We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Yang Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thong Yang Bungalows to your Saves list
Thong Yang Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   32/1 Moo. 4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I will admit, before arriving I had quite low expectations of Thong Yang bungalows, however when the lovely Mr A (owner) showed us to our bungalow it exceeded all expectations I had. We stayed in bungalow number 14 which had an amazing view from the balcony and of an evening when the tide came in you had a great sound of the sea. It was a basic bungalow but well maintained. We ate all our meals in the restaurant which was very well priced. We were very sad to leave and would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent just over a week here. The family are lovely, with big smiles, cute kids and currently two puppies.

We enjoyed our bungalow although prepare for the usual cheap bungalow fixtures - hard bed, fixed fan and dim lighting haha!

Spent several relaxing days reading in a hammock and chilling out. One negative is the beach which isn't great for swimming - shallow and quite rocky. Bring some swimming shoes. It's easy to get a songtheaw or motorbike to a nicer beach for the day.

As others have said the food is excellent, esp the green, red and massaman curries, and the coconut smoothies.

100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Let me begin with perhaps a little side note to this review in terms of the accommodation. After reading such outstanding reviews of this place on trip advisor my expectations on arrival were very high. Initial disappointment occurred upon the realisation that the standard of our beach hut was very basic. It was however only my expectations that disappointed me as very soon I was completely captivated by the magic of the place.

Our hut was on the private beach with views across to koh samui. The beach was perfect. We watched the most incredible sunset from it one night. Every second the colour the sky changed colour and as I sat there with my Chang I don't think I had ever felt that happy.

The resort was so chilled. Perfect location to grab a taxi on the main road above the bungalows to haad rin or thong sala. There was a great restaurant above the bungalows with amazing views and a nice beach bar with great cocktails next door. Hammocks provide a a comfortable means to endure the full moon hangover and the smiles of the family who run the place will keep you smiling.

My review cannot do this place justice. When I go back to Thailand, and I will go back, I will spend a week here. It's places like this that prove koh phangnan can be more than just a full moon stopover but a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My Fiancé and I originally booked into thong Yang for 2 nights after reading great reviews from fellow trippers. 9 nights later we finally mustered up the courage to check out. Yes it was that good a place. There is nothing that we could fault about this beautiful place. Mr A greeted us with a big genuine smile and it took off from there. Mr A's wife B, their beautiful daughter and their extended family made it a truly memorable stay. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. The private beach was spotless and was brushed down every morning to keep it that way. Mr A organised connecting tickets for our onwards journey and was extremely helpful with his knowledge of the island. He also arranged moped hire for us with his brother which was really useful and in no way dubious! We have spent 5 weeks in thailand and no other place we stayed (some were nearly three times the price of bungalows in Thong Yang) even came close to this little slice of heaven.
Would we recommend this place? You bet we would. If you want somewhere nice and quiet to relax and enjoy lazy days sunbathing or having romantic walks along the pristine beach whilst only being 5 minutes away from party central (Had Rin), this is definitely the place for you. We already can't wait to get back here and visit our new friends. Probably the nicest place we have ever stayed in all of our travels around the world!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Thong Yang bungalows is easy to find but hard to reach, because you have to walk down some stairs before you get there. But once you arrive it has all been worth it. The view is wonderfull, the family that runs the place is very kind, the food they serve in the restaurant is cheap and delicious, the rooms have hot water and aircon if neccesary.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzannevanvuure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. We were not looking for the party scene of koh phangan, just somewhere beautiful, on the beach with a good vibe. We were extremely lucky to have found Thong Yang bungalows.

When we arrived, without a booking, the owner 'A' was there to greet us. He was friendly and welcoming. He showed us to his last remaining room, not a bungalow, but a big room, overlooking the beach, as they all do, with a queen and a double bed inside. The room was clean, with a bathroom, and warm shower. The family that owns and runs the bungalow are lovely. They assisted with ferry bookings, directions, and cooked very good food.

There is a good communal area where we were lucky enough to meet fellow travelers that made the experience all the better.

This place is perfect if you don't mind getting a scooter to explore the island. It may be isolating if you're taxiing everywhere and are seeking masses for people and more of a party atmosphere.

I agree with a previous poster, I don't want this place over-run either, but really, it shouldn't spend any of the year vacant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoddi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a wonderful experience staying with a genuine Thai family in their seafront bungalows that have lovingly been built by A, the young owner.
Some of the bungalows even have the beachfront granite boulders protruding into the rooms, which is a lovely experience while listening to the waves right outside your door.
They have a small family restaurant here with beautiful Thai food where you can have a laugh with other travellers, all having a great time here.
Thanks A for being so gentle and kind.
This is the place if you want to your sould to be refreshed by gentleness and kind hospitality.
And the price is so cheap that you realise this Thai family is more interested in being rich spiritually.
I would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
4.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#32 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#26 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.3 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#12 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thong Yang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Yang Bungalows

Address: 32/1 Moo. 4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Thong Yang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Thong Yang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing