We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value bungalows and amazing pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncliff Resort

Suncliff Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Suncliff Resort to your Saves list
Suncliff Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good value bungalows and amazing pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If your going to had rin for the full moon party then stay at suncliff as its only a short walk to the big party but when you want to sleep there is no noise.

The best kept secret in had rin is the pool and restaurant at suncliff bungalows. Its on the cliff and so very nice....

book ahead on FMP night.

Room Tip: if you can afford it take a bungalow on the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for the full moon party feb 2013 and stayed in the bungalow for 4 nights 1000 baht a night, it was clean, had a hammock, the basics no problems with that, then after much debating we decided after packing and checking out to stay for another 2 nights as we couldnt decide our next move, we were given the choice of a room for 700baht which again had the basics but the air conditioning kept breaking and when we asked for batteries for the remote they said they'd do it and we came back to our room there was no remote so we had an uncomfortable night with the air con on all night with no ability to turn it off.

anyway we paid through an agent down the road for the overnight ferry and explained we were staying at sun cliff, the next day we checked out and left our bags in the reception, a few hours later we checked the bags again, then at 8 oclock we thought wed get our bags to be ready for the mini van but ohhhh no we were told through the very rude receptionist 'no ferry', we asked what did she mean and the receptionist explained the agents had rang and said there was no ferry, to which this would have been hours before and she saw us going to our bags to check on them she could have told us then!
with her blank expression she told us to get accomodation at jaha and made it out the agents had arranged it all to which we went down to jaha and they were not aware of this. so then my boyfriend went back to the suncliff receptionist to find out really what was going on, she then rang the agents once then said they were closed. My boyfriend told her to ring again as she seemed to have a 'cant be bothered attutide' she dialed the phone number then walked away, luckily the agents picked up the phone and sorted us another ferry out for the day after and arranged some accommodation after all the rubbish the sun cliff receptionist had caused us.

I honestly think she ruined one of my days on holiday as she made me sob by the lack of communication she gave us.

the accommodation isnt anything like the photos either.

Room Tip: dont choose sun cliff resort if you dont want a poor service
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The views from our villa were spectactular! Beautiful sunsets. Room was quirky (a rock and tree ran through the room and bathroom) but we really liked this. Yes, there were a few ants and bugs, but a mosquito net was provided and we had no problems. Overall, this was the surprise package of all the rooms we stayed in during our trip. Also great for a slightly quieter place to stay for full moon - only a 5/10 min walk to the main full-moon beach but a little quieter if you wanted to go to sleep before sunrise. Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel consists of many cabins. They are scattered on a cliff that overlooks the sunset beach.
The view from the porch is amazing! You also get a hammock and a bench. Reading a book there is a lot of fun :)

The shower has hot water but the stream is rather weak.

Bottom line, I think this place provides good value for money.
If you want to be super close to the parties then you should get a room somewhere else on the sunrise beach, but if you want to enjoy a special view and a bit more quiet place, then this is a winner!

I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked here for the Full Moon Party August 2012 as most other places were already full. When we arrived the staff were friendly and brought us to our bungalow and we couldnt believe our luck! Our bungalow was positioned on the cliff overlooking the sea and had the most beautiful views! The bungalow consisted of a main door leading to an open area containg a fridge, seating area and a hammock by the balcony which overlooked the sea. A second lockable door opened to the bedroom and bathroom. The tv and aircon worked well and we had hot water. The pool had the same amazing views, and the staff were very friendly! We loved our stay and cant reccomend it enough. On top of all that it was actually cheaper than the places our other friends stayed! Will definitely stay there again next time I'm over there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous and very reasonably priced. The hotel overlooks the sea and the food was brilliant. I was here for FULL MOON NYE 2011/2012 and absolutely loved the place. We ended up here by mistake when our reservation was changed at a different hotel but the owner had "another hotel" with a room available. A little suspicious at first as had paid a deposit but was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Service was great and everything very clean. Air con + hot water included breakfast. Great location. Close to other restaurants and given hotel discounts in certain places.
Only downside is that I went to the Full Moon party for NYE and it was s**t! Pre parties on the nights before were great but the FMP itself was awful. Probably because its over crowded on NYE. I would recommend staying here if you're on Koh Phangan and make sure you visit Koh Tao too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qiryat atta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Near to the FullMoon Beach, quiet and Relaxing, fair price, great meals, near to all good Restaurants! Best in Phangan!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suncliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncliff Resort

Address: Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suncliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Suncliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.