We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thong Yang Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thong Yang Bungalows to your Saves list
Thong Yang Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   32/1 Moo. 4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at the thong yang bungalows for 2 nights. The best accommodation we had stayed in whilst in Thailand! The owner was fantastic and couldn't do more to help us. The room was basic but clean. Your front door is literally 5 steps from the crystal clear sea. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbqkfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owner and the whole family are brilliant. These are really good people . We were there only for 2 nights but wish to stay more. Bangalow are of great quality ( #11), big and very clean. The price is very inexpensive , I am surprised to find such a wonderful place and paid so little for it. Amazing view , the ocean is right at your front door. There is no other place to stay . I love those (dogs) security guard. They were so cute and done great job of securing the bangalow at night. All in all this must be a place to stay if you have limit budget but want to be near the beach , amazing view , quiet, great owner, excellent service !!!!! Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Stay at # 11 for its big size , great shower , right on the beach near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamolchanok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We scouted this place out on trip advisor and decided to give it a go.

We emailed in advance and got a reply straight away giving us all the information we had asked for and a link directing us to their web page.

When we arrived on the island, like on most of the islands you have to make your own way to the place your staying. Don't be out off its pretty straight forward all the taxi drivers know the majority of the places. So we simply hopped in and paid the fee 100 baht per person.

The taxi dropped us right outside. There are a few awkward steps down to the resort but nothing major. We were greeted by the wife of the owner and she was very nice she showed us to our room and got us checked in. We originally booked a fan room, but later decided to upgrade to A/C as it was far too hot and I expect sleeping would be unbearable, for me at least. The owner was amazing and helped us move our bags to our new room. The A/C room was perfect after a long 19 hr bus and ferry journey from Bangkok!

The island itself was pretty deserted as we arrived about a week after the full moon parties. This was perfect for us as we literally had the whole complex to ourselves it was like having our own beach and own personal chef. So quiet and peaceful.

The owner A, speaks really good English and nothing was too much trouble, try their chicken massaman curry it's one of the best I have tasted in SEA.

All in all a really nice relaxing few days and really serene, a little slice of paradise.

Thanks Wes and Rachel prosser

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagpuss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

nice and quiet place to relax. excellent food and exceptionally nice and friendly people. bungalows are simple but good, comfortable and clean. even during party madness on koh pagnan, its quiet and serene at Thong Yang.
looking forward to next time!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This place must be taken in perspective of the price . We payed 65$ for something no where near as good @ serendipity beach Cambodia . This at £14 / 700 thb is exactly what we hoped for. Its smack bang on the beach with all the rustic charm of a basic budget piece of Thailand that has not be exploited by the multinational that are trying to buy up lovley little family run businesses like this and turn them into any where's ville luxury spas. ( I'll park my high horse now but) really this is a lovely place. The food is excellent . The communal areas are nice and have a laid back vibe. The beach is pretty much private and sandy. It's difficult to say anything bad about it. But do note it is not a luxury pad. It's a functional pad with fan , hot water and mozzie net . For the complimentary shampoos and fluffy towels go next door!


I would return here without a doubt. As everyone else says too this place is a bit of a ruff diamond but a real gem. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I really don't want this gem ruined (by giving it yet another good review), but all things considered, it was perfect for me and my wife for our first trip to the island. Seems best for couples with no kids (not that kids aren't welcome, the owner's 2 or 3 year old daughter runs around with free reign and is definitely the star of this whole place). Sadly, I admit I did go to the full moon party last night (I have yet to sleep yet as I write this on the beach today). When I left for Haad Rin, I used a pacsafe mesh protector to lock my bag in my room and also had the door alarmed; yet, accidentally, I left my $95 Tevas outside overnight near the lobby. When I came back from the party this AM, no one had touched my sandals. Totally safe. Great internet. Nice traditional style bungalows. Run by an incredibly kind and caring family Some ants. Course sandy beach. But for 20 dollars or so per night, I have ZERO complaints (except for the terrible brakes on the scooters rented by the owners brother). I'll add some photos too. Bungalow numbers 4, 11, 19, and 20 are ON the beach, some others were a few METERS off.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottEversonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Amazing, quirky bungalows! We stayed in number 5 which was on top of a rock and so cool! Bungalows have everything you need. Great food at great prices, family run and the owners are really kind and friendly! Very small and you get to know everyone else staying here. Private beach and a great location. 10 min to haadrin and 10 min to thong sala.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
4.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#32 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
2.0 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#26 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.3 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#12 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thong Yang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thong Yang Bungalows

Address: 32/1 Moo. 4 Baan Khaai Village,Baan Taai parish,Koh Pha ngan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Thong Yang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Thong Yang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing