Moon we were convinced everything would be full up. We walked the beach and asked every resort we came across if they had any availability. Luckily we came across Mac's Bay Resort!!! The resort was prestinely kept and newer than most we'd come across and Shywatt, the manager, was amazingly accommodating!! The quality of the new condo room we stayed in was fantastic! It came with Air con, TV, 2 queens with proper bed linens, separate western bathroom with hot water, marble floors, a large patio that overlooked the ocean and sunset each night. The pool was refreshing and the beach was gorgeous! The service we received from the staff was great! The resort has a very relaxed atmosphere and there are accomodations to suit each preference, be it a bungalow on the beach, a garden view bungalow, or a new modern condo - Mac's Bay has it all! highly recommended!!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed there for 2 weeks in the rooms. Rooms are clean and well maintained with AC and fridge. Good restaurant possibilities at fair prices. The manager and staff are friendly and helpful. Any problem? Just ask the manager. The ressort offers services as pick-up at arrival at Ko Phangan, motorbike rental and arrangement for trips to attractions. I took advantage of all and was very satisfied.
Location directly at the beach is very nice and is close to the next village Baan Thai and Thongsalad, the island capital. The reception + restaurant area is completely being rebuild now, according to mys sun living on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quiter, especially in the periods of Half and Full Moon parties. If room-pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in Mac's Bay for 6 nights and during the week of a full moon party.
We stayed in a bungalow, which was lovely, pool side, with a fridge, good beds and bathroom, being in the room was probably the best part of staying here! Also they never cleaned our room, we had a pile of rubbish when leaving our bungalow but no where to put it.
The pool was lovely on our first day but slowly started getting murky over the next few days, so much so that we couldn't swim in it. Although it is at a beach, it's not a beach to swim in, unless you want to walk a few kilometers out to get to deeper water.
Maybe it'll be better after the construction finishes- though apart from loud banging, there doesn't seem to be an end to it.
Its family run and only 1 member of the family seems to be able to speak English and we believe him to be the manager. He was nice at first, but then started getting a bit pushy and intrusive, trying to get us to go on day trips and constantly calling round to our bungalow trying to get us to go on them..
There is no safe in the bungalow but on the night of the Full Moon we were able to store our valuables with the staff as the manager told us 'people know you're away and they will be taken'. However when we tried to get them back we were given some excuse and told to come back some time later. Obviously since we got them back it's not a big deal, but it was unnerving considering no one seemed to know where our stuff was for hours.
Unfortunately we also got scammed when returning our bikes, even though we had taken photos to prove that the damage was there when we rented them. The lady doesn't speak and is a short walk from the resort (turn right on the main road and it's just past the petrol station on the right hand side).
If you do have an unfortunate incident here, the bar Half Way is such a nice place to meet lovely Thai people. The woman running it, along with her son, are genuinely happy and will talk to you without trying to get some money off you. It's got lovely Western food too and shows football on the weekends.
We'd recommend researching other places (probably north for nicer beaches- Haad Salad), you can certainly get a lot nicer for your money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We literally fell upon this place when we arrived on Koh Phangan whilst walking along the beach. Very basic bungalows with a beautiful sea view.

The owner was very friendly and helpful. Some of the other staff were a little miserable. The food was like British pub food, so not thrilling but certainly edible.

Staying here is solely about the location. Watching the sunset on the beach whilst lazing in your bungalow hammock was truly amazing. Would definitely go back there for some chill out time!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if anything is broken. Our mosquito netting was broken but they fixed it for us as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a great stay here. The beach is absolutely beautiful and is very quiet and private. The pool is large and clean with lots of sun loungers. The food and drinks are good value.

If you're looking for action and nightlife this probably isn't the resort for you, as Had Rin is about 15 minutes away. But for a few days of rest and relaxation it's brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.