We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, decent price, good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncliff Resort

Suncliff Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suncliff Resort
Save Saved
You added Suncliff Resort to your Saves list
Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view, decent price, good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel consists of many cabins. They are scattered on a cliff that overlooks the sunset beach.
The view from the porch is amazing! You also get a hammock and a bench. Reading a book there is a lot of fun :)

The shower has hot water but the stream is rather weak.

Bottom line, I think this place provides good value for money.
If you want to be super close to the parties then you should get a room somewhere else on the sunrise beach, but if you want to enjoy a special view and a bit more quiet place, then this is a winner!

I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked here for the Full Moon Party August 2012 as most other places were already full. When we arrived the staff were friendly and brought us to our bungalow and we couldnt believe our luck! Our bungalow was positioned on the cliff overlooking the sea and had the most beautiful views! The bungalow consisted of a main door leading to an open area containg a fridge, seating area and a hammock by the balcony which overlooked the sea. A second lockable door opened to the bedroom and bathroom. The tv and aircon worked well and we had hot water. The pool had the same amazing views, and the staff were very friendly! We loved our stay and cant reccomend it enough. On top of all that it was actually cheaper than the places our other friends stayed! Will definitely stay there again next time I'm over there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous and very reasonably priced. The hotel overlooks the sea and the food was brilliant. I was here for FULL MOON NYE 2011/2012 and absolutely loved the place. We ended up here by mistake when our reservation was changed at a different hotel but the owner had "another hotel" with a room available. A little suspicious at first as had paid a deposit but was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Service was great and everything very clean. Air con + hot water included breakfast. Great location. Close to other restaurants and given hotel discounts in certain places.
Only downside is that I went to the Full Moon party for NYE and it was s**t! Pre parties on the nights before were great but the FMP itself was awful. Probably because its over crowded on NYE. I would recommend staying here if you're on Koh Phangan and make sure you visit Koh Tao too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qiryat atta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Near to the FullMoon Beach, quiet and Relaxing, fair price, great meals, near to all good Restaurants! Best in Phangan!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This place should really be a 5 out of 5 rating but it does have a couple of major drawbacks.

The online booking process is a little difficult - We booked over hostel bookers and paid 10% in advance. They then emailed to say we need to paypal them 40% directly to hold our booking - This was pretty inconvenient.

When we got to the reception it looked very basic and we were pensive about what our room would be like, considering we were paying 800 bht each (x 3 = 2400bht for the room) this was a bit of a worry. This hotel is by far the most expsensive that I've booked in Asia, but on Phangan during the full moon time, you can't help but pay over the odds. We were wisked away up the road away from the building the reception was in to an amazing little bungalow on stilts! It was sort of in the forest, but there were tracks down the reception and up to the pool. The room we got was amazing, it had a lounge area with a raised platform with a little wooden table and some cushions acting as chairs, this room was fan only. The next room was the bedroom. 2 double beds with a big tv and incredible views. There was so much light in the room and so many windows. The toilet was ok, not bad at all and if you were lucky a little lizard would sit on the wall opposite and watch you pee.

The aircon in the room is very effective and refreshing - we found Phangan to be very hot indeed! Quite nice for the full moon party hangover (mine was extraordinarily bad).

The lounge area is perfect to play cards and have a few drinks - there's a massive fridge there too to store your Chang beers in.

Go to Monna Lisa's nearby, the best Italian (i know, weird, I'm in Thailand and I go for an Italian), you won't regret it.

Some rooms come with free breakfast which is basic but nice. This is served next to the pool. The pool is a bit of a trek, but at least you get a sweat on before your dip. Even if you don't get free breakfast, take a look at the menu - the food's pretty good and it says 'breastfast' instead of breakfast, which is obviously hilarious.

If the above sounds awesome, be careful when booking as there are rooms in the 'suncliff petit resort' which is a basic hotel in town where the reception is and some of the other bungalows are teeny tiny, so you need a bigun for the awesome lounge and whatnot.

Value - 3/5
Location - 4/5
Comfort - 5/5
Cockroaches seen - 1. We were inspecting the room after checking in and found a roach actually in one of the beds. We chucked it outside and dealt with it - no furter instances to report. I think it's because when the prepare the rooms they air them (doors, windows, french windows all open). We weren't put off as it was a lovely room.

Room Tip: Ask for a big bungalow with A/C. Book in advance if going on Full Moon season and get there 3 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Although we paid quite a but for our bungalow it was lovely. Ours slept 3-4 had big bathroom, huge bedroom with beautiul beach views, balcony with table chairs and hammock. And chill room for eating/drinking/preparing for full moon party! Which is walking distance. 3 min walk from town and beach. Free cooked breakfast, which was really good. Restaurant next to pool over looking sea, absolutly beautiful, spent mostof our time there. Go to 'Monna lisa' (yea, spelt that way) best Italien restaurant on the island! And just down the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suncliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncliff Resort

Address: Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.