We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Yang Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Thong Yang Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thong Yang Bungalows
32/1 Moo.4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the bunglows for 4 nights. Whilst it is not the plushest accommodation we stayed in during our Thai adventure, we found it excellent value overall.

The owners are help and the cook serves up fantastic thai food for excellent rates. You do have to wait some time but its worth waiting for.

The bungalows are basic although the beach front aspect is great.

Over all if you want good value with freindly personable service, thong yang bunglowd are for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor I ended up at Thong Yang in mid-july 2013. I can write all kinds of great things about my stay here, but I guess the most telling would be that I ended up staying for 13 nights and truly found the peace of mind I was looking for. In 14 days I only left the premises four times to go scooting around the island. The rest of my time was spent on my beach front porch, in a hammock reading all the books I hadnt gotten to earlier in my trip, or hanging out in the restaurant either working on my computer or socializing with other guests and/or A and his lovely family who runs the place.

The accommodation is pretty basic, but more than comfortable enough, especially if you get the ones on the beach. The food is absolutely brilliant, the vibe is super chill and friendly, and A really goes the extra mile to make your stay top notch. When I had to leave to get my visa renewed, I had to get up at 4 AM to make the first ferry to the mainland. A booked everything for me and made sure I got picked up by taxi at 4:30. When I left my hut and went outside, he had gotten up to make sure hadn't overslept, and he waited with me until the taxi showed up and he knew I was on my way. That is some real service. I traveled Thailand for 9 weeks, and accommodation wise this was the best place I stayed, hands down. Hugs all around when I left, genuine sweet people who took great care of me and everyone else staying there at the time. Big part of my fondest memories from this trip.

Room Tip: The large bungalow right next to the restaurant facing the beach (no. 14?) is big, has a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in thong yang bongalow and it was a pure nightmare. The room we got was dirty,full with ants and other insects.the room itself was very basic,old and unwelcoming.there was no way to flesh the water in the toilet so we needed to use a bucket of water to flesh them like in the Medieval times.the shower had no cover and so it made the hole bathroom wet.our room had not been cleaned even once- when we discussed it with Mr.A he told us that it was not in their policy.more than that,there were about 5/6 dogs Wondering over the place and barking with horrore every night when we came back to our room.when we booked the place we asked especially to have a sea view ,however,as you can see in our picture we only got the view of some dirty ruins.the only good thing about this place was the pretty beach but it was full with rocks and we could not really enjoy it. We visited many hotels and guesthouses in Thailand and this one was absolutely the worst of them all.the price for our room was 1500 THB(50$).it did include AC and hot shower but still it is an outrageous price for what we got!! We really recommend you to avoid this place! You can find plenty of other places much nicer and value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, staff and food. The pad thai is one of the best I have had in Thailand and they do a good cooked breakfast.

Nice and quiet and the rooms had massive comfy beds.

Really helpful manager and they seemed to know everything about the island.

The only bad thing was the sausages at breakfast (although they would probably appeal to Americans) and I'm sure you could live with that!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I will admit, before arriving I had quite low expectations of Thong Yang bungalows, however when the lovely Mr A (owner) showed us to our bungalow it exceeded all expectations I had. We stayed in bungalow number 14 which had an amazing view from the balcony and of an evening when the tide came in you had a great sound of the sea. It was a basic bungalow but well maintained. We ate all our meals in the restaurant which was very well priced. We were very sad to leave and would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent just over a week here. The family are lovely, with big smiles, cute kids and currently two puppies.

We enjoyed our bungalow although prepare for the usual cheap bungalow fixtures - hard bed, fixed fan and dim lighting haha!

Spent several relaxing days reading in a hammock and chilling out. One negative is the beach which isn't great for swimming - shallow and quite rocky. Bring some swimming shoes. It's easy to get a songtheaw or motorbike to a nicer beach for the day.

As others have said the food is excellent, esp the green, red and massaman curries, and the coconut smoothies.

100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Let me begin with perhaps a little side note to this review in terms of the accommodation. After reading such outstanding reviews of this place on trip advisor my expectations on arrival were very high. Initial disappointment occurred upon the realisation that the standard of our beach hut was very basic. It was however only my expectations that disappointed me as very soon I was completely captivated by the magic of the place.

Our hut was on the private beach with views across to koh samui. The beach was perfect. We watched the most incredible sunset from it one night. Every second the colour the sky changed colour and as I sat there with my Chang I don't think I had ever felt that happy.

The resort was so chilled. Perfect location to grab a taxi on the main road above the bungalows to haad rin or thong sala. There was a great restaurant above the bungalows with amazing views and a nice beach bar with great cocktails next door. Hammocks provide a a comfortable means to endure the full moon hangover and the smiles of the family who run the place will keep you smiling.

My review cannot do this place justice. When I go back to Thailand, and I will go back, I will spend a week here. It's places like this that prove koh phangnan can be more than just a full moon stopover but a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thong Yang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Yang Bungalows

Address: 32/1 Moo.4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thong Yang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thong Yang Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.