We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Yang Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Thong Yang Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thong Yang Bungalows
32/1 Moo.4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're in need of pure relaxation, away from the sounds of the city, this is the place for you. On arrival we met the charming, energetic Mr A, who instantly created the perfect holiday atmosphere - calm relaxing and attentive to our every need. As we sat in the shade of a coconut tree, we watched traditional fishermen at work and savoured the sublime turquoise waters, tropical flowers and peaceful coves. When we inquired about the types of fresh fish on the menu, Mr A suggested that we try the Red Snapper, which he would personally source from the local market the next day. Well, the fish was absolutely delicious and was cooked by his lovely wife (Mrs B) in a traditional sauce. As it's a family run business, you get to see his little daughter who has a great playful character! Definitely a place to stay if you wish to enjoy a piece of paradise! Cheesy but true!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A great little spot about 5 min drive from full moon party. Basic but all you need. The bungalows are quite cute and the surroundings very different, not a high-maintenance place which is what we loved about it, makes for the whole Thailand experience. The restaurant serves up wicked food with exceptional service from the manager, A. The western food served there was of high standard and the Thai food even better. Loved every minute

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First up, my rating is based on our overall experience, not just the quality of the resort. The rooms are basic bungalows and have a nice balcony, ac and a fridge. The beach is shallow and calm but at low tide, the water retreats a fair bit.
The restaurant serves all types of delicious food and drinks and is very well priced.
And the staff are just lovely, in particular A. He is such a well mannered gentleman who is always smiling and wanting to make you feel welcome. About a 5 minute dive to haad rin if you want some bars/restaurants. Had a really nice stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxted, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in May, was so lovely and peaceful and tranquil, the beach is private and very chilled out and the bungalows are perfect! The man who owns the place is a genuinely lovely guy who only wants the best for you and is so clearly grateful for the booking, as mentioned in previous comments it's family run so bookings obviously make a difference to the family. One note I'd make is that if you don't like dogs/are scared of dogs then I wouldn't stay because they do bark from time to time and when they did I thought it would be a huge problem for my brother who's scared of dogs, but if you don't mind them the place is paradise!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Khai, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Some of the nicest people I've met in Thailand run this place, a wonderful family, 3 generations. They have a quiet and beautiful beach, they rent motorbikes, good food, everything you need.

I've stayed here more than once and always feel at home here.

I fall asleep to the sound of waves and crickets, I love it.

Room Tip: I like to not stay right next to the restaurant, but a couple bungalows away where it's totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

hey people! So here is the thing :) I was in Thong Yang bungalows and they are really the best ones I ever been on Thailand :) Staff are really friendly and helpfull, you have your own private beach wich is quite away from the parties, but not to far away. If you rent a motorbyke you have only 5 minutes to the center. Bungalows are okey. For that price we paid around 700THB a beach front. Great view. you also have a refrigerator, in your room which is not that usual for that price :) It is a very good thing that you are away from the noise. I recommended a Thong Yang Bungalows.

greets H

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

When I looked for a hotel on Koh Phangan and read reviews on tripadvisor.com, I've took note to this hotel because it was number 1 in the category B & B. Now for some reason it has moved to the category Hotels and lost there in the third decade . Of course it is much more gesthouse or B & B, than a hotel.
Segment coast of the island less than 100 meters in length is limited on both sides by huge boulders . House of owners stands a little in depth between them. Kitchen and veranda is used as restaurant and reception. Behind the house and up the slope to the sides huddle over a dozen guest houses of different sizes. Bungalow's furnishings is modest - bed with a very hard mattress, fan on the wall , cupboard and fridge. In the bathroom are sink, hot water shower and toilet. If you want to use air conditioner, you should pay extra.
You get this bungalow for a very small price. Do not expect that this price includes daily cleaning of the room - you can do it by yourself, the room has a broom, daily replacement bed linen and towels, daily replenishment of refrigerator with water bottles and other attributes of the hotel service. But you get something more meaningful - a personal touch , as the presence in of a large Thai family life, representatives of three generations of which greeting you, cook your food , help address emerging issues. Yard of their home becomes a place of your stay - lying on the beach or in a hammock reading a book or working on the computer - anywhere on the territory is excelent WiFi.
When number of guests a little , it seems that this piece of land - yours, that you just visit friends in their country house and everything is only for you . It's an amazing feeling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thong Yang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Yang Bungalows

Address: 32/1 Moo.4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thong Yang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thong Yang Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.